countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout home All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
14
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 12, 2002
This is the best "primer" to feminism that I've ever read. It's a great read for people who know nothing about feminism or who are only familiar with mainstream society's myths about feminism, because it offers a concise and easy to understand history of the movement. hooks also clears up misunderstanding on the definitions of the terms feminist and feminism. She touches on problems within the movement and where we're at now. I also think this is an excellent book for seasoned feminists to have on hand. For one thing, you can find the quotes and passages you're looking for with ease...and it also helps to have read a book that you should be suggesting to those new to feminism.
Finally, I disagree with the reviewer who said this book is only for the "fringe" because hooks points out "our feminist pioneers [were] privileged, educated white women." Um...THEY WERE for the most part. If you're looking for a whitewashed version of the history of feminism then this book isn't for you. Like the feminist movement itself, this book cannot address sex and gender without also addressing race and class. Also, nowhere in the book does hooks imply that housewives are excluded from feminism. The book actually touches on the fact that most of the work done by women (including especially unpaid domestic labor) is still unpaid and undervalued in this society.
The amazing thing about this book is that hooks is able to compress so much information into such an easy and interesting read. You won't put it down except maybe to get your hi-liter.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2001
Feminism is for Everybody is a great book for third wave generation feminists. Most young feminists of today don't know the history of feminism that bell hooks recounts in this book. bell hooks explains how the current feminist movement lacks a strong sense of sisterhood, and one reason for that is our lack of participation in consciousness raising groups. We need safe, sacred space in which to work out our internalized sexism. We need to learn about feminism outside of the classroom as well as inside it. We need to come together across the lines of race, class, and education, and demand a revolution.
hooks also dicusses some of the differences between "reform" feminism and "revolutionary" feminism, and why knowing about the distinction is so important. That helped me to understand one reason why today's feminism seems to exclude women of color and poor women so much.
I highly recommend hooks' book for women (and men) who are new to feminism and to those who've been involved in the movement for a while. I think she has some excellent and important things to teach us about our movement and where it needs to go.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2001
This book is a good introduction to bell hooks' feminist critique and thinking. Having read others of her books and been intrigued and challenged by her ideas, I found that this book presented some of her concepts and philosophies in a simple, readable way. The book consists of several concise chapters, each covering a specific topic -- including spirituality, anti-violence movements, female beauty standards, male feminists, love, child-rearing, and many others. Whether or not you agree with what hooks says, this book is an excellent way to get and idea of what she is all about.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2001
Bell Hooks is an articulate and inspired writer. This book is a great primer to give to friends and family to inform them about the feminist movement...since many people hear only what the mainstream media has to say...this book takes into account the perspectives of black and white women/men.
A free-thinker leverages the brilliance of others to enable him/her in developing and testing his/her own ideas...this is one author which will certainly help you in testing and developing your own ideas on feminism and patriarchy.
It is concise, easy reading. It also clearly reflects many of the same historical points which I recently saw on the PBS special "Not For Ourselves Alone"...a program about the early suffrage movement pioneers, Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. Anthony.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2001
Bell Hooks (Distinguished Professor of English at City College, City University of New York) once against demonstrates her exceptional ability as a cultural critic in Feminism Is For Everybody: Passionate Politics. Hooks writes with her usual and persuasive candor on a wide ranging spectrum of personal, national, and international contemporary issues arising from feminist politics and the continuing struggle to create an equalitarian, unbiased future against the cultural barriers raised by patriarchal, racist, and homophobic attitudes, policies, and practices. Feminism Is For Everybody is still another important, thought-provoking, and appreciated contribution by Bell Hooks to feminist studies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2000
Bell hooks's book is an excellent introduction to the study of feminist politics. With clear and concise language, she revisits the beginnings of the movement, and tells us where it is now. She also succintly explains why feminism is not anti-male, anti-sex, or anti-family, but rather feminism is the struggle against rigid sexism in patriarchal cultures. Despite its plague of editorial errors, the book is highly recommended for the non-academic language and for the encouraging message hooks offers us.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2010
This is an awesome book for young women and young men to help them gain and understanding of how complex feminism is, and at the same time, how simple it is to understand, interspersed with compassion and empathy for ALL humanity. It isn't harsh like Lee Maracle's initial book on feminism "I am Woman" (which is also an excellent book for a native perspective on feminism). There are as many types and styles of feminism as there are women. bell rocks!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2002
A well-rounded starter for anyone interested in true, historical feminism. I say "true" because it seems there are more and more pop culture books with a "feminist" or "grrrl" theme to them. I hope that all young woman (or all women) will come across this book for the real story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2002
bell hooks has provided an insightful, intellectual look at feminism that is approachable and accessible. hooks gives us hope of living in a world where we all can be free --- free of bigotry, racism, sexism, classism, and homophobia.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2003
In "Feminism is for EVERYBODY", Hooks skims over her ideas, current topics and past writings. I think this is a fine book for someone who is ignorant to feminism or a an individual who is interested in Hooks.
The introduction was my favorite part. How she states that as soon as she mentions the word "feminist" without fail, people get shifty and uncomfortable and talk about how crazy feminists are, how manhating, butch like, etc. Then go on to say she must not be like those "wierd feminists". When in reality, most people have no idea what feminism is, which is why she wrote this.
The only reason why I would not recommend this book to anyone is my own personal bias and opinions. I do not agree with everything she has written. However, her writing is easy to read and she writes in a way to entice everyone. She is kind and open, not aggressive and rude, but still assertive and gets her point across. She is also wise to not attack men, instead she attacks the patriarch, because that is a way of believing, it is not a sexuality, and that is what needs to be brought down.
Like I stated, it's compelling and easy to read, it's short and almost anyone can relate to it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$7.15
$14.59

Need customer service? Click here