countdown boutiques-francophones Luxury Beauty Furniture Kindle sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
39
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$27.56+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 24, 2017
Good stuff
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2000
The paperback edition of "Aesop's Fables" should NOT be confused with the Hardcover edition of the same name, that other reviews on this page refer to. While I think the illustrations are quite lovely and the fables familiar, I (probably through no one's fault but my own), did not get what I expected. There are only 13 fables, some of which are little more than a few lines long, and there is no additional commentary or context. The price is reasonable for what it is, but this is not a soft cover edition of the hard cover of the same name!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2017
Got this as a present for my Mom & she loves it. They shipped quickly, goods packaging is also very fine, This works so much better than I thought it would. You can't do better for the price.if you want an economical and cost items will never miss it. Does what is supposed to do very good material. Very cool product. They look amazing! Would buy again! I am thinking if I need to bought another one so that I don't have to search around when i need.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2002
It is true - the drawings in this book are beautiful. However, I was hoping that the telling of the fables would have more of the original flavor. The stories have been updated to at least the 20th century. I am sure that when Aesop told the stories, the Country Mouse and the City Mouse didn't have to dodge automobiles and miss stepping in bubblegum. It was misleading that Aesop is listed as "editor" because the stories are not as he told them.
The overall messages (ie morals) are there. I just was disappointed that it was so updated. I'm sure that serves its purpose, but it wasn't what I wanted.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2003
Short, literate stories, each with a moral, allowing a child to get the idea of drawing a generalization from a story. The brevity makes them understandable as wholes and a manageable size for older children to read (my four-year-old child finds them interesting enough to motivate her reading and short enough to permit success). My favorite editions of these tales place one fable and illustration per page. More at strongbrains.com.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2000
This is a beautiful classic book you'll want to give to your children and your grandchildren. There is at least one large beautiful illustration for each fable. The text size could be a bit larger, but the illustrations more than make up for it. The moral of each fable is at the bottom of the page.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2000
The paperback edition of "Aesop's Fables" should NOT be confused with the Hardcover edition of the same name, that other reviews on this page refer to. While I think the illustrations are quite lovely and the fables familiar, I (probably through no one's fault but my own), did not get what I expected. There are only 13 fables, some of which are little more than a few lines long, and there is no additional commentary or context. The price is reasonable for what it is, but this is not a soft cover edition of the hard cover of the same name!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2014
Reply to A Customer (see 3-star reviews): I loved your review, but simply can't believe what you said about the book not being appropriate for the classroom because it contains the word "ass"; you are kidding, right? Let's enrich the language, not impoverish it. The kids can learn and understand so much more than we may be tempted to give them credit for. I am glad you're reading it at home, though :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2000
This rather famous and highly extraordinary gathering of short tales written by Aesop is often overlooked by most people, who look to Hans Christian Andersen (the Dane) and the Brothers Grimm when wanting to read fantastic tales.
Aesop's tales are much older than most other collections of tales that you can find nowadays. His tales and stories are rather unusual, as many wondrous creatures and items exist in his 'world'. Items that speak and have emotions, nice demons, wicked fairies that spew forth from cracks in the earth and people who behave in very strange, amusing and unexpected ways. In any case, if you like to have your imagination tickled and challenged, you shouldn't hesitate when buying this book.
Most stories in here are also suitable for children, although certain, more advanced and intricate, aspects of the stories will be lost on them. A good thing about that, is that kids can read it when they're rather young, and if they pick the book up again at a later stage in life, new thoughts on the stories will dawn on them, since their intellects have developed and are able to grasp twists and plots in the small tales that kids aren't likely to comprehend.
As I've said before, many of these tales are rather unusual, and unless strange and unusual old tales interest you, go buy some of the more known collection of children's tales. This book is both for kids and adults.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2002
The short stories attributed to Aesop have been around for over 2,500 years. Many times no longer than a paragraph is enough for the reader to see the moralistic truth of the world around us summed up in a brief encounter between animals. The illustrations are well done and will be appreciated by adults, but for the most part were not created for children. The vocabulary and grammar can also be difficult for young children on their own, but will be understood if it is read to them with the proper pauses and inflections. Every fable has its moral underneath it. Many of them children will recognize from other storybooks. Every teacher should have a collection of Aesop's fables. Although this edition is not the best for young children it would still make an excellent addition to the classroom library.
Why 4 stars?:
While I do feel this is a good book to read to children and to show the illustrations to. It will be too difficult for them to read on their own.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here