Echo Dot countdown boutiques-francophones Introducing Fire TV Stick Basic Edition WFM Furniture Kindle Paperwhite The 2018 Canadian Music Awards sports Tools

on May 15, 2015
I've been trying to learn C properly, for years ( brain damage slows learning to a grind, btw )

This is excellent.

I learned about it from the Wikipedia page on C.

IF you are committed to the most-capable low-level language around
THEN you may well want to get both this book,
and Make: AVR Programming

Why? because that AVR programming book gives you the programming of microcontrollers
( simplified computers, that live in microwave ovens & smart thermostats & things... ), in C.

No weird inter-program-interaction, just your code "on the metal".

These 2 books go SO well together...

You may also want Data Structures
( or some alternative book on Data Structures )
& then Essential Algorithms, or some equiv...

& iirc K. N. King recommends this specific set...
Algorithms in C, Parts 1-5 (Bundle): Fundamentals, Data Structures, Sorting, Searching, and Graph Algorithms

& whenever I can afford the set, I'm getting it...

Anyways, hope this helps!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 8, 2015
Amazing, Impress by the super fast delivery. Book arrived in good condition. Was struggling to understand the subject but with the arrival of this book that simplified all my complicated thinking into an easy understandable approach makes C Programming interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 4, 2002
The book seems to be much appreciated. However, I find that the reader is not encouraged enough to think for her-/himself when reading the text. He or she will realise once one arrives at the end of chapter exercises-which are all right, but based on that what is given in the preceeding chapters-it will be very difficult indeed to solve these exercises. Take for example chapter 6, where loops are discussed. Professor King providies an example of a sum.c script. Then the student is asked to write a program where he or she enter numbers and the program finds the largest number. From the background given in section 6.1. it will be very difficult for the very beginner to write such a program, because there is nothing in the book which might hint at the right solution.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 1, 2002
This is probably the best book for learning to program in C. The coverage is full of details and the author does a great job in satisfying the reader without being borring.
In my opinion, if you are learning C for the first time, you might want to first get a simpler book (I recommend "Teach Yourself C in 24 Hours"). But when you are ready to get the full treatment get this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 27, 2000
I have browsed some C and C++ books in major bookstores to see how the materials are organized and presented. This one was not a book I had a chance to browse, but one which I had to buy for an extension course (Introductory C Programming) at UCLA last summer.
At first I thought King's book was hard because of a certain depth of penetration into elements of good programming practices with examples one after another. As I became serious and started to reading intently, I found out how effective King was in paving the way toward a comprehensive understanding of C programming through worked out code and annotations. King is very skilled in breaking down and building up C code, unlike certain celebrated C programming language experts who apparently do not care to be clear or are simply ineffective. So my conclusion is: Read this each chapter of this book very closely, carefully and seriously, and try to understand every last point King is raising. Also, do not neglect working out some of his exercises at the end of each chapter for the benefit of practice as well as learning C. In almost every chapter of the book, he gives very good, organized and annotated but not tedious and complex examples. The problems are generally reasonable and hardly ever too complicated because I never found them overwhelming, either from a coding perspective or mathematically. Perhaps it is because King comes across as someone who emphasizes organization, detail, clarity and explanation in his style of presentation. There are no problems dealing with heavy scientific or engineering applications for those who dread them.
Great points: (1) Fundamentals - beginning chapters goes into detail for a solid grounding of C language basics (syntax, etc.); and (2) Pointers - excellent exposition with examples, diagrams and exercises, extremely well presented for the starters who easily get confused by what pointers in C are all about; and (3) Ideas are very well connected from chapter to chapter -- some chapters are even as great as stand-alone ones for referencing. The only problems I found were: (1) Description of struct types, which are passed by value from function to function -- implied but not clearly or succintly stated in the book (compare the description in the excellent book by Kelley and Pohl, "A Book in C"); (2) Chapter on program design, which I found to be very terse and scanty in terms of information topics about designing medium size to large C programs -- also jumps into encapsulation and C++ too soon and leaves out one too many basic ideas in C program organization -- "Look before you leap", C++ is object-oriented, and is therefore much more complex and evolved, so why do too much of C++ when one must learn basics of ANSI C well beforehand!
For some reason, I feel strongly that King is following the writing style and presentation of the classical work in C programming by Kernighan and Ritchie. He even discusses the significant contributions of Kernighan in establishing the C language as the mainstay of modern programming for all kinds of applications. There are some uncanny resemblance in style and other parallels I sense in his book. King also retains a lot of the clarity in thinking and intrinsic simplicity reflected in Kernighan and Ritchie's writing style.
Because of the lengthy chapters and reading required, this is not the best ANSI C reference book in my view. Kelley and Pohl's excellent paperback, entitled "A Book in C", does far better in that respect. However, King has more good illustrated examples in his book for the newcomer. You will like his book if you like Kernighan and Ritchie's paperback classic. In fact, King has more for you. The only caveat may be that any newcomer would be well advised to try to understand a little about C before attempting to read the book, because only afterwards does King's treatment only makes sense and becomes meaningful and stimulating. Also, it may help out considerably if one finds a good instructor to teach ANSI C in formal classroom environment using King's book here (as I did last summer at UCLA Extension).
All in all: A very good no-nonsense book for the motivated beginner in C programming.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 6, 2001
I've seen quite a few books on C and this, is by far, the best of them all. King explains the many aspects of C with a wonderful and dynamic clarity that keeps the reader interested. In the world of computer science, writing books that keep the reader interested is no easy task, but King pulls it off rather eloquently.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 2, 2015
Fantastic book, has many great examples and code snippets. Teaches you everything from the fundamentals to the more sophisticated stuff. If your learning C, this is a good place to start!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 26, 2000
This is without a doubt my favorite C book and I use it often when programming in C. This is a must own for anyone who needs to brush up or learn more about the C language.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 2, 1999
King's excellent book appears to separate serious students of C from mere dabblers, judging from some of the other comments in this stack.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 9, 2017
This book teaches not only how to program well, but how to do so intelligently.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse