Echo Spot countdown boutiques-francophones Introducing Fire TV Stick Basic Edition WFM home Kindle Paperwhite Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
35
Boomerang: Travels In The New Third World
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$20.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on November 3, 2012
Lewis demonstrates with great panache that one book can be funny, brilliant and dead wrong, all at the same time. In Lewis's case, this is aggravating. His assessments of world fiscal situations have the ring of freshness, experience, truth and wisdom, yet his assessments of people, often quite humorous, are unsteady and thus undercut whatever it is he wishes to say about the economic situation, which is a lot. He seems somewhat unaware of his own presence, so when he walks down an Icelandic street and enters a series of collisions with Icelandic men, it doesn't seem to occur to him that he may have broken a social rule about how strangers pass on a street. Instead he belittles Icelandic society. It gets worse. He slams the Germans, for instance, for having a language and a culture built around images of filth, without noting that American culture does the same thing. Another example: he spends a lot of time harassing people from numerous countries for ridiculous and irresponsible behaviour, yet when he comes to his native California he glosses over the same irresponsible behaviour as if it weren't even there. That's cowardly and untrustworthy. Buy a box of salt, enjoy Lewis's style, hold your nose when he goes off the deep end, and read this as a model, in style and form, that can lead to a truly great book in the hands of a different writer. By all means, read it, though. There's some real smart stuff in here, in a refreshing format. Just beware. People aren't totally his thing.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 5, 2017
I haven't paid too much attention to the worldwide financial crisis. I figured I wouldn't be able to understand it. This book was recommended by a friend, so I bought and read it. I was riveted. Lewis has written a very accessible book for non-experts in finance like me to be able to understand what has gone on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 2, 2011
This book does not have the depth or rigour of Lewis's earlier work. It is an easy read because of that. The stories told seem to me to be a simplistic view of the economic crises in the countries covered but are still solid as a major cause. If you are wondering how the global financial crisis got traction this is a good start.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon September 30, 2011
Lewis decides to become a financial disaster tourist, and travels to various bankrupt European countries. He wants to find out at the ground level, what happened in; Iceland, Greece, and Ireland. Well Lewis collects the data he was looking for, and spins out quite the story.

In a nutshell these countries get a hold of cheap foreign credit, and go into a wild financial mania. They also abandon all previous forms of prudent economic management. The details regarding the Greek economy, are beyond anything I have ever heard before. In fact, the Greek situation makes the former Tulip Mania and Dot Com Bubble, seem rather tame and orderly. The Greek debt problems have still not been fully resolved, so this makes the details all the more engaging.

This is a small book, but the message delivers a big impact. The reader will be left with, a much better understanding of the current global financial dilemma. This book was hard to put down, and a very good read. Both general and financially interested readers, will be entertained and astonished.
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 12, 2017
A must read to help understand why democracy is under threat today as people are frustrated and disenchanted with capitalism.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 13, 2017
Love Lewis' book! He has a great sense of humour yet his stories draw many profound and interesting observations on human behaviour. Absolutely a must read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 26, 2015
fantastic read that explains how the greedy american bankers screwed most of the developed world in 2008
Michael Lewis is a very funny and entertaining writer. I couldn't put it down and bought copies for many of my friends.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 17, 2014
One of the most interesting books of this type that I have read. The mind boggles at the greed, arrogance and stupidity of those who are supposedly leading the financial community in these countries.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 31, 2015
Interesting foreign perspectives.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 23, 2015
Great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse