Echo Spot countdown boutiques-francophones Introducing Fire 7 tablet, starting at $59.99 WFM home Kindle Paperwhite Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
18
slide:ology: The Art and Science of Creating Great Presentations
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$29.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on July 5, 2016
I was happy with the content and messages, but I found the base font a bit small. A couple points bigger would be more readable. The page layouts may look nice, but it doesn't work if I find myself straining my eyes to read the discussions. I didn't expect a readability challenge from a book on Presentations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 18, 2016
wonderful resource. the first presentation I did after using some of the tips Nancy outlines resulted in participants coming up to me afterward to say how great they thought the slides were! they actually asked if it was PowerPoint :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 3, 2017
Everything I was expected to improve my presentation building skills.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 24, 2017
helpfull
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 5, 2017
Very useful and provides great tools to spark your creative muscles with power point.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 15, 2009
This is a very well done book. Covering every aspect of the creation of a State of the Art presentation. A second benefit to read this book is to have a lot of reference to dig a bit more on the subject.
Kudo.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 23, 2015
Very interesting and beautiful book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 13, 2015
very good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 21, 2009
Highly recommend this book to people who want to learn presentation skills. It's the best book in this category.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 7, 2009
This is an excellent review of contemporary approach to Presentations. Nancy Duarte, prominent for having shaped Al Gore's approach to his climate change materials and leader of a design house, gives an excellent systematic treatment of Presentations, how to use them, when to use them, what presentations should not be. She covers Brainstorming, Layout, Diagrams, Data Presentation, Design principles, animation and more.

This is not an ideal book for the reader looking for a "How-to". Rather, it is aimed at the reader that has done many presentations and is looking for ways to becoming more effective as a presenter and those seeking to connect with audiences in more effective ways than current corporate presentation culture permits.

Two things stand out:

1st - The case studies, though highly condensed, are excellent. I would have liked to have seen more of them and longer ones.

2nd - The essential conundrum of corporate life isn't addressed - namely that we know, as the book states that a great 1 hour presentation should take 60-90 hrs to produce; but more often you have 8-10 hours to put it together. This book doesn't take up that subject but that in no way detracts from the content and effectiveness of the material that is covered.

Highly recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse