Echo Dot countdown boutiques-francophones Introducing Fire TV Stick Basic Edition WFM home Kindle sports Tools

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
21

on December 2, 2015
I cannot say enough good things about this book. As a child psychologist it is one of the few books I recommend widely, and I believe that it should be required reading for every professional who works in a school setting. This book provides very important and useful information for those working with children who are experiencing behavioral difficulties at school. It would also be useful to parents who need to advocate for their children at school. If you are looking for an effective way to work with these children, I highly recommend this book! Parents may also be interested in the book Ross Greene has written for parents of children with significant behavioural difficulties (The Explosive Child), as it addresses the same ideas within the context of the home environment.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2017
It really helped with our kid. Totally recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2017
Good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2016
It is a must-read for all parents, teachers, child care workers and anyone who wants to solve problem more effectively with someone less conversant with the issues at hand. The conversations scenarios are based on realistic situations and they give the readers hope that there is another way to help a challenged child to reach a positive outcome at any age. They are great ways to illustrate how effective CPS can be achieved and provide tools for the adults to practice with. I particularly like the chapter on family dynamics. It drives home the importance of the parents as nurturers of the child's sense of self-worth and the home needs to be a place of empathy and unconditional acceptance for a child who has lagging skills.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2017
I have been to Dr. Greene's workshop and I'm beginning to implement his program in my school. This book helped me clarify some of the things that we need to work on and is a good resource to use when stuck on how to implement the plan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2011
For anyone who thinks that outdated discipline practices (for example, a heavy reliance on consequences, especially punishment) are the the way to go for helping challenging kids, you'll think differently after reading this book. It will change the way you view children's problems and also change the way you treat them. This shows you effective ways of how to help challenging kids with their lagging skills and unsolved problems. A must read for teachers!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2010
What a fantastic book for educators. If you have children with behaviour issues, you NEED to read this book. It will give you some insight into why they behave the way they behave. It may not give all the answers, but it certainly gives you some wonderful guidelines.
I encourage every teacher to read it. Even parents can read it, although it is more geared for teachers. If you're a parent, read the "companion" book, The Explosive Child, by the same author.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2010
This is a great resource for all individuals who work in the school environment. Provides insite and knowledge into why traditional behavior modification programs don't always work and a new way of working with students that exhibit challanging behaviors.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2015
This is a book recommended to me (a developmental pediatrician by teachers. I am so glad that there is a change of philosophy occurring among teaching staff and less reliance on medications as solutions for behavioral problems.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2014
This book should be a must read for all teachers. It is fast read but a great help to understand how to work with kids that act first and think after.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here