Echo Dot countdown boutiques-francophones Introducing Fire TV Stick Basic Edition Beauty home Kindle Tools

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
53
Jiu-Jitsu University
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$35.10+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on September 17, 2017
Anthologique work! Good place to acquire good basic - then come back for more advance
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2017
Great book full of excellent narratives and pictures to teach techniques.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2017
Do you want to improve your jiu jitsu? Buy this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2017
Very good book on correct technique. Great for any level of practitioner.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2017
Great Book! My husband and son both love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2017
Great book for all those in jiujitsu
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2016
This book is very detailed in it's method of delivery. It separates the chapters from beginner to advance, white belt to black belt.

It is very very well written, especially by Saulo Riberio himself, the material in the book has reputation.

If you think you're interested in Jiu-Jitsu and want to learn more about the art, this book will shed light on all your questions and allow you to study the methods to the madness off the mats. I highly recommend the book to all because it has helped me drastically.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2017
The most important part of your journey is this book. As a white I bought this and it immediately aided my game all the way to purple. I still go back to this book all the time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2009
I bought this book and skimmed thru a few pages, waiting to fully indulge after finishing Mastering the Rubber Guard. However, in Gi class I got sick and tired of getting side mounted and knee-on-belly without a means of consistent escape. I looked up Knee-on-belly escape, went back to side control escape, and just said, "meh, let's goto chapter 1, survival." The defense position for side control Saulo posits not only prevents the crossface, but also knee-on-belly. Perfect. Turning away from a knee-on-belly is a quick, easy, unexpected means of escape that works. The simple things like the scoop and turning to the side/pushing off hips while mounted help keep you alive longer and better situated to escape.

As a beginner, I am very happy I found this book sooner rather than later. It really is a systematic problem solving reference manual. Once you can survive, then learn to escape, how to work the guard afterwards, etc. From a white belt view, I recommend this book for helping tightening up your defense. It is amazing how many more submissions become available when you aren't busy fending them off.

Gotta keep reading...
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2011
Saulo's JJ University is THE best book for all levels of BJJ. The way he groups the books into chapters based on belt colour is very intelligent on Howell's part. Saulo focus' on the fundamental's throughout the entire book and ensures the reader uses the most simple movements to accomplish any task. There are too many techniques in the book to count, but I will specifically mention his section on guard passing. It helped my guard passing game tremendously because he shows sequences of passes you can do if your opponent does "this" or "that" to counter your first attempt.

The pictures are perfect in this book. A lot of people worry trying to learn techniques from a book but the pictures do it justice. There are an average of 10-15 photos for each technique alone and 2 pictures per step so you can see different angles. The descriptions for each step as very descriptive and use a language that helps you visualize what you are suppose to be doing with your body throughout the technique.

Saulo also talks about things such as using dead-angles, belt progression, survival, guard passing, sweeping, submissions, submission defense, escapes, using what your opponent gives you, and many more.

Everyone who practices BJJ should have this book. If you don't have it, get it. Almost every BJJ forum and review site recommends this book every time someone asks the "What book to get?" question and for good reason. It is worth every penny so pick it up if you don't have it; you will use it for the rest of your life.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse