countdown boutiques-francophones Luxury Beauty Furniture Kindle sports Tools


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 9, 2017
very usefull
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2017
Perfect gift for wood collector
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2006
I found this book really helpful in detailing the various woods from around the world. I make pens and although our local hardwood supplier has many woods available, it is difficult to find help regarding tooling and finishing ability of some these imported woods. This book not only has clear pictures of woods (really helps identify these various imported woods) but will tell how you the tree group , best type of finish to use, and the work ability.
Also, some of the names used by retailers on their woods aren't necessary the correct name. The illustrations are so good that you can take the book with you to identify the wood by its correct name. To me the book is easy to use and makes a real asset to the woodworker who uses harwoods for turning and projects. I give it a five because there are so few books on identifying wood types, its hard to make a comparison. That said, this makes for a good reference for the woodworker and a fine gift.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2013
Neatly presented, a wonderfull reference book. The photography and text work are outstanding. The illustrations, even those in the preface serve their purpose very well. I only wished the author would have included an alphabetical cross-reference name listing as many woods are named differently and latin is not my forte.
This gem of a book should be used by anyone who has an affinity or a use for wood. Collectors, floor-makers, cabinet makers, carvers and turners to mention a few will find it most usefull.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2017
I researched for quite some time for the perfect book for my husband, who is a carpenter. He had always wanted a book that showed samples of the various species of wood in their raw and finished states. This book fit the bill perfectly! It is extremely well-researched and makes identifying species on antique pieces or planning what types of wood would suit a future project easy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2015
This book is a must for anyone who is interested in exotic woods. the information about each species is well organized and useful. Although I have only had the book for a month it has become my favorite resource for quickly looking up information on species i do not know. the only improvement would be adding more species.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2015
Satisfait du livre et livraison rapide.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2006
My first review. This book is amazing the title says it all
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here