countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more scflyout Furniture All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
1,235
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:$5.63+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 28, 2016
Why I waited all those years to read this wonderful book, I'll never know. A great story, great characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2016
Delivered really quick and perfect condition ! Also, packaging was easy to open.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2016
This famous novel is set before World War II in the Southern United States and deals with the issue of race relations.

Well-structured and enthralling, it disturbingly presents two major flaws that may prove fatal to many readers:

• the narrator is a small girl who perceives reality with her own eyes but does not at all write in a juvenile style; it is never explained why this story is written or to whom it is addressed;
• the dénouement occurs as two small children walk home from a school show, in the dark, by themselves; it is not convincingly explained why their guardians did not attend or at least accompany them there and back.

Overall, the interest of this work lies in the fact that it is so well known rather than its intrinsic qualities.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2016
Read it because it was a classic, worth it? Meh. Probably just not my taste. The second half is much better than the first, keep reading!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2016
A good story, reminds me of my childhood way back in the 40's & 50's. Now just started to read her other novel Go Set A Watchman.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2016
Very slow, and to be honest I found what I did read to be boring. I did not finish the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2016
Most interesting and so very well written!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2016
My old novel wore out.. had to replace it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2016
wonderful - a classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2016
Amazing book and I'm Sad that it finished.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items