Echo Spot countdown boutiques-francophones Introducing Fire TV Stick Basic Edition WFM home Kindle Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools



on February 26, 2017
very helpful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 11, 2015
Nice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 12, 2002
Some people apparently liked this book because it didn't give away too much of the plot.... why were these people reading a guidebook? The Icewind Dale guidebook was amazing. It had a complete walkthrough that took you through all of the little nooks and crannies of the game and separate sections for every item type and creature you can find/encounter.
The main section of this book is vague journal entries that are intended to take you throught the major plot moments. This was an awful idea as a typical entry reads something like "We hurried through the cavern encountering countless skeletons, spiders, and mercenaries". That will get you nowhere! If you're reading the guide you wanna know what corridors you will walk down and exactly who you will encounter.
The main narrative ignores almost all of the little subquests in the game. If you don't take on a good number of these quests your characters aren't going to have the experience you will need to beat the game. The section on subquests is nearly indecipherable.
The most inexcusable sin committed by this guide is it's horrible maps. The maps are not no help at all. The map of the sewers in Baldur's gate will not tell you what you will find in any given room or corridor.
I usually buy the guidebook for any rpg i play just to make life a little simpler, this book was no help at all. the game's non-linear setup would be challlenging for any writer but they coudl have at least labelled the maps!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 6, 2010
I am having a terrible time getting through the Baulder's Gate game, and I thought this would make it easier. It does, but not by as much as I had hoped. I have found that the only really successful way through this game is hit and miss. The book just doesn't tell you enough about various problems to be meaningfully helpful. (I don't want to be spoon fed, but sometimes I might just as well play the game without the darn book.)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 24, 2002
This is an excellent guide! It has basically three different levels of "aid" that you can utilize as you play BG. You can get a general feel for the game and how it should go with the walk-through, you can learn about some of the less obvious missions that you might otherwise miss in the second section, and the third section reveals answers to riddles and how to kill various monsters. But there is still a ton of stuff the guide doesn't mention that you can discover on your own. I found this extremely helpful, and didn't think that it ruined the game at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 14, 2002
I use stategy guides to answer specific questions about games, items, and quests. This book is almost worthless. The maps and diagrams are too small to read and have no labels on any of the streets, buildings, or points of interest. At least one of the diagrams is of the wrong part of town. Many of the subquests are omitted and the ones that are included consist of one descriptive sentence. The book has no logical organization for finding anything. I have spent hours looking for some information on some aspect of the game without success or with very limited success. This is probably the most frustrating "Strategy Guide" that I own. I agree with John Ciko's review that much better information is available on the Internet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 30, 1999
This is a truly excelent strategy guide. Many of the features it has should be included in all strategy guides. Whether your a newbie to Baldurs Gate or an experienced player this book has something to offer. One feature that I truly thought was great was how they went through a walkthrough of the game (this does not have all the quests, so reading it wont ruin the game for you) with a sample character Diana Nightflame. Instead of the standard strategy guide that just has a dull section that tells you every secret, quest, and cheat it actually went through the game with a chracter giving you not only the info for hardcore experienced players but also a feel of the game for newbies. Another good feature is the ideal stat for class section in the back. What this does is give you a basic idea of what stats and skills you want for each class (fighter,mage,thief...). Although it is a truly great guide it does have one large drawback. Although it does go through all the quests I personnaly don't think it goes through in enough detail. The reason being I assume is so that you actually have some of the mystery to solve yourself. The problem is though if you are already looking in this section chances are you want to know exactly how to do each quest not just a small paragraph to just guide you along the right path. If what you want is just to be guided along go back to the sample character walkthrough and read that. Other than this minor drawback though this strategy guide is excellent and a must have for any Bgate player. Hope this helped:)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 26, 2002
I was very disapointed in the book. One of the main pieces of information I was looking for was how the ratings of weapons and armor work, ie is a 2D4 sword better or worse than a 1D10 sword or how about a 1D10+1 sword. The book does have a list of the weapons and armor but no ranking. Also the quests and subquests lack enough info. The maps are unreadable. Overall I was extremely disapointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 22, 2000
Quite frankly the only truly useful thing in this book is one page where is shows the area numbers for all the maps. So I threw it in the recycle bin this morning.
It doesn't show hit points of enemies or any of the statistical figures or descriptions of where to find things you regularly expect from such guides. The walkthrough is completely lame and what info there is, is diffcult to find.
I recommend you head to gamespot.com to check out Dessloch's guide to BG. It's about 1/3 the price and has absolutely everthing you could want. Also useful is strategy info on websites linked from the BG page.
Don't waste your money on this guide.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 27, 1999
I don't know what people are moaning about. A strategy guide should and does show you what to do. This does just that. Just because it doesn't hold your hand and point you through everthing, doesn't mean its a bad guide. There is a long walkthrough at the beginning that is not that helpful, because it's in a story format. After that it tells you a path to follow and a brief description of most of the sub plots. A list and description of mage spells, and a section for secrets. There is a list of how to create a perect character for each class, and at the very end a list of monsters and their hit points and thier level. What more do you want, it is a guide that relys on the fact that the person playing the game might be able to make thier on decisions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here