countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Home All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
11
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
2
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$28.46+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 24, 2014
I am very disappointed with the misleading title of this guide, ".... Moths of Northeastern North America".
Are the Atlantic provinces of Canada not part of Northeastern North America ? ? ! !
The range maps stop in southern Quebec and western New Brunswick. And to add insult to injury, the lead authors of this publication are Canadian. Shame on you, you should know better.
Future editions should be renamed "Field Guide to Moths of the Northeastern United States and Southern Canada", or the range maps and distribution notes should reflect the geographic region claimed !
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2013
A comprehensive look at our larger moths, a great guide to have on hand when hanging around a light in the middle of summer! The authors give distribution maps for many of the species (~60-70% with maps) to give an idea of where you may find each species in the northeast. The flight period data may also be helpful to narrow down the season that you may find some species, or to help separate species. Well worth the buy and definitely worthwhile to have on hand on those hot summer evenings!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2012
Tons of info: Also great for the northwestern part of North America.... Just ignore the maps: they show only NE US, not NE North America. But still fabulous work!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2015
What Fun! Now I know what lurks on the side of our house and also flutters at our lights in the yard! Some huge; some small.....we now can learn the fascinating differences from one another of these Moths AND why they are so different in habitat, feed , design and purpose to the Butterflies in North America. Thanks again to Peterson Field Guides.....I bought three different copies for Christmas! Perfect species, perfect world!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2014
Northeastern moth Bible, that, along with a couple key websites (some listed in the book), can identify practically any moth you find. I bring this book the every black light sermon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2015
Recommended to me by a friend into moth identification as the best field guide to start into the hobby. I have yet to start ID'ing moths but it looks pretty complete
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2016
Range maps are questionable and do not include Atlantic Canada. OK for identifying many moths by picture comparison, but that's about as deep as it goes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2016
looking forward to using this reference in the field
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2015
It's fantastic and so informitive
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2015
It's a great book on moths!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse