countdown boutiques-francophones Beauty Home Kindle Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
204
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$20.12+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 155 reviews(5 star). See all 204 reviews
on February 10, 2009
I absolutely LOVED this book. Kathryn Stockett did an amazing job. I loved how the story was written from the perspectives of the different women. I enjoyed seeing the world through their very different eyes and watching them develop throughout the story. The beautifully descriptive writing drew me in and made me feel like I was right there. This is an intense story of how these different women deal with the issue of racism during the civil rights movement. It is a poignant and deeply moving novel. I didn't want the book to end. I think this book would make an amazing movie as well. I would highly recommend this book to everyone.
0Comment| 66 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2009
What an absorbing book! I could hardly wait until I finished it; yet, I didn't want this book to end. It is filled with people you love to hate; people you love; people who turned out to be less than you thought; people who turned out to be more than you thought. Laugh out loud funny at times; heartbreaking at others. Understated suspense- not the kind we are used to but it is there. To divulge more would be to spoil it. Buy it or borrow it, but read it!
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2009
I have to admit that I was emotionally enthralled for the entire duration of reading this book from cover to cover. Stockett is a masterful storyteller, her narrative pulls you in, the suspense keeps you engaged, and the drama makes you want to shed a tear. This book is important because it explores the Jim Crow South in a way that is deeply personal, in a way that no textbook, no documentary could ever explain it. The evil of racism is not simply in the discrimination, but in the way it institutionalizes the power relations between white and black. The lives of these women really pulls you into their world.

As for the story itself, again, Stockett does a great job developing the central characters through multiple monologues. Stockett is also great at using literary devices like irony and satire to great effect. The only criticism I must admit though is that the ending appears cut short a little leaving a slight sense of incompleteness.

Overall, this is one of the best novels I have read in a long long time.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2010
How good is "The Help"? How many books do you know that effortlessly combine moral probity and social consciousness with a wittiness that makes you grin with delight? The year is 1962, Skeeter Whelan comes home from Old Miss with her BA and a yen to write. Her first assignment turns out to be an expose of racism...not the headline making kind that Medger Evers and Martin Luther King were fighting at the time, not school segregation, equal rights and voter registration, but the quiet, insidious kind found in every genteel Southern household. In other words, Skeeter's job is to reveal what it's really like to be a black maid in a white home.

Our would-be writer goes to the source, the maids themselves, but is able to coax only two--under promise of anonymity--to work with her: Minnie, whose outspokenness has cost her many, many jobs, and Abileen, who is considered a jewel, a treasure, and wholeheartedly trusted to raise her employers' precious (and seemingly endless supply of)babies...but not to use the family toilet. Soon, the other maids come flocking to tell their tales.

It's apparent that the church-going, mimosa-scented caucasian ladies of this world haven't made much progress from the days of Simon Legree. Oh, sure, nobody is taking a whip to the cleaning lady, but no law says you can't subject her to a humiliating series of rules, interrogations and suspicions.

The writing is so light and so fresh, you don't quite realize how seriously the writer, Kathryn Stockett, treats the subject. The book is funny...but it's never slapstick and never resorts to caricature, even when Stockett sits us among a group of white ladies sipping cool drinks and planning a fundraiser to save 'the poor black Africans' -- while guilelessly and guiltlessly exploiting the black woman serving them their diet sodas.

And the book isn't a one-note opera. Minnie is, at least on one occasion, the victim of her own misconceptions, and not any misbehavior on the part of a wholly benign employer. Hired by a "white trash" gal who married up, she must remain invisible from the husband. Her employer wants him to believe that she is the cooking/cleaning/washing and ironing wonder. When Minnie is finally caught in the act of cleaning by the husband, she panics...only to find him amused by the situation. It's a very funny scene. The husband walks in wielding an axe (he's cutting down a tree), but all Minnie sees is a big white guy, armed and dangerous. They explain themselves and friendship is brokered over sandwiches.

In some aspects, The Help a look a prejudice from two angles, but it doesn't falter in pointing out where the real culpability lies. The Help inspires thought and raises awareness...but never sledgehammers the message. You can enjoy the book as light reading, an amusing book about Southern mores, or you can go for the message. Either way, it's worth reading. This is Kathryn Stockett's first novel. Judging from the way it's climbed the best-seller charts, we'll be reading her next offering very soon. I can't wait.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2009
This has become one of my favorite books. Growing up as a child of the 80's and 90's in Canada this book gave me a very real glimpse of racial segregation in the south in the 60's. The love and empathy that develop's for each of the woman who have a voice in this book makes it impossible to set down.

Miss Skeeter, Aibileen and Minny leave you cheering for them each step of the way. Kathryn Stockett has written a novel that will have you laughing, crying, frustrated, infurirated, heart broken, elated, anxious, engrossed and always wanting more.

If you only read 1 novel this summer make it 'The Help'.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2009
Beautifully written. Rich strong, three dimensional characters. A story without sentimentality, yet intensely life-affirming. Neck-snappingly insightful at times, without being preachy OR full of clichés. Full of hope for the human condition. People in this book definitely grow and change, some more than others, as happens in the real world ... therefore if one reader can't see that, perhaps the writing is a just tad too subtle? But most readers "get it", I see.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2015
I find that if a book doesn't grab my attention and curiosity within the first page or two... I tend to not bother reading it. If the book isn't interesting, I get bored really quick and stop reading. But, this book had me hooked within the first few sentences. I really enjoyed that this author wrote the book in the way that people spoke in that time and location. At times I actually caught myself reading aloud with the accent in which it was written. Then I would giggle at myself...haha. This book is definitely an awesome read. Enjoy!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2011
This book was so hard to put down! You cheer for the main characters and get a pit in your stomach when reading the tense parts in the book. Really opened my eyes. We did this for our book club and it was a hit!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon March 22, 2013
This novel is a very well written piece of writing, tackling racism in Jackson, Mississipi in the 60s. Instead of focusing on "flashy" topics like slavery, voting, and equal rights, this book looks closer to home for content, examining relationships with the hired help. While the society ladies are busy throwing fundraisers to help the "poor starving black children in Africa", their Help raise their children singlehandedly and are not even good enough to use the same washroom.

In the Help, Skeeter comes home from school and is looking for work writing (instead of settling down with an eligible prospect). The only job she can find is writing a Household Cleaning advice column. The problem is she has never cleaned anything in her life, but takes the job and get her good friend's hired help to help her answer the questions. In doing so, she starts taking a closer look at Abby's life and treatment, while she searches for the truth behind the departure of her own maid while she was at school. In a (rash) attempt to impress an important editor and get into the work she wants to write about, Skeeter promises to write an expose about the hired help. Seems good on paper, but finding maids willing to talk about their experiences will be difficult as, if it got out, their lives could be ruined.

This book is definitely worth a read. Kathryn Stockett manages to tackle some very deep issues in a well-written, easy read. The book is written in a light tone, with humour throughout the pages.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2011
What an amazing read. Despite what would typically be considered heavy subject matter, this is a story told with hope, happiness, joy, and a true feeling of success. But of course, the frustration, inequity, cruelty, and sadness are all there too. That's what makes this such a spectacular read. Every emotion imaginable is represented. You will find yourself comparing the relationships to your own real-life relationships - not just between races/cultures, but also between friends, and among family. The characterization is done wonderfully, to the point that 20 pages from the end, I became reluctant to finish reading, knowing that I would miss the characters when it was over!

This was a gripping story and an easy read. Highly recommended!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here