Echo Dot countdown boutiques-francophones Introducing Fire TV Stick Basic Edition Luxury Beauty home Kindle sports Tools



on June 7, 2016
I'm not rating Macbeth, of course. It's a great play. What I'm rating is this edition of the text.

This is a good one. So far as I can see, the difference between good and bad eEditions of Shakespeare is first and foremost a question of whether the lines of the poetry have been preserved. Not all editions do this, which leaves the reader with a weird mishmash of paragraphs with capital letters sprinkled throughout the text. This approach - let's call it the Approach of Sloth - leaves a text that's unreadable.

But this text is fine. It's a safe choice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2017
My book came in on time and it's exactly what I was looking for. I need a refresher as I am auditioning for the play Macbeth. This was perfectly priced and exactly what I wanted to rehearse with. Gives information on the Theatrical World along with some texts from Shakespeare and then the Play itself. I was just a little upset with the cover of the book. I don't know if this was do to packaging for the product itself but there is two tears on the binding. Pictures included.
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2013
To read Shakespeare presents the reader with a dilemma and he either gets into the play and the personalities as the author presents them, in his realism as he understands their psychology, which is a world away from the soap operas and film world, and you may agree or disagree with the ancient playwrights view. Here we are in the ancient world
a city, as an existence unto itself. The city prospers it needs to be defended raise money and so on and so
fourth and functions almost like a country..here we have the moorish othello in to defend the nation, the city of Venice, and the ancient politics of Rome with its senate and republican system of government seems to have fascinated Shakespeare in a different way from his own nations history, and he often plays these stories, from a history drawn from his own sources, but its the characters he creats, the poems, the love, virtue, lust, fall from grace, debauchery and all this exists within a christian world. Some live to the heights of the ancient christian view, perfections or virtues and others live lives of privation, or deprivation..Othello is one of his best and among all the stress and strain of being a battlefield commander lies the heartache of his attempt to realize love and his thought hes been cuckolded. That is the drama..adultery not only as a fact, but more succinctly his love does not love him anymore in thought..her love is elsewhere..and DEsdemona is on eof his most beautifully realized creations and she comes off best radiant in her defense a s a christian woman of the middle ages slandered, and abused in aa cutthroat world. "let heaven and men and angels let them all.cry"(p 87)..at the break up of a loving relationship much more than any concern for marriage. The whole of creation mourns..as God's work being frustrated.
Othello believing he's cuckolded laments as a military man "yet she must die,else she'll betray more men..light restore"(p 81)..the idea of restoration, a better world without the betrayor or betrayed. IN defense DEsdemona complains "I am a christian"..a common defense for the religious in the middle ages, and women accused by men, whose bond to a god above assured their loyalty to men below. THe men who sew the ideas in Othello's mind, of DEsdemona's infidelity know otherwise.."what an eye she has..perffection."(p 30)..and eyes are frequent topics of description in this beautiful play and Desdemona shines as well as the frailty of Othello, a man not capable to trust and perhaps to enter into love with his cherished Desdemona..and the many around them jealous of the love he has, seeking to destroy his relationship, as a way of destroying everything about him, but that to is a theory and theories have no place in works of art they should be enjoyed for the drama and take from it what one.."our wills are gardeners..weed up"(p 18).."lust of the blood..will come..moors are changeable in their wills..cuckhold him..pleasure..sport"..the characters in Shakespeare the ones who show grandeur have strong wills, imposing themselves on their surroundings, at times models of virtues..or they fall..and what is the reason in these finely chiselled out portraits that makes them be the people they are..great tragedy..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2016
Have to love the No Fear series. Having the book, changes the shakespeare experience in a very positive way. It is really a lifesaver for someone trying to appreciate literature, but unfamiliar with old English.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2015
At the of 23, now I am 82, we were suppossed to stage this play & was to portray Touchstone. It never happened. The play as I now see it; is is light in substance but its level of verbosity is very high with an air of intellectual disposition, not my choice for a play.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2016
Great book! It really did help survive High School English! I still have it and read time to time because it's such a great read!

A true original for millennials haha!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2017
I tutor for a living and needed a good guide to work with a student...this was fantastic, puts it clearly in english alongside the origional.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2015
For $5, this is a pretty good find, but if you are not already well-versed in Shakespearean English, or you are purchasing this version to use with a class of students, don't bother. It lacks the helpful footnotes offered in other versions - this copy has a few supplementary notes for each page, but other versions have WAY more explanations and details, making them much easier and more enjoyable to read. Opt for an Oxford copy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2015
The content is good. But I cannot accept the printing quality. It is more like being photocopied than printed. Blurry words with muddy photos. Cover your mouth in case of vomiting during reading. Totally disappointed by the book quality. What a great spoil of the wonderful annotations! Buy the Oxford Shakespeare. It has the equivalent notes but is clearly printed. Even the font size of the Oxford Shakespeare is smaller, it is still reader-friendly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2017
Annotated ??? NOT!!
Not sure why it is flagged as "annotated". I was expecting in-line annotations on archaic words etc . There were no annotations, except for a small description of the plot, at least on the kindle version.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Macbeth
$17.92

Need customer service? Click here