countdown boutiques-francophones Luxury Beauty home Kindle Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports tools

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
105
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$17.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 23, 2004
You can tell that the author is Americian. An extraordinary number of the places to see are in the US. I'd rather a more balanced book that took me beyond places to eat in USA. Give me some substance.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2005
When I first came across this book, I immediately bought it. Went through it, until I came across the uS/Canada section, when I noticed how probably 1/3 of the book's places were located in the US and that among the '1000 places to see' included some ski resort in Idaho. Save your money, unless you want to learn more about the US (all 183 pages!) The average country had 2- 4 pages, even England/Scotland/Ireland only amounted to 90 pages! garbage. wasted money. one star for all the other content.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2005
As usual when something is produced in US, then the best aiplane ever is American, American won all the wars or played the desicive role there. I found it condescending that 30% of places to see are in North America. Do kids study history here? Do they know most of the world has older recorded history than States?
Extra minus fo me - book is too heavy on hotels, spas and resorts.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2007
What a great idea for a book! Too bad the author hadn't done a little more research. Since I'm Canadian, I can tell you that that section is particularly thin -- Toronto (a cosmopolitan city of 4.5 million people described by the United Nations as the most multicultural city in the world) rates just two mentions, one of which is a hotel apparently chosen at random. Which, of course, makes me wonder about the depth of research for all the other non-American countries she mentions. Abysmal. Unless you're looking for info on the U.S., save your money.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2008
I was initially really excited to check this book out because I love travelling and have done quite a bit in my time.

The first problem? The book is misnamed. It's not really a list of places -- its a list of events, things to try, hotels, restaurants and sites. To me, only those last 3 fit my description of places and even then, I was a little bored by the hotels & restaurants. I mean, fine, some of them are truly noteworthy, but honestly some of the ones listed are pretty pedestrian or should be limited to a city guide. Old Cataract Hotel in Egypt (Agatha Christie fame)? Yes, probably. Four Seasons in Toronto? No.

Also, I really expected to see a list of PLACES. If for some reason you can't come up with a fabulous list of 1000 must-see items I would have been happy with a high quality 100 places, rather than having to bother with the with a boring list of hotels, restaurants, festivals which seem to take up about half of the book.

So it might be ok as a general guide book, but as "1000 Places To See Before You Die"? Ho hum.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2003
As a high school teacher I am inclined to make "1000 Places.." required reading for every high school senior who is poised to venture forth into the world - at the very least, a must-read for all geography classes! The degree of painstaking research and organization that went into this 1000-page tome is beyond remarkable, and what wonderful prose where the author's enthusiasm for each entry of her wide spectrum of choices is both engaging and palpable.
"1000 Places..." is balanced in a way that offers countless possibilities for travelers of all shapes and sizes - and most importantly, for every budget. Yes, there are high priced hotels, but who doesn't dream of these once-in-a-lifetime experiences for special occasions, or when splurging for splurging's sake? Traveling off-season and internet discounts now make these landmark hotels suddenly affordable - and who can't afford dropping into these historical grande-dame hotels for a cup of tea and unparalleled people watching?
From high tea at The Ritz in London, to Montreux's vibrant Jazz Festival, to the unconventional choice of a visit to Calcutta to experience that country's human condition, I praise Ms Schultz for having compiled a Lifelist unlike any other I have ever stumbled upon before, and with all the factual info to get you there.
Perhaps it would make as much sense to suggest "1000 Places" as required reading for my fellow teachers as well as the students we send off with our blessing.
This book is for everyone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2003
The book is interesting and enjoyable, with a few minor flaws. It has too much of the author's "hometown flavor" (manhattan). For example, the only "spiritual/holy" places listed in all of America and Canada are in Manhanttan, which is a little ridiculous: "Manhattan is the sprititual capital of America!" The other problem I have is the number of hotels listed. I might be the exception, but I don't consider commercial lodging establishments "musts". Maybe a few could make the cut, but I have seen some of the ones listed and they aren't that special. But to each his own: 1,000 is a big number and I won't begrudge the few dozen wasted (for me) on hotels. (The organization is a little strange - I think it is more than one "place" per geographic location entry...) Overall, it is interesting, if superfluous. It can help crystallize the type of trip you want to take, if not exactly where you want to go. In other words, a good bathroom book ;) or a good starting point.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2004
The problem with publishing a travel guide to the 1000 Places You Must see Before You Die is establishing a fundamental criteria as to what constitutes a "must see" sight. Is it historical relevance? Natural wonder? Intrinsic beauty? World renown? You get the idea.
How you answer that question goes a long way to determining what sort of book you will have. The problem with Schultz's book is that she never clearly addresses that question and, therefore, has aggregated a series of recommendations that, in trying to fit all audiences, never succeeds in fitting any particular audience.
There has been much criticism in previous reviews of her focus on hotels/resorts, restaurants and "obvious" tourist attractions. Obviously, these folks have a very much narrower view of what constitutes a "must see" venue than does Schultz.
This is the factor that drastically limits the utility of this book-in trying to be all things to all people it serves the interests of very few people.
Frankly, it seems obvious to me what is needed is a series of "must see" books based on narrow criteria, such as "The 1000 Natural Wonders You Must See Before You Die" or "The 1000 Architectural Marvels....." or the "1000 Best BBQ Places You Must eat At....", and so on.
Having said all that, this tome does indeed provide, for certain geographical areas (primarily North America and western Europe) a decent generic guide to key attractions along a very wide continuum of choices. That is to say, this would be a good starting point to plan out a trip, but should not be considered a good 'sole source" as a travel guide. If nothing else, it can help you narrow down how you view what constitutes a "must see' venue when traveling.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2004
Thanks to the modern world's travel infrastructure, many remote and exotic places can be reached in only a day or two, so the entire world can be our playground. How, then, could author Patricia Schulz select 1,000 places from all the wonders the world has to offer? Her criterion was to select places that have inspired adventurers, writers, and artists, as well as curious travelers. She admits that traveling is a personal experience and that this is her own short list of dream trips. Since her choice was subjective, she may well have neglected your favorite vacation spot or dream destination. Even if that is the case, you will still marvel at the breadth of her selections. Don't expect glossy color photos, though. The included pictures are small black and white photos.
The book includes far more than just cities and countries. It mentions excursions like a cruise on the QE2, a trip on the Eastern and Oriental Express from Singapore to Bangkok, and a trip on the Moscow Underground. It suggests events like the Winter Alpine Balloon Festival in Vaud Switzerland and Mardi Gras in New Orleans. It lists geographical areas as diverse as London, the North Pole, and Bora Bora. It describes sites as varied as the Mayan city of Tikal, Museum Mile in New York City, and the Taj Mahal. It recommends places to eat as diverse as gourmet restaurants, the street food of Singapore, and Chicago's Superdawg hot dog stand. It suggests places to stay that are destinations in themselves, such as the Singita safari lodge in South Africa and the Rawlins Plantation in St. Kitts, Lesser Antilles. It includes experiences like bungee jumping from the Kawarau Bridge in New Zealand, playing golf in Scotland, and attending the opera at La Scala in Milan. There is a useful set of special indices to help you find active adventures, festivals, spiritual sites, museums, natural wonders, culinary experiences, resorts, beaches, museums, and sacred places around the world.
This is not really a Fodor's-type travel guide. Although it lists some places to stay and dine, it should be regarded as a source of ideas and suggestions. You should consult more detailed travel guides when planning your trip. Even if you don't have the time or resources to experience some of these destinations, it's a great way to armchair travel to some spectacular places off the beaten track. Bon voyage!
Eileen Rieback
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2003
This book is informative and tremendous fun, but its title is misleading. This is not all about wonders of the world that you will see and feel fulfilled (or die wishing you hadn't passed them by); it is more of a general fantasy travel book.
For example, in Europe alone (about 38%) of the book's entries, I counted 87 fancy hotels and almost as many megabucks restaurants, costing an average of $285 a night for a room in the low season and $75 for dinner. I like a great hotel as much as the next person but, no, I am not more fulfilled if I stay in them, and I don't need to see all 87 before I die (and that's just Europe; I gave up calculating after that).
Patricia Schultz has done a great deal of homework; there is contact information, including websites, for almost every site she names, so it will be easy to find out more on your own. However, as much fun as it is, I would rather have had more emphasis on natural and man-made wonders than in fancy bedlinens and exotic appetizers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse