countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout All-New Kindle Home Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
18
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$14.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 28, 2007
I used to do a lot of juicing in the past but it is very time consuming and really messy. My problem is over since I got Green for Life. Making smoothies is a great alternative to juicing. It is much faster, less messy, and you also get some fiber in addition to juice. In addition to great recipes for making smoothies the book is also a good source of information about proper nutrition, the importance of hydrochloric acid in the stomach and much more. Get this book!! Another great volume that you may not miss is Can We Live 150 Years. These two books together make a perfect gift of showing the way to healthy living just for anyone.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2013
I have read Victoria Boutenko's other books and have been living a raw food, green smoothie lifestyle for a few years so I find this book to be somewhat repetitive when held up against her other works. Her writing style is extremist, sometimes bordering on alienating and at other times just plain annoying. There seem to be many holes and contradictions in her arguments, which, while well researched, come off as scattered and incomplete at times. If you have read 12 Steps to Raw Foods, you really have no need to read this one too. Over half of the book is comprised of testimonials and questionnaires filled out by participants who took part in a short-term, underfunded study. The testimonials are written in such a way that each one takes on the same tone as Boutenko's own writing style, thereby seeming to be written all by the same person - Boutenko herself - and leaving one to question their integrity. In short, this book is a waste of time and money - not something to use to introduce skeptics to a raw food lifestyle, nor a book for those who are already converted. Spend your time and money on a better book, or better yet, put it towards a high quality blender.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2007
I was pointed toward this book by my Doctor. Because of chronic pain and pain medication, irregularity has been a real problem. This book contains great ways to get your GI working again... or for the first time... with nothing but food. a Vita-Mix blender is a must-have for great smoothies.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2009
For anyone that really wants to make a difference in their health this is the book for you!
Loaded with excellent information and a straightforward presentation this is a good read that will inspire you to take a few easy steps to take care of yourself better.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2011
Simply EXCELLENT in every way a book can be. I appreciate that the author has updated her original copy with new research, shares her own experiences in an open and honest way, and backs everything up with tons of research and scientific facts as well as including tons of recipes. Extremely informative. It was everything I was looking for in one book!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2011
The science is a bit off in this book but the message is good and I can see how having research to back up the claims would encourage many people - hence I see the need for the research she includes but she could be more accurate in reporting it. I can also see that there isn't much research for her to choose from for some of these things - like with vitamin supplements the research funding is scarce. Ideally she would have had a scientist in Biology or Nutrition edit the book - most of the problems I have with the book is that she makes strong claims when a more tentative interpretation is called for. Regardless, I found the anecdotes interesting and some of the information helpful and I think more people should be drinking green smoothies.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2012
A great book full of really useful and helpful info. A real find and I especially enjoyed the testimonies and the chapters on the importance of HCL and CHLOROPHYLL.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2012
I can't even begin to articulate how much this book changed my life. I've recommended it to several others and use it as a reference guide quite often.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2012
Easy recipes based on the wisdom of eating green in a palatable form. I never met a salad or green vegetable I liked.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2014
Good book for green smothies beginners. You'll have a lot of information about it and you'll learn how to make some good smothies to improve your health. This is true, smothies change life. Taste it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse