Echo Dot countdown boutiques-francophones Introducing Fire 7 tablet, starting at $59.99 WFM Furniture Kindle Paperwhite sports Tools

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
New York to Dallas
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:$8.09+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on May 15, 2016
Despite its title, this book forms part of the In Death series and a very important one within the 'evolution' that is Eve Dallas and Roarke, the main characters. This time, the lieutenant of homicide in New York not only has to put a murderer and pedophile back in the cage, but also has to face her past - her childhood traumas in Dallas.
As always, J D Robb manages to draw the reader's attention to the facts and happenings at hand, and involve them in the emotional rollercoaster that is life. Although these are fictional people she describes, the issues tackled are only too real and sadly happen around us every day. This is what makes stories as described here so involving, but also 'distant' enough not to put off whoever picks up the novel. Maybe it's the combination of hunting the bad people while also dealing with important life issues, but it could also be the simple discovery as to what people are capable of - meaning what they can overcome in order to finally deal with the past, letting go of past traumas and moving on in life. This is an aspect so very often overlooked and is so very important to be made / become aware of - even if it sometimes seems insurmountable!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 18, 2012
By now, the Eve Dallas series should be getting a little stale. Most of the earlier books, all of which I own, have a fairly standard formula and the stories themselves are almost interchangeable. We learn about Eve's hideous childhood, her courage, her insecurities and the renegade,uber- billionaire husband who loves her. Sometimes Eve seems a bit of a pain in the behind, great cop or not. But this latest installment, New York to Dallas, is riveting and moving. If the series ended here, it would be a perfect conclusion. In this book Eve is simply more than we have seen her before. She is more introspective, more articulate, more trusting and more vulnerable and, finally more grown up.
There is the usual villain whose crimes mirror the abuse Eve suffered as a child from her father. Eve has to confront monsters she thought were long put away and the process comes close to destroying her. But she also is able to lean on Roarke, on Mira, and to accept that she has a "family" who love her and whom she loves. This Eve is a long step from the suspicious, constricted, emotionally frozen woman we first met in this series. The unwinding of the story parallels Eve's painful release of the emotional restraints which have tortured her all her life. A very well done book. Could not put it down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 14, 2014
This book was great as usual. I am a fan of all of the Dallas series. This book provided background of her early life that had events she had not been aware of at that time. No spoiler - so I will say no more other than if you are a fan of Dallas you should read this book so you will know a little more about the past events.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 18, 2017
Another best seller and great story telling by Nora Roberts. She has unlimited talent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 19, 2017
Love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 3, 2016
Great character development throughout this series - I loved the change of scenery with the majority of the book being in Dallas. Wins all around!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 16, 2016
excellent story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 16, 2014
Another excellent episode in the story of Eve Dallas and Roarke.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 24, 2011
I'm a long-time fan of this series by JD Robb. This next book in the series does not disappoint and the author does a great job of bringing Eve Dallas' past and present together in a riveting thriller.

All the books in the series have been leading up to this story. As more and more of Eve's past has become known it's been apparent that at some point she would have to confront it and in this book she comes face to face with her childhood nightmares. As always there is a generous helping of humour and romance in this story which helps to temper some of the ugliness of the crimes being committed.

Although I enjoy a good first person story, the beauty of a 3rd person narrative is that you get to hear what all the characters are thinking, not just the main one. That's important in this kind of book where the plot is driven by the dialogue and not necessarily the action. As Eve spends more and more time trying to profile her suspect and target where she will capture him we get variety and insight by getting to hear what the suspect is thinking and feeling.
I'm surprised that this series hasn't hit TV or the movies yet. It would make a great crime/drama/sci-fi series with the right casting and scripts.

I can see far ahead in this series. In fact it could now be called In Life instead of In Death and focus on things like Eve and Roake's children which I'm sure will be showing up sooner rather than later and even delving into the futuristic aspect that so far has only been a setting for the stories rather than a plot line. This series still has a long way to go and JD Robb shows no signs of stopping for which I'm glad.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
Great story! Eve goes back to Dallas to confront demons of her past as the first case she cracked as a rookie officer comes back to her to put to rest.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse