countdown boutiques-francophones Luxury Beauty Kindle home Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
166
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$9.77+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 15, 2012
I recently ordered The time paradox and The Opal deception from this series. Both are in good shape and brand new. Only thing I'd point out : The Opal deception hardcover doesn't have the same cover as the one shown on the picture. I specifically chose the hardcovers to get the orignal covers (without the characters and stuff). I won't return this item for a cover, but I must say I was disappointed to see it wasn't the same as shown on the picture.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2004
Artemis Fowl, Eternity Code
By: Eoin Colfer
Reviewed By J. Poupongtong
Period: 6
"Artemis Fowl,The Eternity Code" is a great book for ages 10-13. It gets complicated at first, but then it starts to clear up. This book is about a thirteen year old boy who has a family record of criminals. His father has a serious injury that can only be healed by Holly Short, a lep officer. The lep is an underground organization that is made up entirely of fairy creatures. The healing that Holly Short performed changed his father's personality and made him care less about his stocks and more on his family. Artemis is changed by that and is about to go straight just after he pulls of his biggest crime yet. This crime started when a meeeting with Jon Spiro, an american industrialist and also head man of Fission Chips, a stock company that is only trailing Phonetix. They were arguing about the C-Cube, a micro computer that Artemis made out of stolen Lep circuits. This argument ended when Arno Blunt, Spiro's bodyguard, shot Butler, Artemis's bodyguard. Butler was in need of a healing and Artemis called Holly Short for the healing. The healing toook some life force from Butler, making him about 50 years old. Now the quest is on to get back the C-Cube, but Artemis will need backup. Aided by only Mulch Diggums, a dwarf, Holly Short, an elf, Butler, Butler's kid sister Juliet(who is also training to be a bodyguard), can Artemis get back the C-Cube?
I liked this book a lot. You can see that this is clearly an adventure book. But this is also a science fiction, comedy, and action book. So you can also see that this book has many genres. This book's dialog is also funny. When Artemis says that quote" I'm here because this odious little man threatened to crush my skull between his teeth" is one of the funniest and smartest jokes that I have heard in all the books that I have read thus far.
The dumbness of pex and chips, two bodyguards working for Blunt is also very humerous. When Chips said" Wanna know why they call me chips" and pulled out a bag of chips AND pex didn't know why chips was called chips was very funny. Also this books has a very high level of vocabulary. The system that I've read at Fission Chips is very advance. Also, the vault that keeps the cube has five diffrent defences. There are a weightsensitive, thumbprint, voice, and eye scans. Also they have live security in an air tight room.
My favorite part was when Holly was trying to subdue four goblins. Eoin Colfer making the goblins have the ability to know how to launch fireballs was very suspending. The lep have a wide variaty of weapons including a Nutrino 2000, a nonleathal handgun, and a camfoil, an invisability cloak. My least favorite part was when Butler almost died. That part was also very suspending. I'm waiting for the fourth book and if you read this book, I think that you would to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2003
Colfer fails miserably this time around to present us with a reason to keep the pages turning. There's something boring about his "really bad guy set to dominate the world with a new, sexy machine plot" and Artemis is getting to be just a bit too predictable and boring with all his genius. The People have lost their magic and are just bit players in something that reads like a botched script for Mission Impossible III.
The dynamics between Fowl and The People remain entirely unchanged and unimaginative; Holly and Foaly hate him/love him/help him - surprise, surprise, surprise. The stereotypical goons, the painfully failed attempts at "smart" dialogue, and the crappy two-dimensional character that is Butler's sister Julie cannot alter the fact that this is just another boring high-tech caper. We've got Neil Stephenson writing those much better. While the notion of bad-guy-meets-bad-guy is promising enough, Spiro is just such a pathetically developed cliche of a figure that we don't really care what happens to him or who he manages to hurt.
The only remotely interesting angle in this book could have been the change for the better that appears to have taken place in Fowl's father, but Colfer himself appears so surprised by that twist that he doesn't quite know what to do with it. Instead he trots out Mulch Diggums and his flatulent getaways, a couple of new gizmos and some sadly predictable special effects. He can't even be bothered to kill off a single character to keep things moving - Rowling showed that much courage and more in Order of the Phoenix.
After book two I had expected Colfer's problem to be the fact that we were starting to like his bad guy crime hero too much, but instead we simply have no reason to care about him any which way. What a sad waste.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2003
I bought this book with high expectations. That's never a good thing.
Eoin Colfer writes as well as ever, and the book was a zip read. But I didn't find myself laughing as I turned the pages, not even a wry chuckle. True, humour is hard to achieve, and Colfer has tried but failed. But this book isn't even comedy, so I'll leave it at that.
The start of the book wasn't very engaging, although the pace picked itself up at the middle. Mulch's antics are as entertaining as ever, although some humourous approaches in dialogue (the thugs) seem a little too silly.
What dissapointed me most, though, was the finale. The climax was rather an anti-climax. There was no incredible moments of tension like in the previous two books. In the back of my mind, I knew Artemis would emerge the victor. In the previous two, I was sincerely afraid that he could lose the battle.
Although their memories are wiped, the epilogue sets up the scene for the next book. In my opinion, this would be a perfect place to conclude the series. If not, the most would be a fourth book to complete a quartet.
Don't get me wrong, this is a great children's book. Just not as great as the others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2003
Hehe. Once again we get to meet the boy genius of al time, and this time he is in for a few surprises. It begins with Artemis commiting the greatest mistake a villain can comit: He underestimates his enemy. Suddenly, everything is turned upside down,with Artemis racing against the clock to save his best friend, and finding himself in a situation were the tables are completely turned: Begging for help from Holly. Getting the most sophisticated technical gadget above ground back from a paranoid computer magnate with mob-conections is also going become a challenge, even for Artemis Fowl, and every resourse and every ally, Fairy and Human, is put to the test. Can he make it? Will he live? And, most importantly, can he save his mind?
The Artemis Fowl series has become one of my greatest favorites, and I bought this new installment as soon as I saw it on the shelf. Fans of Arty will love this story, but if you havent read the other two, than I suggest you do that right away. They are good, trust me. For while the Arctic Incident might have been read on its own, this one draws on to many old memories to stand alone. So, why wait? Catch up with Artemis Fowl. I guarantee you'll never meet anyone like him.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2003
This book, The Eternity Code, depends on the reader's point of view. Basically, why do you like the Artemis Fowl series? Was it the plot, the characters, or the idea of the story?
If you like Artemis Fowl for the plot, this particular book is very specific in some areas and patchy in others. The operation that Arty cooks up in this story is very explanatory. It tells how he does it, and mainly why. However, there are some areas that are uncovered. The C-Cube was a nice invention, but what happened to it? If everyone's memory's removed, why does Juliet suddenly go to wrestling, instead of going back to bodygaurding?
The characters are similarly patchy. Artemis is now more three demensional, occasionally feeling actual human emotion. You get sides of Holly and Foaly you have never seen before. But Spiro and his goons? Stereotypical images of big, strong people with little brains. And Spiro? Typical megalomaniac who loves to gloat.
The story however, was original. A child prodigy using his talents not to help the world, but to use them for criminal and personal purposes. Never has anyone seen a book portraying a mere child so precocious, so intelligent, and so like a Mob Boss. (That was the reason I wanted to read this book)
As I said before, this story depends on how you look at it. But the good things outweigh the bad. I give this a four.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2004
The book Artemis Fowl: The Eternity Code has a great plot. It's all about Artemis, a 13-year-old genius, trying to get his newest invention (the C Cube) back from evil villain, John Spiro. This C Cube is no ordinary invention. The C Cube is a computer so powerful it will make all other computers obsolete! Not only that, but it has information about the fairy people Artemis said he would protect. Fortunately, he put an eternity code on the C Cube just in case something happened. The eternity code is so complex that no one but Artemis can make it work. The genre of this book is fantasy/fiction. This book is the third of the Artemis Fowl books written by Eoin Colfer.

My opinion on this book is that it's very exciting and will keep you guessing to the end. This book also has some funny parts in it that will make you laugh out loud! This book is similar to stories like The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe because you find magic within the stories. Basically it's a good fantasy book.
I would recommend this book to everyone! People who just really like to read, would truly enjoy it. So, in all I'd give a 10 out of 10, 5 stars, and 2 thumbs up! That's my review. I hope you will decide to read this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2003
Arty is up to his old tricks! Those following the misguided adventures of Fowl will be pleasantly surprised by its exciting opening. It's non-stop, bang-bang action that doesn't relent its pace for much sentimentality and tears (as in novel two). Fowl senior is back from being kidnapped and has turned away from a life of crime. He expects his prodigal son to do the same, but thirteen year old Artemis has one more scheme up his sleeve, a last plot to revive the failing family fortunes before settling into a quiet life.
Artemis, using stolen technologies from the fairy people, creates the super advanced C-Cube. He's concocted a plan, as he always does, for relieving a shady mogul of his riches. Jon Spiro, meglomaniacal mastermind, said mogul, and all around bad man, outwits Fowl (much to the detriment of young Arty's ego) and steals it, intending to make further fortune. Unfortunately for him, Artemis has encrypted the C-Cube with his "eternity code", a language that cannot be broken. This, of course, is where the journey begins.
Colfer deftly intermingles past story lines with new, re-introducing us to old cast members; Holly Short, Foaly (everyone's favourite sarcastic centaur), Mulch (the criminal dwarf), Butler and his wrestling crazed sister, Juliet. He continues in his tradition of easy humour, less contrived than his previous novel (still, at times, head shakingly lame), but still chocked full of fun techie-rife laughs. The ending is very fitting too! Not unexpected, but written well enough that the reader greatly looks forward to book four. It's a series worth following, where our hero grows slowly in depth and relationships are more stolidly built. I, personally, await the next novel with much anticipation!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2003
Seriously.One of the best books out there.Even though it was less of the fairy world and more of the human world, one of the biggest reasons that the first and second one got so popular is still there.For once we don't read about the hero, but instead the anti-hero.You may not want to admit it, but it's true:You were first attracted to the series because it was diffreent in this point of view.Good against evil, but this time evil wins.Come on, by the last chapter you were rooting for Artemis.This appears as much in the third one as in the first.Even though he wasn't in the evil in the book this time, he still did things that any evil person would have done, such as breaking and entering.I don't want to ruin the ending for those who haven't read it, beacause that would really suck, but there has to be a fourth one!!!In case any of you find it, Artemis fowl New Windmills ISN'T the fourth, but the remake of the first. So, bummer(did i just say bummer?)to anyone who thought that the next sequel would be coming out November 30th, because ti isn't.Before I go, I will give you a hint for the ending of the third, but not a big one:Think Darth Varder turning evil again...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2003
The third instalment in the Artemis Fowl series is definitely a must read.
There. You can all go off and read it now. No more nail biting ¡®is it good or isn¡¯t it¡¯ anymore, let that stone sink and release the butterflies. It¡¯s all good.
The Eternity Code starts off with a ruthless American businessman stealing the ¡®C Cube¡¯ (read the book) from our ¡®hero¡¯ Artemis Fowl, Artemis then enlist the help of the fairies to steal the cube back. (Can tell I¡¯m not a spoiler, can¡¯t you?)
All your favourite characters from the previous two books are back (unless you¡¯re thinking about Opal or Cudgeon, in that case, no), some minor characters from before gets fleshed out more (Juliet) and others have been reduced to stay in the office. Artemis himself seems more mature and actually shows some emotions in this book. It¡¯s a good thing, you¡¯re going to love him.
Plot wise, this book twist and turns like playing a game of Snake. Although at times one wishes Eoin Colfer could give his readers more of a hint to what Artemis is going to do next. It¡¯s there, although the more obscure ones could only be realised upon a second reading.
And last but not least. How does it compare to Harry Potter? (don¡¯t be afraid to admit it, you know you¡¯re dying to find out.) It¡¯s got great writing and aimed at children. Yep, that¡¯s about it. It¡¯s a completely different story with completely different characters and it doesn¡¯t hurt to read both.
The bottom line is¡­ Bad guys are much cooler than good guys (Joking, joking). Really though, this is a fantastic book and worth every cent you¡¯re (or your parent¡¯s, grandparent¡¯s, friend¡¯s, whatever, we¡¯re not picky) going to spend on this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse