countdown boutiques-francophones Beauty Pets Kindle sports Tools

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$17.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 31, 2003
Marty and Clark are home from Missy's, and the re-adjustment takes time. Luke has finally left home, studying to become a doctor. Arnie and Anne have married. Nandry is withdrawn and refuses to be a part of the family anymore and Marty is unable to find out why. Clare and Kate are super-anxiously awaiting the birth of their first baby. Are they prepared if things go wrong? Will their faith survive? The LaHayes have decided to visit Willie and Missy in the West, and much to everyone's surprise, they love it! In their absence, we again meet Lane, the humble, trustworthy, handsome young cowboy who works at the Hanging W. Missy and Willy now have three children and Clae and her preacher husband are in the east.
This particular book focuses on Ellie, her strong points and her dreams. She has adequately assumed the role of homemaker and caregiver in spite of the fact she is probably the prettiest, most eligible young woman in the area. Her heart is pure, her motives are right and she is a real blessing to her parents. Will this continue? Or change when she is faced with a life-altering decision? This book makes the reader hurt with Ellie, dream with her, and finally, well, you need to read the book.
There is one major bombshell in this book, but that would spoil it for future readers. Way to go Janette Oke, and keep the books coming in, they are a wonderful escape to a simpler, quieter time. This book ends with the Davis family in awe of passing on UNENDING LEGACIES....not just material, but spiritual as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 1999
This fifth book of Janette Oke's "Love Comes Softly" series continues the story of main characters Clark and Marty Davis. In her dealings with the issues surrounding the family's acceptance of Clark's new handicap and the occurance of other difficult events, Janette Oke gently teaches lessons of faith readers can apply to their own life. Whether describing the emotions of a mother sending her grown children off to fulfill their dreams, or tackling the agonizing question of why God would permit tragedy in the lives of those who serve him, Janette Oke's writing draws the reader into the story and plays those emotions directly upon the strings of the reader's heart. Unlike many lukewarm prarie-era stories, this book does not shy away from unpleasant subjects. Instead it tackles them head on, forcing the reader to grow in his/her own assurance as s/he identifies with the characters in the book, and with their tragedies and triumphs. A must read for anyone who has ever asked the question, "Why, God?"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2013
This was one of my favourites from the series. So much happened in the family, both good and some not so good. The characters were developed much more and you could understand them much better. Can't wait to read the next one!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2015
Good series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here