countdown boutiques-francophones Beauty Home Kindle Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
111
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 31, 2003
Before I read "The Five Dysfunctions of a Team" by Patrick Lencioni, I was unaware that professionals who work together in groups and teams face the same problems as teenagers in high school. Lencioni disscusses the five dysfunctions that teams face. He uses a spectacular model to explain them.... a story line about a major company facing troubles because the survival of the company depends on a team of about 7 people who are in such a disarray and "just can't get along." Lencioni told the story in the point of view of a new CEO of the company, who was challenged to piece the team and the company back together.
There were pros and cons to this book, although I really really enjoyed it. The discussions among the CEO and group about why they are failing as a team and at succeeding (i.e. lack of trust, avoidance of conflict/accountability) were so general and so obvious, but at the same time so necessary. I believe that people can relate to some of the characters on the team. It will help you to understand your team members, it allows other teams members to understand you, and it allows everyone to be able to relate to each other. Because I guarantee, if you are in a team, you have experienced much of what was discussed and experienced in the story. This book will allow you to overcome those obstacles and hopefully work towards a better work atmosphere and create healthier, more understanding relationships with your co-workers.
Another positive aspect of "The Five Dysfunctions of a Team" is that the story is told through the narrations of the CEO. This allows people to get a closer sense of what she is dealing with and how she is feeling at the time.
However, the story is a bit long, and if you are reading the story and trying to apply it at the same time, it would not be much help right away. Also, the story sometimes went off on tangents when in the group discussions, which caused them to get off of the subject at task. There could have been more stress on how the teams overcame their hurdles, instead of elaborating so much on explaining each dysfunction. Because the dysfunctions were the obvious part, it was the overcoming part of it that is important in guiding readers to overcome the same hurdles.
Overall, I really believe that this book is really effective in teaching a lesson, guiding readers to success, and even giving people a reality check as to why they may be hurting their own team. I would definitely recommend this book to CEO's and team leaders/members. If you are in a dysfunctional team and wonder why, I guarantee this book can explain it and guide you to success, also!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2015
This is an excellent book however you have to be a decision-maker to implement the suggestions. So if you ARE such a person, give one to every employee under your supervision. I read this, loved it and even gave a copy to my supervisor... nothing!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2017
I liked this book and found some of the scenarios scarily familiar :) The book is really split into two parts; the first is the story and the second is the how to fix this in your teams. The first part I really enjoyed, the second was good but heavy going. It's definitely worth reading and it may shock you that some of the scenarios are a little too close to home, although that's good since we buy these books to learn and adapt our situations. Worth a read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2016
Really liked this book. It very effectively lays out what can get in the way of teams not achieving their full potential and how to solve the obstacles that get in the way. The last part summarizes the steps quite well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2002
Patrick Lencioni has written an exceptionally interesting fable on optimal team performance. He has prescribed guidelines for team success and applied them in an interesting, easy to read story with a twist. He has defined easy to follow principles that with practice can lead any group or team, large or small to be great.
The book begins with a story of a potentially great company with a dysfunctional executive staff. Even though this company assembled some of the best executives and attracted top tier investors (compared to their closest competitors), the company was on a downslide. Morale was slipping and key employees were leaving. The CEO (and co-founder) was relieved of his title by the board and the search for his successor began.
This company, Decision Tech, was a high profile, two years old company with much at stake. The chairman of the board pushed for hiring Kathryn, an ancient fifty-seven years old by Silicon Valley standards. Employees and the executive staff were stunned with the news of the new hire.
The story develops by weaving Lencioni's team dysfunctions into its web. The fable is enticing and not typical of your "how to produce" guidelines book. The author keeps your interest while at the same time introducing and teaching his methods.
At the end of the story, Mr. Lencioni reviews all levels of team dysfunctions and summarizes and reiterates each. Therefore reinforcing his principles and eliminating confusion.
This is the first book I have read by this author. I found it entertaining, yet very informative. I enjoyed the novel format while receiving important informational steps for success in a team or group.
I would highly recommend this book to any person or group seeking to improve or turn around the team in which they belong. It would be a great tool for corporate teams or even the local high school basketball team. All teams would greatly benefit from Mr. Lencioni's advice.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2017
This is a book that should be read by all members of a team that wants to do a good job. It can be used by any type of group - commercial, religious, community, sports - who wants to be effective in their work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2016
Amazing and honest reading about what makes team successful and unsuccessful. I highly recommend it along with the field guide to anyone managing a team, or even part of a team of managers. The synergies of a group is key to long lasting success. This book explains it very well and is a useful tool.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2014
The book is separated into 2 sections. The novel or story section is truly captivating and engaging. The characters are well defined and you'll typically recognize people in your own workplace. This is all common sense but the dependancies of the 5 dysfunctions provides a good framework for better understanding of what a great team needs.

The second part of the book is a bit more tedious as it explains more of the theory of the 5 dysfunctions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2016
This book is something that every leader with a team should review. I have read this so many times and recommended to others who needed some help with their teams. I bought several copies to give away! I wholeheartedly recommend this!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2016
Managers and leaders stumble upon the five team dysfunctions mentioned in the book on daily basis. I found this book very hands-on and loved the story telling approach picturing real-life scenarios and how to deal with difficult situations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here