Echo Dot countdown boutiques-francophones Introducing Fire 7 tablet, starting at $59.99 WFM Furniture Kindle Paperwhite Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
36
Head First Design Patterns: A Brain-Friendly Guide
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$60.86+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on December 12, 2015
It is one of the best Java books I have ever read and probably the best one that is dedicated to structuring your code in OOP model. Upon having attentively read the book and followed the included examples will effectively teach and guide you how to program against types and not implementations. You will equally learn how to make your code reusable, i.e. "open for extension and closed to modification". The enclosed knowledge is a must have for any Java developer. I would wish the authors to "keep on keeping on" and include further Design Patterns in the subsequent editions, such as Chain of Responsibility, Mediator, Flyweight any Concurrency Patterns.

[edited on Dec 24 2015]: I have to apologize. Yesterday I have discovered that three of the mentioned above Design Patterns are included in the Appendix of the book. The "Leftover patterns" appendix includes 9! additional Design Patterns and Chain of Responsibility explanation has just helped me to resolve an important issue.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 15, 2017
Easy to read, very insightful. Not only to wrap your head around the basics, but to return to over and over again. I am a php/javascript programmer, and although the examples were all in Java, this book was so clear that the patterns can easily be translated across languages.
Very good read, and excellent reference for the future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 9, 2012
While I think it greatly helps that this book happens to fit my skill level perfectly (I know everything it assumes I know, and I don't know most of what it assumes I don't know), it is really amazingly well designed as a learning tool. There are some books (like the GoF book that this is based off of) that are such an unbelievable chore to absorb, requiring a monumental effort to get anything out of, but Head First Design Patterns is built specifically to avoid that exact problem.

Normally, we see low-level books that are written in an accessible manner, with high-level books written pretty much ignoring accessibility, leaving the reader to fend for himself. But it doesn't have to be that way. Head First Design Patterns is a high-level book written to be accessible. You will be floored by just how fast you can read this book, and just how fast you can learn what it teaches.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 11, 2014
If you are looking for a book to understand OO design patterns and when to use each, this is for you. The stories in the book show how each pattern can be practically used. If you really want to understand various patterns and are not afraid of reading lengthy books, this is a good investment!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 6, 2012
Head First Design Patterns gets you up to speed on this vital topic. Perfect for the beginner and an excellent resource for even the most accomplished OO designer this book provides easy-to-understand examples, and covers a wide range of patterns. If you are looking for a book that you can truly learn from then this book is for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 16, 2015
just love this book. must be on a desktop of each and every dev.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 1, 2017
Super funny! A must buy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 24, 2015
Great book. Easy to read, great examples. Uses interesting methods and exercises to re-enforce the principals. Really enjoyed it. Highly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 8, 2017
good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 16, 2016
Excellent Book . Must Read for Software developers . I never saw such a book who teaches complex concepts in a fun and easy way. Love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse