countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout home All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
54
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$15.10+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 11, 2016
Fantastic book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2016
A story that is extremely compelling, and well written. His natural, down-to-earth writing style makes this easy to read, yet deeply immersive
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2016
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2016
The memoir of Lt. General Romeo Dallaire begins with his romantic notions of a wonderful career with a band of men who protect the world they love. It moves on to his devastating personal experience of the UN`s total disregard of his desperate pleas for aide during the Rwandan genocide. Dallaire documents gross racism in an unintelligent, political planet where he discovers, to his horror, that some animals are more equal than others. I grieve the violent deaths of 800,000 innocent men, women and children in 100 days. As I close this memoir, I am reminded of my own responsibilities and daily opportunities to protect the world I love.
Eleanor Cowan, author of : A History of a Pedophile's Wife: Memoir of a Canadian Teacher and Writer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2016
An extraordinary book that is beautifully written. It gives a detailed account of the Rwandan genocide with excellent background information. The human cost for the peacekeepers and the price they continue to pay is chilling. Dallaire's love for Rwanda and its people is remarkable! The concluding thoughts in the book are both alarming and hopeful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2015
Fabulous book. Perhaps too many details.

"the Rwandan story is the story of the failure of humanity ity to heed a call for help from an endangered people."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2015
Pharaohs of the Sky
In 1994, two major events happened, at least as I recall: first, Kurt Cobain shot himself; then OJ Simpson went on a strange highway getaway and was charged with murder. It's odd that Rwanda was such a minor part of my life. When one reads Romeo Dallaire's chilling account of the Rwandan genocide, it doesn't take long to figure out why that was: Rwanda is in central Africa, an insignificant dot on a map; there's no oil, and therefore, the horrific atrocities perpetrated by the Hutus on the Tutsis went largely unnoticed.

What I found so interesting about the book--apart from the history of the genocide and the people involved--was the personal toll the event had on the life of Dallaire. Post-traumatic stress, suicide attempts, and severe depression were what awaited the man who tried numerous times to warn the UN of the impending danger in Rwanda.

One thing I can say: Hollywood's version of the event, entitled "Hotel Rwanda" is an embarrassment. Dallaire wasn't even recruited for the film as a consultant. But when one reads "Shake Hands With the Devil," they can put that Hollywood dribble out of their minds. Here is the true story.
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2015
amazing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2015
This is a sad book full of troubling issues that Government should be held accountable for before sending our men and women into harms way. Remeo Dallaire is a wonderful man and leader.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2015
Must read for anyone interested in Canadian military history. Lays bare the shortcomings of UN sanctioned missions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse