countdown boutiques-francophones Eco Friendly Cleaning and Care home Kindle Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 21 reviews(1 star). See all 726 reviews
on May 26, 2016
Not formatting for the kindle app - unless you read only black text and white background. Any other background colours and the text is wonky/ unreadable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2016
The booked was damaged when I got it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2017
Avoid
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2016
Low quality paper
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2016
yawn inducing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2000
I have Carnegie's CD's for this book! I have the CD's for "How to Stop Worrying and Start Living". I've read this book three times. I just can't do it anymore. It's dishonest. Carnegie would tell me that praise IS honest if you just focus your compliment on something true. Like telling a woman that she has beautiful eyes when she is also nasty and mean. Or telling your friend that he has a great sense of humor when he is demonical and selfish. The Tibetan Buddhists state that "Praise Kills". This means that you will create massive "attachments" to people. This may be good in sales or politics. But it is very subtlely manipulative. I know that the person who is reading this is highly intelligent. Otherwise, why would they be reading a review on Amazon.com? And most of the people who read these reviews seem to have great insight into human nature. And I feel bad about criticizing this book. And thank you so much for what the people who read these reviews have done. You guys are just incredible! I even get wonderful e-mails!
HA! Madam or Sir, that is Dale Carnegie. And it is lying. If not lying, than deceitful.
1. I don't know you. 2. I don't know if you are wonderful or highly intelligent. 3. I don't know if you have incredible "insight". 4. I do get wonderful e-mails. AND some not so wonderful e-mails.
Let's just stop the criticism and flow with the kindness. You don't want to end up a "used car dealer". Or do you?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2001
That this book sold over 15 million copies must give us pause. That kind of sales record might indicate that it is filling a basic need. What need is that? The need to feel good about yourself and to think that you are doing the right thing. And so we get a simple and simplistic set of lists and formulae that tells us how to behave so that we can win friends and influence people. Would that life were that simple! The author claims these rules are scientifically based because he has done some real research by reading the opinions of famous people on this subject and by hiring a researcher to read things when he didn't have the time. The general rules are therefore supposedly derived from authoritative sources. But for the most part they are illustrated by sets of anecdotes that have come from the author's students who enrolled in his courses because they felt they needed to improve. Therefore the premise is shaky and the data base faulty. Those of us who know logic would say that there has been a partial selection of evidence such that what is presented here doesn't reflect the true universe of possibilities. Therefore no scientific conclusions can be drawn about whether the ideas proffered work or not. Other logical errors present therein include begging the question, false analogy, and over generalization. The major problem, however, is that that book asks people to be fake. We have plenty of fake things around these days, too many in fact. We don't need fake people. Diogenes found when requested by Alexander the Great no difference between the bones of his father and those of his father's slaves. Surely the philosopher must have known that that was the wrong answer. But he gave it anyway and lost his post. I say it is better to lose one's position and keep one's integrity. For, at last, are leveled, king and slave, without distinction, in the silent grave.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2001
"Today we come across an individual who behaves like an automation, who does not know or understand himself, and the only person that he knows is the person that he is supposed to be, whose meaningless chatter has replaced communicative speech, whose synthetic smile has replaced genuine laughter, and whose sense of dull despair has taken the place of genuine pain...he suffers from defects of spontaneity and individuality..." As I can validate with the man who recommended this book to me, this observation by Erich Fromm is 100% on target with "Win Friends and Influence People".

This man, who practiced this book, presented himself as superficial, artificial, irregular, and consequently very annoying. He proved to me that these techniques do not facilitate communication- they stifle it. Instead of being direct, this man would only have the courage to give hints or make indirect statements in the form of questions. If I would attempt to explain something to him he didn't understand, he would immediately light up and go, "Oh! I see what you mean buddy." In my head I would think 'You couldn't possibly understand- I didn't even start explaining!' But that's how this "Win Friends" philosphy made him- he's not willing to go through any difficulty at all to understand and communicate with others.

The techniques in this book basically converted this man into a robot. Nobody really knows what kinds of things he's interested in - although at first you think his interests have a lot in common with yours. The man has no sincerity or credibility. When I see him smiling I don't know if he is genuinly happy or just trying to appear pleasant. When he says he agrees with me, it means nothing because he always seems to agree with everyone. I've come to take his liberal and exaggerated complements of me as insults because in doing this, he ignores what is truly worth praise and I know that anything he does for me is really only for his image.
I'll sum up this book for you:
1. Fake interest in other people's hobbies to get what you want out of them.
2. Pretend to agree with whatever people tell you so you'll be more popular.
3. Only express positive feelings ; do away with sincerity.
4. Make false excuses for your actions that people would be embarrased to turn down, called "Appealing to the Nobler Motives."
5. Talk your way out of what you behave yourself into (as if this was possible).

I witnessed the ineffectiveness of a man who devoted himself to this book; I tried this book myself for a while. My conclusions: It contains nothing more than deceptive, manipulative, superficial techniques that have no use and will lead to the detriment of yourself and your relationships. Instead, I recommend reading the book that made this one obsolete: "The Seven Habits of Highly Effective People" by Dr. Stephen R. Covey.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2002
I usually dont read or comment on low-brow books such as this, however this book has had such a vile impact on our world that it would be irresponsible for me to do otherwise.
One need only to have listened to the oblique babbling of most corporate managers to realize that this is their Bible.
Admittedly it will help your career. You will learn how to speak out of both sides of your mouth, appear agreeable at all times,
and engage in all manner of corporate BS. Everyone will like you, except for those ne'er-do goods-who abhor pretension and deceit. And, most importantly, you will get that raise! After all, get real, being honest, principled and lucid won't pay the rent and may even get you a pink slip.
If you want to "get ahead" buy this book!
If you are like me and amuse yourself by reading the kind of obfuscate and dissimulating language found in those emails from managers that arrive in your workplace computer, get this book for a good laugh! Dale Carnegie is the St. Paul of American Yuppies.
Thomas
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2015
Best seller of non sense, utube has everything you need to know about making friends got that my friends.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse