countdown boutiques-francophones Eco Friendly Cleaning and Care Furniture Kindle sports Tools



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 6, 2017
Despite a slow pace and obviously small budget, this movie has a lot going for it. The music is good, the settings are all great, and the doll effects come off legitimately creepy at times. This movie is not for everyone, but horror fans will definitely dig it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2017
Great purchase, a classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2000
It seems a lot of the old horror "B" movies have been coming out in the recent past on DVD. I've been building my DVD collection with the Massacre series and the like. Seeing this is the season for horror movies, I've been desperate for good movies I haven't seen yet. I've been scouring Amazon's reviews and purchased this movie based solely on previous comments by those who have seen "Tourist Trap". I have to say, I am not the squeamish type. I can watch "Dawn of the Dead" while eating King Crab legs. I watched "Tourist Trap" on DVD for the first time last night. And let me repeat myself. Eeeeeeeeeeeeeee. What a creepy movie. Chuck Conners is no longer "The Rifleman" for me. The movie has a bit of gore but leaves most to imagination. The Mannequin thing has been done a million times, but not like this. I don't want to spoil the movie for anyone, so I won't say anymore. Thanks to all the previous, positive reviewers that turned me on to this gem. My suggestion for horror genre lovers. Read my lips. "BUY THIS MOVIE". You can't beat the price. And if you don't put this flick along with your best top 5 horror favorites, you can beat on me via email. mkar@xtdl.com
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2001
Some films just fade away, but Tourist Trap has withstood the test of time and has justifiably becaome a cult favorite. Though not completely original, it holds its own with a sense of humor, genuine creepy moments, some very unusual mannequins, a brilliant score by Pino Donaggio, and the fun performances by Chuck Connors and the cast. Don't let the PG rating keep you away (though the DVD cover lists an R), this film proves that gratuitous gore and nudity are not needed in every horror film tomake it entertaining. Those elements are usually used to cover the lack of thrills in a film. Here, the scares are merited and effective. Plus, only Chuck Connors could carry a scene in which he has to share soup with a mannequin! A classic scene indeed. This film is a must for fans of '70s horror fare!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2004
This is one of those low-budget 'B' rated movies from the late 70s. Sadly, it didn't make too well at the box office during its release and was long forgotten and neglected around this time. Now, the original cult classic makes its way to DVD, with even clearer sound and picture (Though the picture quality is not the best, it still fits the horrifying atmosphere quite well) and let's not forget the interviews and commentary. I was not too sure about getting this or not, knowing that the film has gotten some mixed reviews but I'm actually very glad I did! Once I saw the trailer, I decided to take a chance. I wasn't disappointed! Some reviews here are claiming that this is ripping off Tobe Hooper's "The Texas Chainsaw Massacre", but really I beg to differ. Yes, it may have been INSPIRED by such classics as Alfred Hitchcock's "Psycho" & TCM and it may BORROW a little here and there (barely much was borrowed at all really, except for the killer dressing up in women's clothing) but this is a whole new and original story, people! What I liked mostly about "Tourist Trap" was the scary, nightmarish look and feel of a REAL horror flick and wasn't anything stupid and pathetic like "The Ring". I mean, people got scared of that just because of a video that looked like it was made by a bunch of stoners and a little girl crawling out of a television set! Oh, GIVE ME A BREAK! That's NOT scary at all! You want real (I repeat REAL) horror that will send chills down your spine? This is the one to see! And now for a quick plot summary... The story concerns five youths who take a summer afternoon drive (yes, it SOUNDS TCM but it's NOT!) and end up having their car broken down. Coincidently, an eerie wax museum is nearby and after meeting the owner, Slausen (given an AMAZING performance by Chuck Conners) they decide to check it out, unaware of the horrors that await! Mannequins suddenly come to life and begin commiting acts of murder (laughing and screaming insanely) while Slausen's mysterious brother, who lives right next door to the museum in an old house, holds the teens captive and terrorizes them with unspeakable horrors! The truth about the grotesque mannequins and Slausen's brother later unfolds, but I don't want to spoil it for those who haven't seen it yet! Sure the acting drags at SOME points, but it's not always everything! This is more like something you'd see out of your nightmares. If you're not too sure, rent it first and give it a try. Otherwise, if you're hardcore with the horror genre like me, I say go for it! I also recommend Tobe Hooper's "The Funhouse" & Steven Spielberg's "Poltergeist"! All carry the same style to horror and haunt you to the bone!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2014
Stay away from this release. It's missing 5 minutes of footage and has issues with the framerate. Check the forum on blu-ray.com for more info. The UK release from 88 films has the same issues. Tell these companies that we won't buy their releases if they don't handle them properly. You've been warned.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2004
This has got to be one of the creepiest movies ever! Forget garbage like scream and i know what you did last summer. this is real horror! a group of friends get stranded at a wax museum run by chuck connors. the wax museum is filled with these creepy mannequins who.. well im not going to ruin it for you! Watch the movie! I cannot believe i had never seen this earlier. From beginning to end this movie will have you on the edge of your seat! beautiful music by pino donaggio. ONe of my top ten favorite horror movies! Highly recommended. I watch alot of horror movies and this is one of the best! Just get it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2001
Like many reviewers have already stated here, "Tourist Trap" is the kind of movie you see as a little kid and have horrifying flashbacks of, even years later. It's a testament to this film's intense settings and mounting suspense that it's still regarded so highly today, because not much of it is original.
Director David Schmoeller, who got a tour-de-force performance out of Klaus Kinski in "Crawlspace," does the same with aging rifleman Chuck Connors. He plays Slausen, a lonely yet kind man who runs a curio shop in the middle of nowhere. A group of teens show up quickly enough with the requisite car trouble, and Slausen shows hospitality but can't warn them enough about staying away from a nearby farmhouse. In typically predictable fashion (once night rolls around, of course) the teens start to disappear and will--at one point or another--come face to face with "Davey," Slausen's alleged brother who turns his unfortunate victims into mannequins.
Sound familiar? It goes without saying that a bulk of "Tourist Trap" is ripped directly from "The Texas Chainsaw Massacre," but manages to stand on its own. The supporting actors make a genuine attempt to be more than one-dimensional mannequin fodder, Pino Donaggio's score is effectively creepy, and the settings are terrifying in their realism (the farmhouse populated with mannequins is the stuff nightmares are made of). Schmoeller builds suspense beautifully here, and for once makes the dead of night seem brilliantly unpredictable, instead of the opposite.
In short, "Tourist Trap" is as potent today as it was over 20 years ago. The remastered DVD looks great, has sufficient extras, and can be found pretty cheap (depending on where you look). This is a treat for genre fans--sure, it isn't very original, but you're not likely to see many films more intense than this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2002
A group of travelling youths become snared in the insanity that is Slausen's Lost Oasis, which is basically all you need to know about the plot of Tourist Trap. The first movie from Empire/Full Moon Pictures mainstay David Schmoeller (Puppet Master, Netherworld, Crawlspace, etc) is a strong debut, emphasizing atmosphere and suspense over the more gruesome setpieces which were beginning to flood the genre movies of its era, and it benefits nicely from an excellent score by Pino Donaggio (Carrie, Dressed to Kill) and wonderful Art Direction from Robert Burns (who has designed the look to other B-movie classics, notably The Texas Chainsaw Massacre and The Howling).
The Full Moon disc presents the movie in widescreen (but buyer beware, some tinkering on your DVD player may been in order, as the machine needs to be set on widescreen to do so) with a commentary track by the director (who also has a brief interview segment). Sadly the promised 40 trailers are a no show. The only trailers are for Tourist Trap, Assault of the Killer Bimbos, Cannibal Women in the Avacado Jungle of Death, Sorority Babes in the Slimeball Bowl-A-Rama, Slave Girls from Beyond Infinity, Petticoat Planet, and Charles Band's Parasite.
Most older b-movie fans will no doubt consider this movie a required addition to any genre library, and I second the strong recommendation Stephen King gave it in Danse Macabre. If you like creepy movies, this one is a must have.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2002
While traveling by car along a deserted road, Woody and Eileen's car unexpectedly gets a flat tire. Woody walks to the nearest gas station to find a tire and get some help, but is lured by the voice of a woman into the backroom of the station. Then he is brutally impaled by a large metal rod as things begin to be thrown at him by unseen hands and manniquins pop out of unexpected places.
Back at the car, Eileen is found by her friends, whom are also traveling. They drive off to find Woody, but are sidetracked when the car breaks down. While the boy in the group fixes the car, the girls head off to some nearby waterfall and take a swim. Soon, they are interuppted by the owner of the property, Mr Slaussen (Chuck Conners) who welcomes them to stay at his "wax museum" while he and the boy go to try and fix the car.
Eileen is fascinated by the house resting nearby, and goes to investigate, despite Slaussen's warnings. Slaussen soon returns, only to find that the girl is gone, and goes out to look for her. While he is gone, they go to the house to look for her. The other girl backs down, and goes back to the "museum", while the other proceeds inside.
The girl finds her alright- sitting in a chair in one of the rooms. But it isn't Eileen anymore. She's been turned into one of the manniquins! The girl tries to escape, but there is a maniac in the house with her, one dressed just like Eileen- and she must escape before it is too late!
What is Slaussen's secret? Is it really what you think it is? This movie can be pretty confusing at times, but you forget all about that. This house is just littered with spooky, creepy manniquins with wide, gaping mouths, and the accent is punctuated perfectly by Pino Donaggio's wonderful score. The movie is very dark, and the ending is super creepy. There is not any nudity or gore found in this movie- the thing that makes it scary is the amount of suspense found deep within the heart of the story. This may- in some way- seem like a rip-off of House of Wax, but it really isn't. It's a very original horror film with a great plot, and is one of the best movies ever made. Trust me, horror fans- don't be repelled by the PG rating- the suspense is all it needs to bring it to that higher level. There are plenty of shocking scenes to keep any horror fan's eyes glued to the screen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here