countdown boutiques-francophones Luxury Beauty home Kindle sports Tools



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 83 reviews(4 star). See all 383 reviews
on April 3, 2017
Excellent film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2002
Francis Ford Copppola's adaption of Dracula is unique; Coppola combines legend and novel to create a visually striking tour de force. There are a number witty visual references to silent movies (particularly previous adaptions from 1929's Nosferatu to Hammer's Horror of Dracula)and the visual effects are quite stunning. The effects themselves borrow liberally from older film and stage techniques. They prove just as striking and effective as any CGI images that could have been used.
The literate script is more faithful to Stoker's novel than previous adaptions but there's still a considerable amount of liberaties taken with it. Calling this Stoker's Dracula is being generous;Coppola transforms anything he adapts and this is very much Coppola's Dracula.
The acting and casting is more problematic. The most glaring problem is Keanu Reeves as Harker. Yes, I realize that Reeves' wooden acting style is deliberate. It's a stylized reference to the acting of the 20's and 30's. Unfortunately, given the other performances, it doesn't work. Anthony Hopkins manages to chew just about every bit of scenery in sight. Still, he's an effective Van Helsing. He plays Van Helsing with as obsessed bordering on madness. It works within the context of the film and is a fine contrast to Gary Oldman's fine performance as Dracula. Cary Elwes and Bill Campbell round out a fine cast of performers (although I personally would have loved seeing the versatile Elwes play Campbell's role). Tom Waits makes the role of Renfield his own. Waits' take on Renfield is the strongest since Dwight Frye's in the 1931 Todd Browning version of Dracula.
The romantic element of the film is completely screenwriter James Hart's invention. It's a surprise and makes this something more than a run of the mill vampire movie. His script breathes life into a moribound subject that's been done to death. Coppola and his collaborator Hart have invented a tragic gothic Dracula mixing gore with the sensibility of a romance novel.
The film is well staged and the action sequences have a kinetic energy that only a thoughtful director like Copppola could create. The cinematography veers from beautiful to eerie within the same sequence. Coppola's Dracula takes the vestiage of Greek tragedy and grafts it to the horror film in a way that makes this a fresh and vital film.
The Superbit DVD has no extras to speak of (and the extras on Columbia's DVD pale compared to the original Laserdisc version). The picture quality and sound are both outstanding. Columbia/Sony have done an outstanding job with this transfer. It's one of the sharpest and best looking DVDs around.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2000
Like most of Cappola's post 70's work, this film manages to be both stunning and dissapointing. Keaunu Reeves as Jonathon Harker is another of Coppola's baffling casting choices. He is a blight upon this movie - grating and impossible to ignore. Gary Oldman and Anthony Hopkins give entertainingly wild, over the top performances and Winona Ryder is good as Nina, though her accent doesn't quite cut it. What really saves this movie though are the stunning, surreal visuals. Coppola creates an intense, dreamlike atmosphere and maintains it through out the film. Is is almost hypnotic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2000
i found this movie, although mostly intended to be a horror flick, to contain a certain amount of romance that i found appealing. i was swept off my feet by the mysterious destined love between dracula and miss mina. i found myself crying more than once when i thought their bond was going to be broken. the acting in this movie is superb, anthony hopkins does a wonderful portrayal of Van Helsing. this really is a film of good versus evil but the most intriging thing about it is you dont always know which side is good and which is evil. if you've already seen the movie i would also highly recommend the book. although slightly different, it provided just as much entertainment. trust me, you'll love it. i did.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2011
The classic tale is a litterary masterpiece, the atmospher & style stands out in BluRay. Vlad the Impaler's red suit of armour is visually stunning as he renounces God & stabs the heart of the cross. Sadie Frost looks sexy as the life is slowly sapped from her beautiful neck, while Winnona Ryder does a good job as her friend Madam Mina.

Strong performances from Keanu Reeves, Anthony Hopkins & the supporting cast; as it is a proper projection of the novel, you should really enjoy this in HD if you have never watched it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2017
effective,I am delighted So affordable price to buy such a practical product, very value, I'm going to buy a friend gave me as a birthday present.
This made my life this week awesome!!! can't go wrong with that! This is an Easter present for my kids. i received it on time and my kids said it is fantastic. Well made, quality product! Placed second order this week.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2017
Happy with this product and the service given. they work perfectly.Wil buy it again.i’m so happy with it. shipping was fast and they came neatly packaged. They are trustworthy… very good condition for the price best invention ever
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2004
This 1992 adaptation of Bram Stoker's magnum opus is fairly faithful to the source, though there are a few noticeable changes, not the least of which is a blatant depiction of the sex and eroticism that are only tacit elements of the Victorian novel. Another obvious change is the addition of a prologue in which it is revealed how, as his punishment for blaspheming God and cursing the church, the Turk known as Vlad the Impaler was transformed into Dracula the vampire (Gary Oldman). The real purpose of this scene is to set up a later plot point--also an augmentation of the original story--in which Dracula, now residing in England, learns that Mina (Winona Ryder) is the reincarnation of his true love from his previous mortal life and subsequently becomes obsessed with re-acquiring her. This, of course, becomes the underlying impetus behind all of his later actions. (At the time of this film's release, many film critics pointed out that this reincarnation concept is lifted directly from Dan Curtis' 1973 TV-movie adaptation of the novel, which was scripted by the venerable genre writer Richard Matheson.)
Still, BRAM STOKER'S DRACULA does, overall, return to the novel's gothic roots. A lot of the action takes place in crumbling old Carpathian castles, filthy Victorian insane asylums, or dusky English manor houses, and most scenes are played out dramatically in the usual operatic style of a period piece. Director Francis Ford Coppola skillfully layers nearly every shot with rich detail, and often the foreground action is in danger of being upstaged by spooky little events or eerie bits of scenery in the background. (A prime example of this is the now-famous shadow imagery in Dracula's castle, which moves independently of the people or objects casting those shadows.) And aesthetes and art historians are often quick to point out that some of the more lavish costumes, especially some of those worn by Dracula himself, are directly inspired by the ornate artwork of Gustav Klimt, a Viennese artist who was a contemporary of writer Stoker.
For the most part, the acting in the film is excellent. Gary Oldman's portrayal of Dracula is superb. Through the course of the film, he skillfully segues from a Turkish warrior to a centuries-old bloodsucker, and he is especially effective (i.e., downright scary!) when his character assumes the form of a giant, gargoyle-like bat. Master thespian Anthony Hopkins appears as Dracula's primary nemesis, Professor Abraham Van Helsing, and his eccentric characterization of the enigmatic occultist is delightfully over the top. Hopkins often nibbles playfully on the scenery, nearly upstaging his co-stars. Though her British accent is sometimes obviously phony, pretty Winona Ryder does an excellent job as the object of Dracula's romantic interests, and the casting of Tom Waits as Renfield is a master stroke, as his bizarre but affecting performance so suits the mentally deranged character that it rivals Dwight Frye's much-lauded and equally outré portrayal in the classic 1931 Universal film. The only real weak link in the cast is Keanu Reeves. Though he tries hard, he just can't entirely shake off that surfer-dude posture that has become his trademark, and it takes a little effort on the part of the audience to accept him as a (whoa!) Victorian-era solicitor like Jonathan Harker.
All in all, 1992's BRAM STOKER'S DRACULA is a very satisfying horror film that, though not a stringent interpretation of Stoker's famous novel, is nonetheless loyal to the book's gothic ambiance and Victorian roots. In fact, fans of Stoker's literary opus will be delighted to see that, unlike the more famous 1931 version starring Bela Lugosi, this film keeps the book's primary plotline more or less intact. True, the pursuing-lost-love graft is a bit distracting at times, and it really doesn't work all that well, but it's only a minor flaw in the film's overall scope.
Columbia/Tristar's basic DVD release of BRAM STOKER'S DRACULA is a no-frills disc, the only bonus (?) being the option to view the film in either 16:9 anamorphic widescreen format or 4:3 pan-and-scan. Picture quality--at least on the widescreen side--is very good and the retail price of the disc is reasonable. But Columbia/Tristar also offers a SuperBit edition, and as with most of their SuperBit offerings, the picture quality is superior, especially when viewed on a widescreen HDTV. Though it is a bit pricier than the standard edition, videophiles in the horror-fan crown will think it well worth the additional cost.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2004
I only gave this film 4 stars, because after you see it so many times you notice alot of things that could have been corrected had the spent a little more time on it. Over all, this film is amazing. I would recommend it above any other Dracula movie out there. It's based on the original Dracula story written by Bram Stoker. They changed the plot quite a bit, but for the better.
The cast alone could have made this movie great even if the plot lacked. With names like Gary Oldman, Anthony Hopkins, and Winona Ryder how can this movie fail? Gary Oldman is astonishing. If Dracula looked and acted as Gary Oldman did who could refuse him? Anthony Hopkins is the only person I could ever see playing Van Helsing. He fit the character perfectly. Eccentric, a bit psychotic, wise, and charming, who better to play that role? Winona Ryder did a good job playing Mina, but I wouldn't say it was the perfect role for her. The only complaint I could have about the cast is Keanu Reeves. What were they thinking with that? No matter how hard he tries he will never shake the surfer persona he took at the beginning of his career. They could have found many more that would have suited the role of Harker much better. Besides that, he did a bad job with the english accent. It sounded fake and not well rehersed.
The film was well adapted to the book, despite the fact that it completely changed the plot. They turned it from a story of sheer malice and revenge to an epic love story. Dracula's wife threw herself into the river after receiving false news of his death. This is true in accounts of history, but isn't directly mentioned in the book(if memory serves me right), but it's a strong point in the movie. In the movie, Dracula searches for centuries to find his lost wife. Finally that comes when Harker comes to Transylvania to finish the transaction between Dracula and the firm Harker represents. He finds that Mina, Haker's finace, is reincarnate of his beloved Elizebeta who flung herself into the river. From then Dracula's plot to win his love back begins. The entirety of the movie is based on the struggle of choosing between the power of eternal love or the bonds of religion and the decisions between right and wrong. The movie brings Dracula from this horrible, murdering monster which he's always portrayed to a man with a heart struggling between life and love. He risks everything to be with his one true love. Heart warming, right? As the cover says, love never dies.
Francis Ford Coppola does an amazing job with the imagery of this film. The special effects are amazing for the time. And the costumes are utterly astounding. The images in this movie are hardly forgetable.
On top of all that the sound track is amazing. During the ending credits they play a song by Annie Lennox. 'Love song for a vampire' is such an amazing song. After seeing the ending of the movie it will make you at least come close to tears.
Again, I would higly recommend this movie to anyone who likes the story of Dracula. Even to those who like love stories, just as long as you don't mind a bit of gore.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2003
First of all, I have enjoyed the film from my first viewing in the theater to my most recent viewing on the Superbit DVD. The film gives a rich, tragic subtext to the Dracula legend that most other films ignore in favor of gory special effects or cheap scare tactics. The cast is spectacular, featuring Gary Oldman as the fanged one, Winona Ryder as his lost love, Anthony Hopkins as Van Helsing, and Keanu Reeves as Jonathan Harker.
The only thing I was a bit disappointed in was the digital transfer of the film. Although I recognize that the film was released over a decade ago, Columbia apparently didn't take the time to digitally restore the film before the transfer, as there are still some visible pops and dust even on the Superbit edition. The 5.1 soundtrack, however, will blow you away. It was so crisp and clean, I had to turn down the sound significantly so that I did not wake up my baby. The soundtrack makes good use of all channels and covers the discriminating viewer who has a decent home theater system in excellent sound quality. Thus, the movie sounds great, but I could not discern a significant quality difference in the picture from other DVDs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse