countdown boutiques-francophones Luxury Beauty home Kindle Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools

Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:$6.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 68 reviews(4 star). See all 372 reviews
on March 2, 2017
Quintessential to any well stocked library. And as a bonus, it doesn't take up much room. Any review of its content would be a pure act of hubris.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2012
Sun Tzu emphasized the importance of positioning in military strategy, and that the decision to position an army must be based on both objective conditions in the physical environment and the subjective beliefs of other, competitive actors in that environment. He thought that strategy was not planning in the sense of working through an established list, but rather that it requires quick and appropriate responses to changing conditions. Planning works in a controlled environment, but in a changing environment, competing plans collide, creating unexpected situations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2016
nothing fancy, good deal on a classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2017
A time tested classic, this book still holds well today and can be applied to many situations outside of just warfare.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2017
Very small book. Fast delivery!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2017
Very Interesting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2017
interesting read- reccomended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2017
Good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2000
This book is studied throughout the world in various languages, but it appears to have little to no effect on the way warfare is conducted. If our greatest Military leaders have been introduced to these precepts in War College, then why do they insist on permitting the unadulterated slaughter of our young soldiers in battle by using such inane tactics as the frontal assault? From the Civil War forward this insane tactic has dominated Military annuals. WHY? Sun Tzu would not approve of such waste. Any one interested in the Art of Warfare cannot deny that this book is the best. SunTzu's insights border on genius. Considering the historical time frame he was coming from, I would say his teaching is down right astounding. Read the book and find out for yourself. You will never look at the Art of Warfare the same again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2001
As an astrologer, metaphysician and VisionCoach, I have been recommending this book to my clients, most of whom are women and most of whom would never have considerd reading such a book as this unless I had pointed it out to them. I think it is a shame more women don't read this book. I have been a student of military history for many years and I understand that in many ways, life is war. This book, in such a beautiful new translation by James Cleary, teaches us excellent metaphysics in the most ancient of ways. Learn how to nip your problems in the bud, like the doctor's "famous eldest brother". Read this quick, easy and user-friendly version of a classic theory of prevention that has stood the test of time. And, please, tell a woman friend!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse