Echo Spot countdown boutiques-francophones Introducing Fire TV Stick Basic Edition WFM Furniture Kindle Paperwhite Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools



on February 18, 2001
If you are an absolute SQL Server 2000 beginner but understand (basically) what a database is, this is the book for you. I have no experience in programming or SQL, and I've been able to ramp up VERY quickly with SQL Server, creating databases, tables, queries, and stored procedures with ease using the examples. The book is clearly laid out and has good examples. However, it IS a book about the server itself, not programming SQL. It contains a great deal of information on using ALL of the features included in SQL Server 2000. If all you want to do is learn to do is write queries, you might want to skip this and go for a book with a more narrow focus. This book's treatment of SQL Server is very broad.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 12, 2003
This is a well written book that covers a lot of topics...in the end you'll have a very clear understanding of SQL Server 2K from both the administration and programming perspectives.
I disagree with the other reviews posted on here about this book being too wordy or poorly organized. Perhaps those folks work for Oracle :-) There is a lot of material covered in this book, and for the most part, it's concise and doesn't adopt a condescending attitude towards the reader.
In my search to learn SQL Server, I've found this book to rank at the top for general coverage of most of the DBA and programmer/user topics you encounter.
Worth your time to read, and money to spend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 18, 2003
This is a fantastic book for people who need a crash course in SQL Server 2K. The information is presented in a style that gives the reader the "bottom line" on how to perform a task, with enough information to explain what the reader is doing and why.
The book is also well-written, so if the reader is learning SQL Server on one's own, the reader should struggle very little.
This book also comes with a 120-day evaluation of SQL Server 2000, so the reader can easily perform the hands-on exercises in the book, as well as experiment on one's own.
Will this book make you a maven of SQL Server 2K? No, but this book will give you the information that you need to be a SQL Server Database Administrator.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 1, 2002
Many of the subjects treated were glossed over and/or not fully explained. The authors managed to eek out over 700 pages of text
with such stunning revelations the following paraphrase. "Computer information processes have made an decisive long-lasting effect on business all over the world." I don't know about you but I do not like shelling out many bucks to read that kind of tripe when what I wanted was specific information on SQL. The minute section on JOINS was particularly disappointing as it was unclear and badly written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 3, 2001
Are you desiring to become a competent DBA, pass the related MCP exam, get hands on experience with and understand the general methodology of all features, or just dabble with some basic Transact SQL on SQL Server 2000 look no further. The book is written for persons with no to intermediate experience but the information contained within is applicable to all skill levels. The delivery of information is depicted in a clear and concise manner. The authors have definitely been around the block with previous versions of Microsoft SQL Server. Their experiences conveyed are instrumental in your present and future employment plus will save you valuable time that can be utilized more wisely elsewhere. My thoughts are if you desire to build a house you need to build a strong foundation first. If you don't you'll have ongoing structural problems and a leaking roof etc. This book will provide you with a strong foundation if you work through and apply its teachings. Prior to purchasing this book I've implemented and supported approximately thirty plus databases on Microsoft SQL Server 6x and 7 and one on 2000.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 19, 2003
This is a very poorly written book. It wastes thousands of words telling the reader what it is going to tell you...and then...after all the build up...it doesn't tell you as much as the built-in SQL help files. The writing is often obtuse, and sometimes cryptic. Microsoft's on-line help gives more information, more concisely. This book does not live up to SAMS books reputation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 8, 2003
This is the most useless book I've ever purchased. It rambles on from "what is a databse?" to "cost threshold for parallelism" without ever covering something as simple as inserting the date and time (or null not as a string) into a table. Certainly the last "Sams" book I'll ever buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 20, 2002
Vale la pena invertir bien el tiempo en cada uno de los capítulos de este libro. Particularmente pienso que hay capítulos en que hay que invertir más de dos y tres días para entender y comprender todos los beneficios que puede ofrecer SQL Server 2000.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 27, 2000
The main purpose of buying this book was the Eval SQL-2000 CD so I could upgrade from my Beta 2 installation.
To my surprise, the Eval CD required a Product Key, but there wasn't one in sight.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 2, 2000
Excellent book for beginners. I passed my MCP exam using this book. However there are some concepts like replication and data warehousing which are not covered in detail.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here