countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Furniture All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
47
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$26.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 16, 2016
Voir ces films en français de cette série est vraiment remarquable. Car je possède la collection complète des 8 films et L'HOMME INVISIBLE est l'un de mes meilleurs! Surpris du trucage pour le temps que le personnage devienne invisible. Çà été bien fait. Les personnages sont DROLES.....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2002
The Invisible Man is a great flim! It stars Claude Rains as thne invisible one, Griffin. And during the end of the middle his partner calls the police while his is staying in his house. Then Griffin promised to kill him the next day at 10:00p.m. And that is a PROMISE! I wont say anything more. People would say why would he go mad? He only turned invisible but during the movie it says in the chemicals he uses there is a drug and mixed with the other chemicals it abvously creates invisibility. But the drug can hurt people drive them a little mad. This happens to Griffin. This was found by anciet times when they used this drug and the other assitiant points out thats why they have not used it since. This movie has an ending that makes you say how was there two sequels to The Invisible Man unless the invisible man is not Griffin or there was a miricle but otherwise this movie is TERRIFIC. So I highly reccomend this movie to anyone who spots a good eye on it. So may I end this review in:
This Movie Was Terrific
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2002
James Whale was one of Universal's best directors in the 1930s; hell, let's just say he was one of Hollywood's best directors. Besides "Frankenstein" and "The Bride of Frankenstein," he also directed this first sound adaptation of H.G. Wells's thriller. And in it he provided a Hollywood debut for English actor Claude Rains. Rains is marvelous as the Invisible One (as he's identified in the opening credits), a fabulously over-the-top performance reveling in the character's madness and wit. Rains is aptly partnered by a young Gloria Stuart (who went on to play the old lady in James Cameron's "Titanic" about 60 years later, as well as lead an extraordinarily interesting life as an artist and a friend to the wonderful writer MFK Fisher, but I digress!) and Henry Travers (aka the angel wannabe Clarence in Capra's "It's A Wonderful Life.") But the real scene stealer in this thoroughly entertaining, masterfully paced film is the great Una O'Connor as the Inn-keeper's wife. Just watching this woman's face is one of the great delights of going to the movies, even at home. Good screen adaptation from the writers and excellent camera work, but it's Whale's show and the direction displays all his trademark creepy atmospherics and sly wit. A real gem, and with marvelous DVD bonus features to boot!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2001
Most people balk at the prospect of sitting down for a 68 year old film. It can sometimes be an academic exercise. Not so with "The Invisible Man," one of the finest Universal fright flicks.
I'll briefly explain why I think this film has held up particularly well: 1) Much praise has been given to Claude Rains performance, and it is totally justified. Rains is perfectly convincing as the raving scientist. 2) There is a lot of humor in this film. Sure, some of it is very broad and hasn't aged well. But most of it is fairly subtle and still works. 3) The special effects... There are a few shots that couldn't be improved much even today. And just about all the effects remain convincing. For 1933, this film was WAY ahead of it's time.
As with the other films in Universal's initial batch of horror classics released to DVD (all available in the 8 disc boxset Classic Monsters Collection), this DVD features quality extras. The main features are the running commentary track from film historian Rudy Behlmer, and a 35 minute documentary that details the making of the film (as well as providing a good overview of director James Whale's career).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2001
Jack Griffin is a brilliant scientist who has some ideas that his peers think dangerous and unethical. Not one to be dissuaded, Griffin successfully experiments on himself, becoming the first human to be rendered invisible. Unfortunately, prolonged invisibility--or possibly the invisibility drug itself, as his peers had warned--begins to deteriorate Griffin's mind, and he soon becomes a power-hungry killer bent on revenge.
Though rarely seen in the film due to the special effects and costuming demanded by the part, Claude Rains does a dynamic job in the role of Jack Griffin. His gravelly voice and vocal histrionics serve perfectly in delivering to the audience Griffin's descent into emotional hell. And James Whale's direction is as brilliant as ever, creating the appropriate mood and atmosphere as we follow a madman's ravaging of the English countryside.
One of only four Horror films directed by James Whale for Universal, THE INVISIBLE MAN is a work that some historians and critics regard as a veiled allegory of the director's own publically covert homosexuality. While FRANKENSTEIN and BRIDE OF FRANKENSTEIN also depict societal outcasts in a sympathetic light, the eponymous character in THE INVISIBLE MAN is a character in a situation that is most like Whale's own--a respected genius in the public eye, but a person whose true self must remain invisible.
Even if you don't buy that particular historical perspective, THE INVISIBLE MAN still works as an allegory of any societal pariah. We all have traits that we sometimes hide from others; we all have masks that we wear. And at the times when we dwell on the things we keep hidden behind those masks, we may feel just a little "invisible" to others. So in watching THE INVISIBLE MAN, Jack Griffin becomes a metaphor for our own private identities, and we care about what happens to him. As with many of Whale's films, this pathos for the protagonist becomes a skeleton on which hangs the overall plot.
Compared to contemporary movies, the special effects in this film might seem a little dated. But the script is good, the directing is great, and the acting is superb. Anyone who enjoyes a well-crafted movie certainly won't be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2001
Outstanding 1933 filming of H.G. Wells' novel is directed brilliantly by James Whale (hot off the success of FRANKENSTEIN and THE OLD DARK HOUSE). However major credit must go to Claude Rains as the mysterious Dr. Jack Griffin who experiments with invisibility potions and is slowly driven to acts of murder and mayhem. Ironically it was Rains' first performance, being completely unseen until the very end of the film, and the role that catapulted him to stardom. How appropriate though, isn't that what happened to Karloff, Lugosi, and Chaney? Titanic's Gloria Stuart is also a thrill to see in her earlier years. I don't need to remind you horror fans of this, but the special effects (even for 1933) are nothing short of incredible and seem far ahead of their time. This movie is so great, you have to see it to believe it. It's suspenseful, atmospheric, has great acting by a great cast, and is a definite worthy addition to any old Horror Film collector. DVD contains a fascinating documentary "Now You See Him: The Invisible Man Revealed!" by Rudy Behlmer, who also narrates the film commentary. Great classic film, not only for the Horror/Sci-Fi Genre, but for all time - BUY IT NOW!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2000
Another masterpiece from James Whale, the director of Frankenstein, Bride of Frankenstein and The Old Dark House. Where the later Invisible Man sequels from Universal got campier, sillier and less scary with each film, this first film adaptation of H.G. Wells classic sci-fi story exploits all the fright value possible out of the character and the setting; the story is set in an English village during a blustery, snowy winter spell, and Whale gets surprisingly good atmosphere out of the surroundings. The characters, even the minor supporting cast, are colorful and delightfully 'off-center'; this was another of Whale's trademarks. Although the special effects are dated by today's standards, the sight of the Invisible Man (? I can't think of how else to put it...) as executed by Whale is still spooky enough to pack a punch, as helped by a masterful performance by Claude Rains, whose wacky insane laugh and gravelly intimidating voice are the only tools needed to pull of the characterization of the transparent, doomed Dr. Griffin. The rest of the cast is adequate, but for the most part does not have a lot of familiar faces for the casual fan; probably the most recognizable name aside from Rains is Gloria Stuart, who 60-some years later won a Supporting Actress Nomination for "Titanic". All in all a good spook fest with ocassional lulls, but some great memorable scenes that make up for it. A Classic of it's genre.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2014
The film, even today, shows very well, despite too much screaming from THAT tavern lady! It is somewhat mannered, but compelling, and Interesting to see, or rather NOT to see, the great Claude Rains.
The DVD was delivered promptly, after a short wait only.
Just a very minor complaint: this DVD was on sale at a very low price. Being an " import ", though, it was not ( as are all my Amazon buys ) free of postage charges, which were, in this case, more than half the price again. So a $7.50 item came, with import postage almost $12.00. STILL a great buy, but .... I think I will not order import items for this reason, although I did not much mind the slight delivery delay.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2000
James Whale's interpretation of the HG Wells book is abrilliant piece of cinema. The effects are, considering the time, anastonishing achievement that really help make this movie work. This is Claude Rains film debut and while we only see his face for a few minutes, he manages to create a powerful impression as the sympathetic mad scientist. Of the Universal horror collection, this can only be matched by Whales' "Bride of Frankenstein" in terms of acting, direction, plot, and using special effects effectively. While it should have been one of the first Universal horror DVDs, let's be thankful this gem is finally available. END
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2001
The movie starts on a snowy night with a man, bandages around his head, a fake looking nose and dark glasses, looking for a place to stay. The film has the expressive voice of Claude Rains who is driven mad by the side effects of the invisibility drug. After killing a policeman, he becomes a hunted man. (I learned from one of the extras on the DVD that Boris Karloff was originally offered the role.) The effects are impressive (explained in the extras) where Rains removes his glasses to reveal nothing at all. The film offers plenty of humor e.g., shirt dancing around and a pair of pants chasing a woman down the road.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse