countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more scflyout Home All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
27
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$15.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 29, 2016
A short, easy read, but lots of good information in here. A lot of it is stuff you might be able to figure out or read elsewhere, but there were definitely a few things that were very interesting and explained nicely. A few of my assumptions were flipped upside down. I got a nice deal on a used copy. Well worth it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2015
Pretty good. A few terms are used without being defined so a newbie might need to go in search of definitions. Otherwise, a new improviser will learn a lot of the basics. A seasoned improviser won't get much out of it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2010
the anecdotes and examples of comedy are pretty hokey, but as a guide for understanding improv, this book is fantastic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2004
I think this book is a complete waste of time and merely serves as a lure to get people to take classes at the Improv Olympic theater in Chicago. It is incoherent and all it suffices to do is drop names the entire time. Wow, so famous people studied at IO then we all should. A complete ego stroke for owner Charna Halpern, but nothing new is taught here. Do yourself a favor, save the money on the book and actually go take classes. This is paperback trash.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2004
the author of this book is a laugh riot. I had a hard time getting past the name dropping and self congradulatory, over the top story telling. The information that comes later in the book is pretty good, having studied with some of the people Ms. Halpern refers to as if she gave them birth. You are never, however, going to learn the "Harold" from a book. Go take a class and get out on stage. Stage time is everything.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2003
This is THE book. If you'll only listen to its ideas about support and listening, this is the only text instruction you'll ever need. Then if you really want to test the waters go to Improv Olympic in Chicago or LA and take a class. If that's not possible, find a group of those like you who is willing to dare and find yourselves a coach who has been trained in long form. Learning methods of long form improv can change how you live and interact with others in a positive way. Challenge yourself to get over the fears involved with improvising. This is THE book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2003
This book has one major gaff. It tries to squeeeeeeze in the improv basics, while it teaches the advanced "Harold". I mean, improv basics are scaterred throughout this book like debris in an O'Hare downdraft. For example, environment, objects and emotion aren't covered until the end of the book. What's a new improviser to think?
I wish the progression of this book was more logical: Improv basics, short scenes, long form.
Long form improv is made up of short scenes, despite the mantra of disgruntled long formers who blast short form as "jokey". Long form is an advanced skill, with a foundation in the basics of short scenes, like it or not. (Long form proponents who pooh-pooh short form are a lot like haute chefs who scorn vegetables and meat.) Likewise, the authors here become so carried away with the magic of associations between long form scenes, that most of their confused neophyte readers would barely be able label who they are in a single scene.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2003
If you think "Whose Line Is It Anyway?" is funny, and that's the kind of comedy you want to do, then this might help. I personally don't care for that. I was just looking for something to help me generate ideas on how to think on my feet as a public speaker. I didn't really find anything useful in this book for neither public speaking nor stand up. This only seems to be geared toward group comedy.
I don't know what all the good reviews are about.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2003
This book provides a good overview of the skills needed to perform improv commedy, but you can't learn improv this way. You can only do that by taking improv classes and practicing. It's an old book, so it references several people who are dead now. It focusses way too much on one particular improv style, the Harold, and ignores the many other styles that have developed over the years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2002
To be honest, I don't know why I wanted this book. I had been spending a lot of time at ImprovOlympic and was even thinking about taking classes there, but I feared my wit wasn't up to snuff. Maybe I thought the book was a surrogate method of learning.
What I discovered is the book was a wonderful manual not only to 'how to improvise' but 'how to brainstorm', 'how to work in groups', and 'how to lead.' Little things like, never deny the reality being created and always add something, the 'Yes, and...' of the book, could be applied to many crisis management situations. Never debate what has been stated, always move forward.
Where is the comedy? That was something I was amazed to learn from this book. Don't worry about it. Sometimes people won't laugh, what is important is what is being created right there at that moment on the stage with the other actors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse