Echo Dot countdown boutiques-francophones Introducing Fire TV Stick Basic Edition Luxury Beauty home Kindle sports Tools

The Jungle Book
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$6.64+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on March 4, 2017
This graphic novel version of the Jungle Book arrived fast and as described. I'm glad it is available and used it as teaching material for my private ESL lessons.

The art is generally well-done, but Campfire's editing choices struck me as weak at various points.

1. Characters who never appear (e.g. Hathi) are, nevertheless, mentioned (x 2).

2. Some (but not all) of the stories from the Second Jungle Book are woven into this graphic novel (Letting in the Jungle, the Red Dog, the King's Ankus), however this information is not mentioned in the book itself.

3. Other Second Jungle Book stories (How Fear Came and the Law of the Jungle) *significantly* contribute to the extra stories that made the cut or the context of the Jungle Book as a whole, yet...they were not included.

4. Occasionally, dialogue order was a challenge to unravel because of speech bubble placements.

Because of these weaknesses, I also ended up buying the complete novel to use as a refereence. (And I found similar as above to be true for the only other Campfire graphic novel that I've purchased to date, Alice in Wonderland)

I'm very glad Campfire produces classics as graphic novels but 0/2 that I've purchased thus far were not adequate to use as stand-alone study materials.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2017
Nice to be able to clothbound books in at least some titles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2017
petit livre d'histoire intéressant.En anglais. Parfait pour l'heure du dodo.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2016
good price, excellent condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2016
My son is enjoying this book, well constructed, a classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2017
Beautiful classic with gorgeous illustrations
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2017
Book arrived quickly and contains the Jungle Book content as well as Rikki Tikki Tavi and various other short pieces by Kipling. However, the printing quality/legitimacy strikes me as questionable. The book I received was apparently printed to order - the printing date and city is included on final page: San Bernardino, January 23, 2017. But there is no publisher info page at the beginning of the book, so I cannot determine which publishing house bound the book. The line spacing is condensed; the text looks to be single spaced and there are no returns between paragraphs. Additionally, Kipling's poetry is paginated strangely -- the poems are printed as if they were small paragraphs, without regard to poetic line beginnings and with tabbed space instead of returns to signify the ends of lines. The result is that the next line of poetry often starts on the same line of printing as the previous line of poetry, after a tab or two.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2002
While I admire Disney's animation (and am looking forward to their Hamlet-ish The Lion King), I usually gripe about the changes they make in their movies from their source material. All one has to do is read the original Pinocchio, Peter Pan, or, supposedly, Bambi, to berate them for destroying classics. I probably should be bothered as well by their Jungle Book, except that I think that it was one of the cases where the marriage of animation, story and music achieves more than the original. Without the source material, it would be nothing, of course, but the wonderful songs (who can forget "Bare Necessities," "Trust in Me," or "I Wanna Be Like You"?) and the structure that turned Kipling's short tales into a two-hour movie create a gestalt that I'm not sure Kipling's tales do by themselves. This is probably sacrilege to the ears of the true Kipling fan, but I'm nothing if not opinionated.
The stories that make up the Jungle Book aren't solely about Mowgli, though, and it's the others, especially "Rikki-Tikki-Tavi," that make this a definate must have.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2000
some see this book, THE JUNGLE, as an amazing portrayal of life in Chicago (or any town of the sort) in the early 1900's. So far, so good, it does accurately depict what went on, but it leaves so much to the imagnination of the reader. this book was written in a narrative summary format. There was very little real interaction between the characters that was not summarized outside of the brothel incident and the socialist rally. It is strange that as a novel, there is no dialogue between the characters except for here, and when there is, more attention is given to the socialist rally than the possible breakdown of the marrige of the main characters. At this point i found the book rediculous and resorted to purchasing a copy of the Cliffs Notes to supplement what i did not seem to find in the novel. It was truly the only way that i could tolerate the monotany of such a weak and uninteresting novel. The author seemed to try to interest us with gore and filth, but did nothing as far as making the format interesting. at two paragraphs a page, i likened it to reading a text book written for the sole purpose of informing the reader with as little fluff as possible. this is really ironic since the book is 340 pages long. Upton Sinclair could have just as easily said what he wanted to say in an essay or a short book, take a hint buddy, people dont like reading 340 pages of propaganda for socialism when they can get the same information from a flyer. Maybe i am a little hard on this book, but for good reason. I have heard so much about it yet when i actually sat down and read it it was dry, boring, and although it seemed as though he (the author) tried to covertly slip socialism into it, he gave up after a chapter and laid it on the line saying thingsd like "Jesus was the first socialist". it simply didnt live up to what people built it up to be, i guess maybe i expected too much. I dont mean to attack the novel, if you can call it that, everyone should read it, but purchase the Cliffs Notes too, they help a lot with diescting the plot. Read it for the history, not for the family aspect of it because what there is is very impersonal and really not that special. If you want a book with social impact, read The Catcher In The Rye. If you want to read a historic book that had impact on industry, government, and welfare of workers, read this. sounds fun, eh? well, hope you like it more than i did. plan to spend about 6 hours or more with this one if you really want to understand it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2002
The Jungle by Upton Sinclair depicts life during the depression and the effects and heartships that immigrants felt when entering the United States. Capitalism is one of the major themes in the novel and in my opinion demonstrates Sinclair's opinion on capitalism. Much of the events in the novel are chosen deliberately to portray a particular failure of capitalism. Sinclair very effectively draws the reader in and convinces the reader that capitalism, to say the least, is not perfect. The deconstruction of Jurgis's immigrant family makes the reader sympathetic to the working blue collar man and aware of the holes in a many times unjust government. I think that through the story of this small real immigrant family one can really get a very strong grasp of what life was like during this time for all people. The Jungle is very articulatly written novel about humanity and the exploitaion of the working class during and around the Great Depression.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Treasure Island
$6.00

Need customer service? Click here