countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Home All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
165
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$9.86+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 24, 2007
Artemis Fowl the Second has a brilliant plan--one last scheme to make his family some money, then he'll leave the crime life behind him and turn over a new leaf. Everything starts out fine, with Artemis meeting with billionaire businessman Jon Spiro to discuss a mutually agreeable arrangement. Artemis, you see, has developed the C Cube, a mini-supercomputer that can do almost anything. For the right price, Artemis will withhold releasing the Cube to the public to allow Spiro's company to catch up in the technology world. All seems well, until Spiro steals the Cube, his bodyguard, Blunt, fatally wounds Butler, and Artemis is left wondering how it all went wrong.

What follows is Artemis's desperate plea to the fairies to help heal Butler and rescue the C Cube from evil Spiro, before he becomes aware of the Fairy World and wreaks havoc on the creatures living below ground. As Captain Holly Short is once again drawn into one of Artemis's dangerous schemes, she does so, along with Commander Root, with one condition--when the C Cube is recovered, Artemis, Butler, and Butler's sister, Juliet, will all submit to mind wipes, erasing every trace of the fairies from their memories. Artemis agrees, desperate to save Butler's life, but already he has plans to avoid the erasure of a mind wipe.

THE ETERNITY CODE contains a lot more action-adventure than the two previous books, and a lot less of the world of Fairy. It is, though, still a very fast-paced, enjoyable read, and I'm left wanting to know what will happen next. Thoroughly entertaining, and highly recommended.

Reviewed by: Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2007
Have you ever had one of those days when everything seems to go wrong?. Well, this book starts with Artemis Fowl (extremely young irredeemable criminal) having just one of those days :)

The problem arises from the fact that despite all the precautions taken by the fairies Artemis managed to steal fairy technology, and to build with it something called the "C Cube", an artefact so revolutionary that could ruin many businessmen. Being certain of that, Artemis tries to blackmail Jon Spiro, saying that he will wait another year to launch the "C Cube" if Spiro gives him a lot of gold. Unfortunately, things go wrong at their meeting: Artemis is almost killed, his bodyguard and friend is fatally wounded, and Spiro steals the "C Cube". What can Artemis do, when all seems lost?. Could he possibly get the help of the fairies, even though he stole from them the technology to make the "C Cube"?. And if so, under which provisions?.

Too many questions, don't you think?. I believe that you should find the answers by yourself. I can tell you something, though. Get prepared for another great adventure of Artemis and his "friends/associates/whatever"!!!. Get hold of "The Eternity Code", and have fun!!! :)

Belen Alcat
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2006
Artemis Fowl
The Opal Deception

After “Artemis Fowl the Eternity Code”, a spectacular new book was released to continue with this exciting series by Eoin Colfer. This book I’m talking about is “Artemis Fowl the Opal Deception”. In this book there are new laughs, a new adventure, and new characters and old characters. You may not recall this particular villain because she was sent to prison before the Artemis Fowl series was started. Her name is Opal Koboi. In this book Opal has escaped from prison and now she is killing people who sent her to jail. It is up to Holy to find Artemis and get his memory back before Opal kills her and Artemis.
This book is set in modern time, a year after Artemis is brain washed. What brain washed means is that someone loses all of their memory or what the person who is doing the brain washing wants erased. The person who got brain washed continues on with life as before, not remembering what memory has lost. Most books have good V.S. evil but in this book it's bad partnering up with good to eliminate evil. I think that someone who is “bad” partnering with good is really interesting because it is interesting to see how they work together, interact, talk and respond.
The personality of these characters have somewhat changed since the last book. Opal Koboi is very impatient and always wants it her way; she is a very smart villain, so she almost gets her way all the time. Julius Root was very stern, but in this book he is more happy and open to Holy and Foaly. Artemis, the greedy little criminal mastermind starts to change in the book, he thinks about being just a regular boy, enjoying life and quitting crime. Holy’s personality hasn’t changed; she is still really focused on her job, but this time she is in grave danger. Holy is extremely focused on not getting arrested by the Leprecon police, finding Artemis and not getting killed by Opal Koboi. Artemis's dad is now talking to Artemis about quitting crime and becoming a better father. He also talks about the Fowl family becoming a regular family. Butler, now older than he was before is now slower to help save Artemis, but is still protecting Artemis as best he can.
The theme of this book is revenge. For example; Opal is out to kill everyone who sent her to jail. Friendship, is shown by Holy and Artemis depending on their friendship to save one another. Also, another example is if it wasn’t for Artemis’s friendship with Butler, Butler wouldn’t be looking for Artemis. Finally survival, this is demonstrated by Holy and Artemis trying to survive Opal’s treacherous plans to kill them. Also, it is demonstrated by Foaly trying to survive Opal’s horrible plans.
This is a fiction book because in real life a 13 year old kid wouldn’t be a criminal master mind, fairies don’t just pop out of nowhere and centaurs don’t exist in present time. This book is a very suspenseful book because it is very exciting, suspenseful, and descriptive and page turning. I think this book stands out because a bad person is actually our hero, in most books a “good” person is our hero but not in this book. I also think that Eoin Colfer has done a really great job on this book because the writing paints a picture in the reader’s head and the words make it very exciting. I also think that this is better than the previous book because it has more of a problem, more page turning and more excitement.
I would rate this book 9 out of ten stars because it paints a picture in my head, it had some funny parts and it had very sad parts. I highly recommend this book because it has an exciting plot, descriptive words, an exciting adventure and it teaches something to the reader. If you are some one who likes Eoin Colfer books, you should read this book. If you are someone who is looking for a new book to start try this book. Lastly, if you are someone who likes “darker” type of books you might want keep this book in mind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2004
This was the best Artemis Fowl book. It had more action, fairy technology, and cleverness of Artemis Fowl. I think it was the easiest of the three to catch on to. That's probably because this is the last one, where you know a lot already. I actually liked this one the most because of Fowl's cleverness. I didn't like that there wasn't much of Foaly in this book, only a little. Nevertheless, it was still great.
Artemis has used fairy technology to make a mini super computer cube called the "C cube." A multibillionaire, Jon Spiro, steals the cube and finds out that he needs Artemis Fowl to crack the eternity code. Along with cleverness, and fairy technology, Artemis Fowl bands together with Captain Holly Short to devise a plan to retrieve the cube and keep the fairy people safe.
I think anyone should read this book. I can't believe that the author thought up this amazing teenager. He must be a genius to think of a genius for Artemis. It's so great to finish the series and to see the change in Artemis. You have to read this book if you read the other two, to complete the series of Artemis Fowl, by Eoin Colfer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2004
Artemis Fowl is back for the third time, in the amazing book called Artemis Fowl: The Eternity Code.
After having rescued his father from the Russian Mafia, Artemis is glad to have him back. But he soon realizes his father has changed: from a greedy man doing anything for money to a person who cares and loves his family. He wants to make sure that from now on his family would not do any illegal business. But Artemis thinks it wouldn't hurt to do one more crime. Boy, is he wrong!
After creating the 'C Cube' Artemis meets an Amarican businessman named Jon Spiro. Intrigued by the C Cube, a supercomputer which is created from fairy technology, Jon Spiro steals it. After all, it is decades ahead of its time! In the action, Butler is mortally wounded and it would take a miracle to save him... Even fairy magic cannot fully heal him. The only choice Artemis has is to look for help from his old rival, Holly Short.
A great book. The ending is really surprising, with a great plot and many super ideas. If you didn't read the first two books from the Artemis Fowl series, I suggest you do before reading this one. I recommend this book to anyone, children and adults alike!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2004
The book Artemis Fowl: The Eternity Code has a great plot. It's all about Artemis, a 13-year-old genius, trying to get his newest invention (the C Cube) back from evil villain, John Spiro. This C Cube is no ordinary invention. The C Cube is a computer so powerful it will make all other computers obsolete! Not only that, but it has information about the fairy people Artemis said he would protect. Fortunately, he put an eternity code on the C Cube just in case something happened. The eternity code is so complex that no one but Artemis can make it work. The genre of this book is fantasy/fiction. This book is the third of the Artemis Fowl books written by Eoin Colfer.

My opinion on this book is that it's very exciting and will keep you guessing to the end. This book also has some funny parts in it that will make you laugh out loud! This book is similar to stories like The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe because you find magic within the stories. Basically it's a good fantasy book.
I would recommend this book to everyone! People who just really like to read, would truly enjoy it. So, in all I'd give a 10 out of 10, 5 stars, and 2 thumbs up! That's my review. I hope you will decide to read this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2004
In the book, Artemis Fowl the Eternity Code, Eoin Colfer, the author, writes of a thirteen-year-old boy that is very intelligent. The book starts out with the main character, Artemis, setting a deal with an American over and invention that he had just unfolded. Artemis, with a smirk on his face, thinking everything was going well, had no clue that his meeting was just about to go wrong.
Eoin Colfer starts the book out at a famous seafood restaurant in London, where Artemis tries to make the deal with the American. The American is sort of an evil man trying to make millions of dollars off something he didn't invent. Artemis is Discussing the proposition while everybody in the restaurant pulls guns pointing there barrels right at his forehead. Eoin Colfer writes that this was the first time that Artemis had been tricked in his whole life, feeling like a total idiot no even noticing all the strange characters before. "The only place I looked was straight down, trying no to make contact with any of the gun barrels pointed straight at my head" (Colfer 19).

The book The Eternity code kind of reminds of the old saloon fights, when there was two guys sitting at a bar talking about something when all of a sudden a fight breaks out. In the beginning setting where they are sitting down for dinner talking about the c cube, the same thing happens; all of a sudden guns are pointed just like a saloon fight.
After the first couple of chapters in the book The Eternity Code, Colfer writes of a man that is of great importance into finding the c cube. The man is Butler a slave of Artemis' who is the real inventor of the c cube. He will help Artemis realize that he might not be the richest and greatest man of all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2004
Artemis Fowl, Eternity Code
By: Eoin Colfer
Reviewed By J. Poupongtong
Period: 6
"Artemis Fowl,The Eternity Code" is a great book for ages 10-13. It gets complicated at first, but then it starts to clear up. This book is about a thirteen year old boy who has a family record of criminals. His father has a serious injury that can only be healed by Holly Short, a lep officer. The lep is an underground organization that is made up entirely of fairy creatures. The healing that Holly Short performed changed his father's personality and made him care less about his stocks and more on his family. Artemis is changed by that and is about to go straight just after he pulls of his biggest crime yet. This crime started when a meeeting with Jon Spiro, an american industrialist and also head man of Fission Chips, a stock company that is only trailing Phonetix. They were arguing about the C-Cube, a micro computer that Artemis made out of stolen Lep circuits. This argument ended when Arno Blunt, Spiro's bodyguard, shot Butler, Artemis's bodyguard. Butler was in need of a healing and Artemis called Holly Short for the healing. The healing toook some life force from Butler, making him about 50 years old. Now the quest is on to get back the C-Cube, but Artemis will need backup. Aided by only Mulch Diggums, a dwarf, Holly Short, an elf, Butler, Butler's kid sister Juliet(who is also training to be a bodyguard), can Artemis get back the C-Cube?
I liked this book a lot. You can see that this is clearly an adventure book. But this is also a science fiction, comedy, and action book. So you can also see that this book has many genres. This book's dialog is also funny. When Artemis says that quote" I'm here because this odious little man threatened to crush my skull between his teeth" is one of the funniest and smartest jokes that I have heard in all the books that I have read thus far.
The dumbness of pex and chips, two bodyguards working for Blunt is also very humerous. When Chips said" Wanna know why they call me chips" and pulled out a bag of chips AND pex didn't know why chips was called chips was very funny. Also this books has a very high level of vocabulary. The system that I've read at Fission Chips is very advance. Also, the vault that keeps the cube has five diffrent defences. There are a weightsensitive, thumbprint, voice, and eye scans. Also they have live security in an air tight room.
My favorite part was when Holly was trying to subdue four goblins. Eoin Colfer making the goblins have the ability to know how to launch fireballs was very suspending. The lep have a wide variaty of weapons including a Nutrino 2000, a nonleathal handgun, and a camfoil, an invisability cloak. My least favorite part was when Butler almost died. That part was also very suspending. I'm waiting for the fourth book and if you read this book, I think that you would to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2004
Artemis Fowl the Eternity Code
Eoin Colfer
C. Hannum
P.5
After Artemis rescues his father from the Mafiya, and his father recovers from his "sergery", he tells Artemis that he changed over the period of time that he was gone, and that the Fowl family should give up their live of crime. Artemis is willing to obey is fathers request, after one more crime. He must recover the C Cube(fairy technology) from Mr. John Spiro(the world's most wanted crminal, after Artemis) because Spiro is trying to crack the code of the C Cube while Artemis plots with the fairies how to get it back.
This book was a good book because of the suspense. You'll want to keep reading this book until you are so tired, you fall aslep with the book open. After one proble is solved, another begins, so this book is never dull. Artemis will never give up, even during the most horrible situations.
Holly(a fairy helping Artemis)is willing to do anything to help Artemis get back the C Cube because if someone finds out about the fairies, they will probaly have to go to war with the humans, and the faries don't want to wipe out the human race. Artemis and Holly show great amounts of bravery to each other even though they used to be worst enemies.
My favorite part of the book is at the end when Artemis and the two others (his Butlers) that know about the faries must be mind wiped. Artemis tries to convince the faries that he might do the same thing, but the faries won't listen. After Artemis wakes up after his mind wipe, he finds green lenses in his eyes, and he tries to know how they got there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2004
I'm not going to recap the plot since many reviewers have done that already. I didn't realize there was a second book, but having enjoyed the 1st and 3rd I'll definitely go back and check it out .... When I read the first book I kept comparing it to Harry Potter--after getting through the third I realized that it skews one's take on the Fowl books to compare it to Harry Potter because it's really not like those books other than involving some magic and an adolescent boy. This book was a high-tech crime adventure, stil adhering to the Fowl Rules of Magic, but not entrenching the reader in a compelte magical universe as do the Potter books. (Come on, you've said Alohamora when you've unlocked a door) Whereas the Potter books are set in modern times but retain an old-fashioned fairy tale quality (quills for writing, anyone? I'll take my muggle computer) whereas Artemis's modern world is more like that of "Misson Impossible." So forget about Harry Potter and his world for a moment.....
This book seems to have more sophisticated humor, social commentaries and pop culture references, and characterization than the first. I'm looking forward to reading the 2nd book and seeing what I missed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse