countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Home All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon January 26, 2015
Anthony Bourdain's Kitchen Confidential is almost a classic treatise on the restaurant business. Anyone who is interested in the back-door, clandestine secrets of the restaurant industry must read this. Anyone with a deep and soulful love of food should read this, anyone with a dark and sarcastic sense of humor should read this!

Tony's personality transmits seamlessly from written word to reader---he is well-spoken and cultured with just the right amount of vicious self-deprecation and distain for the world. He has been true to one mistress, it seems, throughout his life: Food. I share Tony's love affair and this book was impossible to put down.

Critically speaking, there was a little shifting around throughout the book so the flow was occasionally a little choppy. I didn't mind at all. I felt the book was the perfect illustration of Bourdain's true thoughts and feelings about his life as a chef. One day I'm hoping to meet he man in person, and hopefully buy him a drink. Or two. Possibly enjoy an oyster with him as well! Cheers, Tony.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2016
The book is really good, tells the story of Anthony Bourdain cutting his teeth as a pro chef, the highs (both kinds) and the lows.

The transaction itself was really good and the book arrived ahead of schedule
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2015
Gave e me a whole new perspective and respect for chefs and kitchen staff. and what it takes to run a successful operation at lightening speed every day. It is almost unbelievable that anyone wants to work in this environment! But I am sure glad that some do.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2003
Tony Bourdain's breakthrough book Kitchen Confidential invites readers into a world few have seen more than the tiniest hints of: the hectic, high-pressure world of the professional kitchen.
Written as an expose of sorts, many of the things Bourdain covers will shock the casual diner reading his book, from staff parties afterhours with lines of coke all down the bar to the reasons not to ever order the seafood special or get your steak cooked well-done. Primarily, the book covers Tony's life as a chef, from his drug-filled college days to stints at what must seem half the restaurants in NYC to his getting his life back on track and his success at his current job--yet the book is not a biography (unless of the industry itself); it instead offers on-the-mark observations on personalities, the business of restaurants, and the trials of achieving one's dreams.
While the book's subject matter is in itself interesting, what really makes Bourdain's book excel is his writing style: harsh, frank, and unapologetic yet still paced well and very readable. His descriptions leap out like something from a hard-boiled detective novel and make for an easy read.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2002
Are you socially incorrigible, substance-dependent, able to curse fluently in multiple Spanish dialects, have a high tolerance for knife wounds, burns, cramped spaces, no sleep, and people looking to stab you in the back at every turn? Well, if you are, and you're not interested in a career in piracy in Latin America, you might want to try being a fancy chef.
Anthony Bourdain's "Kitchen Confidential" is a salty, rambling, rambunctious love letter to the world of a professional chef and to the insane people who inhabit it, interspersed with some advice to the general public (such as why you should never order your steak well-done or a fish frittata, and how many knives you REALLY need to make all those hoity-toity dishes you see on TV). Bourdain gleefully jumps from describing his falling in love with french cuisine as a boy, to his experience as a junior "know-nothing" in Cape Cod, to what a typical day at Les Halles is, to a full-blown food and alcohol orgy in Japan, all at a pace that will leave you gasping for breath.
Not necessarily for the faint-hearted, but if you want to know what life is like behind your fancy dishes, this is a must-read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2013
I read Kitchen Confidential a few years ago and recently re-read it just prior to reading Medium Raw. These two books paint a great picture of Anthony's life and the journey he has taken - I have both read and listened to them and I find the audio book wayyyyyy better - to hear him tell the story, I couldn't stop listening. Hilarious, great entertainment- all foodies and self-procliamed food nerds must read- though, I am sure you already have.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2012
The book was riotously funny! It did,however, have some dark undertones which I found somewhat disturbing. Bourdain is indeed a gifted writer in addition to being a great Chef. I read this book from cover to cover and plan on re-reading it in the future. Anyone considering a career in the kitchen, particularly if you live in New York City, should consider reading it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2012
The book is just what it is, an insider's look at kitchen's and the people behind the food.

I was reading chapter after chapter saying to myself, "Yes, that really happens, it happened in a place I worked at!"

Anyone who wants to know the "real deal" in kitchens should read before venturing forth. Cooking is rewarding and brutal at the best of times. I watch his shows as well and glad he has kicked through the glass door. Its great for a few laughs for sure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon April 18, 2012
I totally loved this book! If one is a foodie, a gourmand, or lover of memoirs, one will thoroughly enjoy this rollicking, insider's account of the restaurant industry and how the author ended up as a highly respected chef who is a passionate about food.

This is a well-written, thoroughly enjoyable and informative book, replete with self-deprecating humor and any number of quirky and crude characters that can be found in the belly of the beast known as the restaurant industry. It is an eye-opening and engrossing book that will keep the reader riveted until the very last page is turned.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2014
The altruistic poet-chef regales me with his wonderful tales of delight dans la cuisine. An enjoyable and hilarious read from cover to cover, Anthony Bourdain is a delightful and sardonic bad-boy chef mechant. He could write the phone book and make it interesting.
I want more!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse