countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Pets Tools

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
28
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 3, 2004
I was walking though the bookstore where I work and came across this book, and I am happy that I did. I have thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and look forward to reading the other books this author has written. I love Connolly's main character Private Detective Charlie Parker and his shady and colorful associates, Angel and Louis. It has taken me all of 2 days to read this book and I look forward to reading the 2 previous to this novel and the 2 after it. Excellent Writer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2003
John Connolly deserves to be a household name...at least in the houses that enjoy crime novels. He has to be one of the most overlooked novelists in the genre. The Killing Kind was my favorite of the series so far. His use of words is superb. The visual images he paints are unbelievable. Great novelist....great novel. I recommend it to anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2013
This is another Charlie Parker. It is one of the first and is very violent and there is a lot of torture in it. I was fascinated and abhored with some of the contents. I was very happy with the ending I will say. John Connolly is a very realistic writer. Again, I wouldn't recommend this for everyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2003
The body of Grace, a Ph.D. candidate, is discovered on a Maine back road and nobody believes it was suicide - but when a mass grave is found nearby, the single murderer idea becomes an investigation into a wider mystery in this thriller of a religious group's connections to vengeance and death.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2003
Unlike many of the reviewers on this site, I won't bore you with a summary of the events of the book; that's what the back of the book is for. Suffice it to say that this is a well-written, very visual, novel. Enjoy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2003
I loved this book! I couldn't put it down -- it's recommended read, just have plenty of time to finish it because you won't be able to stop!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2016
Fun read. The constant element of the supernatural gets a bit tedious.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2004
I'm not sure why this book was nominated for the Bram Stoker award. It's not scary or very horrific at all (with the exception of two or three scenes). The book is solidly written, but the story moves along like a TV movie-of-the-week, from one clue to another -- none of which is very believable. The coincidences and connections seem to easy and unrealistic, as if Mr. Connolly is struggling to connect the pieces of the story together. The story does moves rather quickly, but seems to be bogged down by various sub-plots that take our chararacter off in different directions. It's funny that one of Charlie Parker's first leads was the witness Marcy Becker, but conveniently Charlie doesn't get around to looking for her until the end. The book would have been 100 pages long if he had. I also had a problem with the amount of cliches during many of the action /danger scenes. With the exception of the very enjoyable opening involving Alison Beck, I've seen everything in this book before. A much better thriller writer is author Kevin O'Brien. With books like "Make Them Cry" and "Watch Them Die", he leaves John Connolly in the dust.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse