countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Pets All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 14, 2014
I am only half way through reading this book! I am really enjoying it! I find myself laughing at times at the book but I would definitely not categorize this book as a humor book ! The author really took the time to showcase what the world would be like if there were zombies! And the do's and don't! Some of the information provided may serve as a survival guide for other situations!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2004
Finally, a man who understands the all-too-real threat of the living dead and who posesses the eloquence to present it convincingly! Max Brooks has produced a small wonder of a book in the Zombie Survival Guide, a book which provides the average American reader (through hands-on experience, published scientific research and historical accounts) with a comprehensive guide to surviving multiple levels of zombie infestation. Stripping away popular zombie myths, Brooks cuts through the morass of media misinformation with a book based firmly in the terrible reality of the undead. Easy-to-follow chapters on recommended weaponry, small-unit tactics and defensive fortification provide an easy entrance into the frightening world of the undead for the novice zombologist, while seasoned veterans will appreciate the elaborate instructions on how to survive the dreaded "Class 4" infestation. With a balanced mix of the practical, the historical and the scientific, this book has something for everyone. If you buy only one book on zombology, make it this one.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2016
I opened the package to find the book was in pretty rough shape. The back cover had gotten folded in half before packaged. For a new book it was very roughed up almost looked like it had already lived through a zombie apocalypse. However I have learned a lot from this book and would reccomend the read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2014
I read this book a number of years ago and since then have wanted a copy for myself.
I decided to get it now because I saw it was on sale and I was able to get free shipping.

The book is a fun read, covering background information, weapons, and how to behave in different situations; on the defence, on the attack, and on the run, as well as how to survive in a completely zombie infested world.

Very Informative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2016
This is a comprehensive guide, it leaves nothing out. If you read this then you will be fully equipped to deal with the zombie apocalypse, saying that, you may not be able to finish it in time. The book is long, or at least it seems that way because it isn’t very engaging. I read it right to the end but I struggled to keep my attention on the words. The information within is brilliant but extracting it, not so great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2004
Finally, a man who understands the all-too-real threat of the living dead and who posesses the eloquence to present it convincingly! Max Brooks has produced a small wonder of a book in the Zombie Survival Guide, a book which provides the average American reader (through hands-on experience, published scientific research and historical accounts) with a comprehensive guide to surviving multiple levels of zombie infestation. Stripping away popular zombie myths, Brooks cuts through the morass of media misinformation with a book based firmly in the terrible reality of the undead. Easy-to-follow chapters on recommended weaponry, small-unit tactics and defensive fortification provide an easy entrance into the frightening world of the undead for the novice zombologist, while seasoned veterans will appreciate the elaborate instructions on how to survive the dreaded "Class 4" infestation. With a balanced mix of the practical, the historical and the scientific, this book has something for everyone. If you buy only one book on zombology, make it this one.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2014
For people expecting something funny, BUY SOMETHING ELSE !!!!

It takes itself WAY too seriously, it's extremely tedious and boring. I know that the title implies that it's a survival guide, but at least make it funny because let's face it, zombies aren't real and will never be. I'm a big fan of zombies but I'm not dumb enough to believe in them in order to prepare in case of an outbreak.

World War Z is excellent, this is just thrash and an easy cash grab by a lazy author riding the coattails of his previous success.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2014
My chances to survive are now rather high ! I hope there's gonna be a massive zombie invasion, so I can test my survival skills in a zombific context. Thanks Max Brooks : Roses are red – dead flesh is green – when the dead start to rise – you’re on my team !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2004
Wow, I finished the book last friday, then I went to watch Dawn of the Dead(Remake) on Saturday. Having read this book makes you feel like a true "zombie outbreak expert"! I liked this a lot, really really entertaining stuff. I didn't give it 5 stars just because some notions about zombies that I personally like some other way(things that deal with memory, physiology, etc). And yes, most of the chronicles at the end are by themselves very good micro-stories that could really scare you when in the appropriate circumstances.
With this book you'll learn all the "do's" and "do not's", you'll learn to "feel" if something is happening, what to do if you're catch unprepared,how to defend yourself and your loved-ones, how to fight, how to hunt them, how to destroy them, what they are capable of, what they really are, and most important, how to remain alive.
So, if you are ready, pack your stuff(don't forget your zombie survival guide!), get your shaolin sword sharpened and the sniper rifle tunned, and by all means escape... FAST, QUIETLY, FAR AWAY !!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2004
You're sitting at home, casually watching The Simpsons. You've just gotten a call from your friends, saying that they were going to come by soon and pick you up for a game of bowling. Suddenly, the power goes out. You glance around. You don't really see anything that could have caused this, or that would be of any help. Unworried, you just sit back, and wait for your friends. When the moaning outside starts, you're getting annoyed at them pulling this prank. Then they break down the front door. You angrily storm in, and you see only a group of shambling, clumsy, disease-ridden ZOMBIES!
The Zombie Survival Guide by Max Brooks is a humorous, tongue-in-cheek book about the true zombie (not created through magic, evil spirits, or anything like that, but through a virus called Solanum) and methods to combat, escape from, and defend against them. It sounds very serious, except for the topic, and may make some people reading this start to worry and take precautions. Overall, it's a pretty good read, with plenty of helpful zombie combat strategy and laughs. Just make sure that this information becomes common knowledge when the dead do attack.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse