Echo Dot countdown boutiques-francophones Introducing Fire TV Stick Basic Edition Luxury Beauty home All-New Kindle Oasis Tools



Showing 1-10 of 302 reviews(5 star). See all 384 reviews
on June 16, 2017
This Book came REALLY fast and was in brand new beautiful condition. Elegantly written, funny, and exciting Neil Gaiman sucks you in right away. You can't go wrong with this one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2017
This book keeps disappearing from my home and I keep having to buy it again when I want to reread it.
It probably doesn't help that I keep shoving it at friends to read and they like it so much I never see that particular copy again.

I regret nothing - this book needs to be shared.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2017
Well that was a fun read. Good story with lots of humour. Highly entertaining would recommend to anyone who wants a good , fun time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2017
OMGs!!!!! The off kilter humour, right from the Forward to the About The Authors has been funny, off beat and generally amusing. Definitely another feather in both their caps!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2017
Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2017
Eagerly received -good book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2017
Great and funny read .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2017
Brilliant. Pithy. Hilarious.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2000
Bad news. The Apocalypse is coming. Soon. Luckily, Heaven and Hell have left the business with the Anti-Christ in the hands of Crowley and Aziraphale, demon and angel respectively. Now they have misplaced the Anti-Christ and pretty much decided they really like humanity a lot more than their either of their bosses.
In the first edition, the full title of this book was "The Nice & Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch." "Nice," in this context, meaning precisely correct. Agnes saw it all coming, from her being burned alive as a witch to the air force base where Armageddon will begin ("Peas is our professiune."). Agnes, her descendant, Anathema, the Four Horseman - Horsepersons - and the Other Four Horseman (a different chapter of Hell's Angels); it all comes together with the serried ranks of angels and demons gathered overhead.
Yes, this is an hysterically funny book. A satire and a parody, it lampoons everything in sight. From Elvis sightings to televangelists to the destruction of all intelligent life ("nothing left but dust and fundamentalists."), little escapes the scathing wit of Gaiman and Pratchett.
Of course the demon, Crowley, drives a 1926 Bentley. Of course any tape left in its glove box for more than two weeks turns into something by Queen. Of course the flaming sword used by War is delivered to her by International Express.
And what happens to the telephone solicitor, Lisa Morrow? Come on now, you secretly thought all telephone solicitors deserved it, right?
In the tradition of Jonathan Swift and Mark Twain, the satire makes a point. That point may be unpalatable to the religiously inflexible, or to those whose sense of righteousness hampers their sense of humor. Critics of Swift and Twain would find much to criticize in Good Omens. But Pratchett and Gaiman demonstrate that we don't need Heaven or Hell to have Good and Evil in the world; we have all we need in ourselves. It's the humanity of Adam Young, the Adversary, the Angel of the Bottomless Pit, etc., it's his human-ness that ultimately makes all the difference.
Don't read this book in bed; you'll keep your spouse awake, laughing out loud. But there's nothing else bad that can be said about it. Ineffability may be beyond our understanding, but humor, even humor in the face of the End of the World, we can understand.
Try this book. I will predict, with Agnes, you'll like it.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2002
Most science fiction & fantasy readers will kind of tilt their heads like confused puppies at a pairing such as Gaiman & Pratchett - Gaiman is notoriously dark, and Pratchett equally notoriously light-hearted; however, these two have worked together to create an entirely brilliant piece of work.
As Clive Barker notes on the cover of this book, "The Apocalypse has never been funnier;" he's totally correct in that assessment. The basic plot is that the Antichrist has been misplaced, and the respective minions of heaven and hell actually find themselves liking people in general, and are somewhat reluctant to bring us all to our demise.
There are lines in this book that are so funny, I occasionally had difficulty breathing from laughing too hard; this duo's clever, twisted silliness is just right up my alley. Some of the passages are so wicked, so briliant, they'll leave the reader wiping tears of mirth. Being a fan of much British humor, there was a veritable plethora of chuckles in such references as Milton Keynes, England's highway system, and in the delightful idioms. The idea of heaven and hell being run by beaurocracy is amusing as well.
Devout Christian practioners may find this book to be sacreligious, if they are unable to take their religion lightly. Apart from those folks, I'd imagine that most people will really enjoy this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse