countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Home All-New Kindle sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:$10.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 28, 2003
Eve's latest case is a killer who seduces his victims via internet chat rooms, killing her on their first date. Eve has always been passionate about her job, but the predatory nature of the crimes makes her even more determined than usual to catch him before he has the chance to kill again.
"Seduction" is slightly different stylistically from the previous books, in that Robb shows the reader whodunnit from very early on, enabling the author to shift focus from solving a mystery to character exploration. At centerstage, as always, is Eve & Roarke's relationship, with a bit of Peabody & McNab thrown in for comedic relief. The secondary characters who have been given recurring roles in the series have very little to do in this book, so with little to temper Eve's manic energy, the pace seldom lets up.
This is a good read for those who enjoy futuristic fiction and/or hardboiled female detectives, but I would highly recommend that readers new to the "In Death" series begin at the beginning. Eve & Roarke have changed quite a bit from the early books, and their relationship is best understood as it unfolds and not in the middle.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2001
While I generally love the "In Death" books by Robb, this one fell short for me. Can we all agree that Eve and Roarke are the best part of any of the In Death books? I find myself skimming the story and trying to find the parts which contain scenes with Roarke and Eve in them. Yes, Mira and Peabody are interesting but the "mystery" is at the bottom of the list. As for my title for this review, once again this author has latched onto a word, or words in this case and felt the need to overuse them again and again.Do we really need to hear Eve say the workd tag in place of call, get in touch with, track down, look for, find etc....? As for snag, I suppose everyone in the future snags everything, the phone, the drink, the car, yada, yada, yada! Please, when you use the same word a few times on the same page and then turn around and use it 2-3 pages later, one is left to believe it has become the only verbs these characters know! Sorry for the rant but it is getting worse with each book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2001
I've now read all 13 novels in the "in Death" series as well as the two short stories and I still haven't gotten enough of the main characters, Eve and Roarke. In this latest installment, Lt. Eve Dallas is investigating the serial murder of women who participated in on-line poetry chat rooms, each the apparent victim of romance gone horribly wrong.
This novel is a little different than most of the others in the series in that you know early on "who done it". The suspense comes in wondering if Eve will figure it out before anyone else is murdered and in hoping Eve can beat the killer at his own game.
In this novel, J.D. Robb re-introduces us to Charles Monroe and Dr. Louise DiMatto (tertiary characters from previous novels) and continues their character development. Peabody and McNab are also at it again with verbal sparring and miscommunication abounding.
"Seduction" is infused with taught suspense, laugh-out-loud wit, bad guys you love to hate, and a little romance thrown in for good measure. Please tell me there's more to come!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2001
Once again Eve Dallas takes the stage to stop an Internet dating game that has gone very, very wrong.
The deaths of young girls within the ages of 20-26, by a combination of drugs entered into their systems are shocking the city and disturbing Eve's task force.
In this novel Eve must go undercover to ferret out a game that is being played by players who think that they are safe from punishment or guilt because they disguise themselves as great poets and capture the hearts of their victims. Little do they know that McNab and Roarke are crack shot computer professionals who are tracking their movements.
Once again Eve and Roarke are a hit and I laughed more than once during this book as Eve's modesty and un-girly like procrastination's are downright hysterical. I like how things are going between Delia Peabody and Ian McNab, the tug-of-war they seem to be having is great. It goes to show that J.D. Robb does not just make couples get together and live happily ever after.
I finished this book in one night since I bought it from the bookstore and wish I could have drawn it out into a longer affair as leaving Eve and Roarke behind and waiting for the next book is too long a time to wait. I may have to read it more than once. I just can't get enough of Eve and Roarke and I have introduced the books to my friends so that they can enjoy and experience J.D. Robb for themselves.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2001
Let me start off by saying this, in my opinion, is the best Death book yet. The story is fast paced and best of all, all the secondary characters contribute to the story and many have storylines of their own.
The story opens with Roarke off at the funeral of his old friend Mick and Eve trying to survive the night without him. As she tries to sleep, she finds herself dreaming of her father. Only this time the dreams go further than it ever has leaving her shaken beyond belief. Then the call comes, another homicide, another body, and another death. The man of their dreams is wooing young, single, attractive women in a chat room where they discuss poetry, the arts, and the finer things in life. Each meets him for drinks at a swanky, romantic spot to be safe and then finds herself sexually enamored enough to take him back to her apartment. He turns the lights down low, puts on romantic music, and throws rose petals on the bed. He does everything in his power to make it the most romantic encounter of her life. You see it will be the last thing she will ever know.
I had wondered if Robb was going to let us down... Folks, I was not let down in the least. Yes, there is the usual blood and violence, the sex with Roarke, and we knew who was committing the murders fairly quickly�but what made this book for me was the use and revelations of the secondary characters. They played a prominent role in this book, which makes it worthwhile. Get ready to be seduced, not by murder, but the wonderful interactions that only Robb can produce.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2001
In this installment of the In Death series, a killer whose romantic streak proves deadly and whose keen knowledge of drugs and technology is testament to his brilliance pursues a dangerous game. He seeks out and actively hunts women by catering to their romantic inclinations, their love of poetry, and by chemically ridding them of their inhibitions. But his rape and subsequent murder of two women brings Lieutenant Eve Dallas in as an unexpected opponent whose perceived inferiority only increases his arrogance and his determination to win the game he started. But as Dallas and her team closes in, the hunter realizes too late that he is the hunted. J.D. Robb has done a great job of weaving a splendid plot in her latest installment. Though there is no real mystery, the detailed illustration Robb has given the readers of the murderer is powerful and occasionally moving. The author's use of Eve's past in this case is obvious and we learn, as Dallas does, a little more than we wanted to about the man who was her father. Robb continuously draws parallels between the two cases. Dallas continues to "stand for the dead" and her dedication and determination almost threaten to exhaust her, which culminates in a very moving scene with her husband and his majordomo. Peabody and McNab learn to iron out their differences and to look at their relationship from a new angle while slowly discovering how to juggle their professional and personal lives together. And two other secondary characters return as civilian consultants on the case that also happen to find a growing interest in each other. Robb continues to shine in this series by approaching the case at every angle just as Eve does. In doing so, the story has more punch and all the characters, including the villains, are a little more understood. Do not miss this installment of the In Death series. It will leave you wanting more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2001
This is a great book but I highly recommend starting at the first book in the series (Naked in Death) to fully appreciate this tale. It is another great addition to the Eve Dallas - Roarke saga, but definitely not the first book to start out reading this series with...
Although I was initially hooked by some of the romance and suspense, I have totally foregone the suspense and read it now for the romance and developing relationships between Eve & Roarke, Peabody & McNabb, Eve and her co-workers. This time, the Licensed Companion, Charles comes back and enjoys a hefty role, as well as other characters from her previous books.
This story is like reading a long letter from an old friend. You know and love the characters. You want to see them, visit with them and watch their live(s) change and grow. With this book, you see Roarke and Eve growing as a couple, strengthening their marriage, and resolving some of their past issues.
The mystery/suspense is good, not great in this story. For those of us who are Eve Dallas junkies, read the book. You laugh, you cry, you sigh, and you smile at the development of our "friends".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2002
"Seduction in Death" is the thirteenth novel in Robb's "In Death" series and shows absolutely no sign of going stale. Indeed, the story is especially fresh and thrilling and will keep you turning pages all night long.
In this instalment, Lieutenant Eve Dallas of the NYPSD (in the year 2059) is tracking a killer who courts his victims in Internet poetry chat rooms. Upon meeting his woman of choice, the killer slips a nasty date rape drug into her wine, takes her home and rapes her on a rose-petal strewn bed, then administers a final dose of drugs that proves fatal.
Eve is disturbed by this current case, as it dredges up memories of her own abused childhood. But anyone who knows Eve Dallas knows that she will find justice for the dead no matter what, and she begins the process of tracking her killer. The drugs administered to the first victim were valued at over a quarter of a million dollars, so who would have access to such a rare (virtually unheard-of) and expensive drug?
Eve is determined to stop the killer before countless more women are terrorized and killed, and when the opportunity arises, Eve decides to go undercover as bait in order to get her man!
I truly enjoyed the mystery Robb has crafted in this book. She used a slightly different format this time, letting the reader know the killer's identity early on. This in no way detracted from the suspense, however, as it was extremely exciting watching Eve put the clues together and come closer and closer to finding the killer.
As always, Eve and Roarke's relationship is fulfilling, passionate, and heart-warming. It's wonderful to read about these two, and see their devotion to one another. Robb has an immense talent for creating vivid and intriguing characters, and Eve and Roarke are two of her best ever. The secondary characters such as Peabody, Eve's aide, the E-Detectives, Captain Feeney and Detective McNab, and many others, are equally vibrant and always lots of fun to read about. You will fall in love with all of them!
"Seduction in Death" is a suspenseful and well thought out book, containing Robb's brilliantly rendered characters, in a fascinating futuristic setting. I guarantee this book and the entire rest of the series will entertain and satisfy you - so don't miss out!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2001
Nora Roberts writes a paperback fiction series as "J.D.Robb". This, the 13th instalment, shows no signs of being stale, although in 13 books, the time element has moved in the series only about a year. Nora/JD is incredibly innovative in her mix of plotlines, and juggles the romance element (not my favorite part!) admirably with the suspense and police procedural elements
to keep readers interested and make her books hard to put down.
In this outing, Eve Dallas, tougher than ever, follows up on a series of brutal sex crimes/killings perpetrated by a man who meets his targets and seduces them online. All the familiar back up characters are here...I especially love the backdrop of Mavis and her entourage partying in the background while Dallas and Roarke are consumed by solving the crime. We get an end (a beginning?) here of the Peabody/McNab/Charles triangle, in a very satisfying way...and, once again, Nora/JD leaves some breadcrumbs for those who are thinking it is time for Dallas to start a family.
Just a great, light mystery series by a writer who is not always taken seriously, but who never fails to entertain! 5 stars as one of the best in the "In Death" series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2001
Two sophisticated serial killers are stalking the women of New York via email. Or is it one man with multiple personalities? Tough homicide lieutenant Eve Dallas must solve the mystery quickly, before any more women are brutally raped and killed.
In perhaps her toughest assignment yet, Eve must unravel clue upon clue to get to the core of the case. And it won't be easy. As she peels away each false identity of the murderers, another even more clever identity emerges. Each victim has been lured to her death by a so-called "poet," who just happens to share a love of art, poetry, the classics, and other intellectual pursuits with his online "soulmate. It is chillingly easy to disguise one's identity on email, especially if, in the case of this murderer, he has multiple accounts that lead to nowhere.
Surveillance tapes and first-hand sightings of the possible suspect or suspects only compound the puzzle, as the killers are adept at face putty and other disguises, and so appear completely different each time they kill. In 2059, such appearance enhancers are all too available, as Eve well knows. When she needs a disguise of her own, she has to be almost literally hogtied as she submits to the "beautification" efforts of her dear friend, "mag" rock star Mavis, and Mavis's sidekick Trina. Those of us who know Eve et al. from the previous "In Death" novels tend to root for Mavis and Trina, as Eve's idea of beauty is primitive at best.
This insertion of comic relief is a Robb trademark, and only serves to intensify the mystery beneath. The genius of it, however, is that with each little interlude such as the beauty session, we learn more about what makes the "In-Death" regulars tick, just as we would in a real-life relationship. Thus we are privy to the on-again, off-again, often hilarious romance between Eve's stalwart aide Peabody and her peacock-dressing boyfriend, detective MacNab. There is more nasty verbal byplay between Eve and her husband's stiff and unyielding butler, Sommerset. And we get to see Eve's onetime mentor and dear friend Feeney in some unforgettable pajamas. As always, new readers will enjoy these characters, who only serve to add color and depth to the story. But regulars such as I feel we KNOW these people, and while we follow the mystery, we are also treated to the ongoing saga of each of their lives. MOST satisfying!
Nowhere is this more evident, of course, than in the deep and complicated relationship between Eve and her husband of one year, the brilliant and impossibly gorgeous billionaire Roarke. I have referred to their relationship before as fascinating, and it is...two strong, forceful people, each of whom have overcome unspeakable childhood horrors and emerged winners, must accommodate themselves to each other. We have watched as, in book after book, both Eve and Roarke, but especially Eve, have allowed layers of self-protection to fall away as they each learn to trust in the love they share. Theirs is not an easy relationship, but at its core is an intense bond that reveals itself more and more.
Robb skillfully weaves the many threads of her plot together with great skill, making it seem easy. In the end, the murdered women are avenged, and Eve has survived yet another attack on her character by a jealous rogue cop; queasily accepted the very physical relationship of Peabody and swain; seen her mentor in shocking pajamas; glimpsed a side of her Commander (Whitney) that she has never seen before; and, most importantly, let down another barrier in her erotic and high-energy marriage.
I strongly recommend this book. Regular readers will be thrilled to see Robb back in the groove after a somewhat disappointing (but still worth reading) "Betrayal in Death." Those new to the series will be tantalized enough to want to read all 12 previous efforts. And me? I'm pacing the floor, waiting for the next one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Need customer service? Click here