Echo Dot countdown boutiques-francophones Introducing Fire TV Stick Basic Edition WFM Furniture Kindle Paperwhite Explore the Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools

Showing 1-10 of 119 reviews(4 star). See all 511 reviews
on December 10, 2016
pooled ink Reviews:

The Lord of the Flies is disturbing look into the human condition and Golding’s suggestion that an innate evil lies within all human beings that must be tamed by civilization and constant supervision or else it will unleash itself and smear the world with bloodlust and power. Far from comforting but a scarily insightful story, this book is a recommended read for those who contemplate the goodness in life or the evil in the world and wish to hear an uneasy but contending opinion.

Several isolating TV shows or movies explore similar concepts (Lost, Flight 29 Down, The 100, The Maze Runner, and many more) but The Lord of the Flies gets to the grit of it almost instantly standing out as horrific, shameful, and terrifying all heightened perhaps by the fact that in this book the characters are all boys ages 6-12 while in those TV shows or movies the characters are often adults. Children are often seen as innocent or pure but this book makes no hesitation to say otherwise. Only fools do not see how cruel children can be even in a constantly monitored society.

Basically, you should read this book. It won’t fill you with fuzzy warmth or happiness or even an inkling of satisfaction, but it will open your eyes wider to the human condition and lead your thoughts down an explorative wandering path of philosophy. Sure philosophy in many ways is like a convoluted maze of Penrose stairs, but despite the impossibility of declaring any definitive conclusions it somehow still progresses us forwards.

Read my FULL review here: [...]
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 21, 2002
The movie was good...the book is even better.
This entralling novel of survival will have you thinking and wondering. After a plane full of British school boys crash land on a deserted island, the heads of sense and savagery will collide. Without adults to provide a "column of strength," the boys are left to live on their own. Started out as a united tribe of sorts, somewhere down the line they begin to split. A small group of boys with the main character, Ralph, as their chief believed that the most important thing was to keep a fire going and to be rescued. The other boys, lead by stubborn Jack, wanted to hunt and kill. This group was soon decorated in "war paint" and doing tribal dances around the fire.
As you read, you will most likely find yourself rooting for the sensible, protagonists of this story, but think about this: Do you think most people might end up acting in the same way as the "savages" ended up being? Is it not human nature to rule and survive? Can the boys be blamed for losing their heads, especially under the conditions that they were in?
This book was beautifully written, yet lacked absolute depth. The book itself is only a little over 200 pages, and the plot skips weeks at a time, often confusing readers as to how much time has passed...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 21, 2002
Lord of the Flies is generally read by students new to high school being slammed in the face with the shorter works of English that have been revered by academics. Such an introduction will often sour the reader's interest; deflate their desire to pursue a discourse with the fragile reality the author has set up. To those who enjoyed it the text can sometimes grow to take on a biblical veracity, spawning a cult of appreciation by the more pretentious of the youngsters who feel as though they'd accomplished something by getting something out of it. This is the perception of Lord of the Flies today . . .
When I was assigned to read this book in school for some reason I decided to skip it. Who cares, I think I got a B on the test, and we moved on to Of Mice and Men or Death of A Salesman. Nevertheless, I found myself searching out this book again years into the future, possibly inquiring into the past over something I felt I'd missed.
The result? A strong, swift book, sometimes beautifully written. On occasion a point is overexplained into the discussions and mired by the efforts of young boys speaking with an Oxford Graduate Student dialect. In other words, it sometimes gets pretty dull. The unreality of their speech is irrelevent, mostly, if only because Golding usually uses this technique to explain much of what is going on. It is a fine book among a long list of fine books about isolation, exile, lonliness, acceptance, faith, hope and civilization. If the book hadn't been so overwhelmingly sub-referenced I likely would have never picked it up and missed out on an enjoyable and profound--but perhaps getting tired as you begin to age--interesting little book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 12, 2001
In Lord of the Flies, his first novel, William Golding used a group of boys stranded on a tropical island to illustrate the malicious nature of mankind. Lord of the Flies dealt with changes that the boys (representing society in general) underwent as they gradually adapted to the isolated freedom from society (society's adaptation to the times). Three main characters depicted different effects on certain individuals under those circumstances.
Jack Merridew began as the arrogant and self-righteous leader of a choir. The freedom of the island allowed him to further develop the darker side of his personality as the Chief of a savage tribe.
Ralph, a "fair haired boy" started as a self-assured boy whose confidence in himself came from the acceptance of his peers. At first, his reliance upon Piggy for advice helped him maintain an orderly society. As the story progressed, it became apparent that the boys' desire for an orderly society fell wayside as the totalitarian Jack took control.
Piggy was an educated boy who had grown up as an outcast. Due to his academic childhood, he was more mature than the others and retained his civilized behavior. But his experiences on the island gave him a more realistic understanding of the cruelty possessed by some people.
The transition from civilized beings to a barbaric tribe illustrates Golding's view on society in his time. He believed that if we are not careful, we could revert back less sophisticated times and become animals again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 17, 2001
At first, reading this book made me bored. The plot made no sense and there was nothing to grab onto, just a meaningless story. Sure, it was interesting at first; a group of boys stranded on an island but as the story unfolded, there was nothing new and exciting that made me stay interested in the book.
I went along and read the cliff notes to see if it was interesting at all and I realized that there was so much more than just a plot. There was a deeper meaning and symbols for so many things. It brought the mystery back to the story and it was interesting how William Golding put all of these clues inside the blan plot. I found many things for myself about Simon (my favorite), Ralph, Piggy and Jack. I realized what they symbolized and how they brout special meaning to the entire story.
This book teaches a great lesson and it really makes you think. It's well worth reading, even if you don't agree on how the story ended or what happened in it. You'llbe satisfied to some point and you will see that HUMANITY CAN BE SAVED.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 17, 2001
The Lord of the Flies is a horror novel like no other. You won't find anything plainly terrifying, like monsters or ghosts or aliens. What you find is the human instinct, bared for all to see--perhaps most distubingly--in twelve year-old boys, who have their lives ahead of them and who are tomorrow's society.
The critical reading of this novel can identify jabs aimed at every human institution: Morality, Government, Religion, Sociality, every man's internal bloodlust. And nothing is safe from Golding's incriminating finger that accurately points out mankinds failings.
Perhaps the most startling aspect of this novel is how TRUE it is. We see as the boys parade around the island, making one mistake after another and then creating more; what hits home is the fact that we can identify. We can look at the jealous pathos of Jack, and we know what he is going through. We might even encourage him, because he isn't acting outside of the average human's desires, though he is acting irresponsibly.
Golding's book takes no prisoners, when it comes to his critique of humanity, and you won't finish the novel with a pleasant feeling in your stomach, but that, perhaps, is the intention, to recognize all that is wrong, all that depraves us, all that increases our downword spiral, all that makes our pompous idea of "civilization" appear absurd and completely unfounded. Golding certainly does not think that these inherent problems with humanity can be solved, but his intentions are to help us over our denial.
The Lord of the Flies challenges the reader to grasp what he has so long denied, and it does so by showing us the simplest, most allegedly innocent of our species as it tears itself apart without regard to those same "civilized" values that it has so dearly prized for so long. The Lord of the Flies is a must-read, but be prepared for what you might find; the scariest of all stories lies in your own heart.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 24, 2001
Lord of The Flies may look like a simple, plainly written adventure story�but don�t let it fool you�for all its uncomplicated wording and minimalist dialogue it is a extremely deep novel, full of symbolism. It is the story about a group of boys stranded on a desert island after their plane crashes, and how they struggle for order among themselves and survival. Golding brilliantly chose this simple plot so that he could examine the basics of human nature without all the confusions and complications of society. Once on the island, the group quickly splits into two factions which frequently disagree�the group symbolized by the conch shell, which wants to establish rules and a social order, and the group symbolized by the spear, which is more interested in hunting, having fun, and basically doing whatever they please without anyone telling them what to do. It is amazing how on such a small level we can already see the main difference in politics today�Democrats wanting more government and programs to help the country, Republicans more interested in trusting individuals. While on this island, boys� minds are permeated by the Lord of the Flies, the human condition, (this name is supposedly a translation of Beelzebub, a Greek biblical name for the devil), which causes them to fear, become greedy, and eventually attempt to kill each other. Therefore, the entire novel is an allegory for the degeneration of society. I have given you just a brief look at the novel�read it yourself and discover the marvelous intricacies of this, Golding�s true masterpiece.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 3, 2000
Jessica Grade 10 Weir High School October 4, 1999 Lord of the Flies A group of young boys get plane crashed on an Island. Two boys in the plane crash, Ralph and "Piggy", meet in the jungle on the island. They become acquaintances and decide to gather the boys on the island by blowing into a conch shell they found near the water. The boys meet together and form a survival group where Ralph is the leader. In the beginning they work together using there skills to survive. A group of choirboys that were also in the group, became the hunters. The rest of the boys gathered foods and kept a fire going in hope for rescue. The "bigguns" as they were called in the book, are the heads of the groups. The "littleuns" play and help out as well as they can. The "littuns" imagination takes flight and they have bad dreams. They all believe that there Is a big monster that in habits the island and will come and eat them. Later on the bigguns go out in search for this monster and find a "big winged creature". The boys groups start to break up. The bigguns of the choir can't stand the leader ship of Ralph and decided to form their own "Tribe" consisting of hunting and playing around. . The story goes on with the two groups of boys fighting and trying to stay alive against each other. The book is very good and needs complete concentration and an opened mind to understand.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 10, 2000
Anybody know what my title's about? Basically, this: In the battle between your impulsive, selfish side and your rational, moral side which would ultimately win?
The plot of this novel is misleadingly simple. Some shipwrecked British lads must fend for themselves on an island while waiting to be rescued. Their only hope for returning to civilization is to keep a fire burning in the hope that a ship will see the smoke. A leader is chosen. The society is well organized and, intitially, works. Then the "littlun's" confess their superstitious fear of a mysterious "beast" lurking in the woods. Disputes concerning priorities and leadership divide the boys. Gradually, the wilderness in them all possesses them wholly. This is the tragedy in Golding's eyes. Everything natural is condemned, while things of intellect are placed on a pedestal.
This book is nothing if not symbolic. Jack is selfish desires (Freud's "Id")while Piggy is intellect (Freud's "Superego"). Piggy's glasses represent reason. Remmeber this when anything happens to them, and what Piggy is like without them. Ralph is Mr. Inbetween (AKA: Freud's "Ego"). He's the closest to you and me. The conch represents order in society.
Pay close attention to the physical appearances of the characters as well. It indicates how well adapted they are to the island. The trick is that those most suited to the island are those most in tune with their instincts and animal desires. THey are the ones who give up on the fire. THey are the ones whom commit the injust acts. THey are the inhumane consequences of total submission to human desire.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 2, 2000
"Lord of the Flies" was enthralling, terrible, and fascinating. I read it in a day, and it consumed my thoughts. The book starts out quite harmlessly, and I began by almost thinking I was in for a fun adventure story. However, I felt otherwise as I absorbed the dark, gaunt style this book was written in. There was something ancient and evil behind the pages of this book, in the unwritten words, and unuttered dialogue. The line that seemed most significant to me were the words spoken to Ralph by Jack after he has returned from pig hunting. They are discussing the feeling that both of them have had in the jungle, of being followed, and "as if it wasn't a good island." The Beast is a recurring theme throughout the story, and I don't believe it refers to any one thing. The Beast takes the form that the children want it to, and it begins with their imaginations, but amounts to so much more. The children are the Beast, in a sense, in the aspect that their own selfishness, jealousy, and savageness have awakened this monster.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse