Echo Spot countdown boutiques-francophones Introducing Fire 7 tablet, starting at $59.99 WFM Furniture Kindle Paperwhite Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools



on May 3, 2017
Interesting book about the early start of social media. I expected more talk about facebook and twitter, but these platform gained popularity following the release of this book.

P.S: if you pay attention to the cover, the people come together to shape an arrow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 25, 2016
needed for school. was a fun read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 21, 2016
A fascinating read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 16, 2015
Big picture view of the transition from individual contributor to crowd contribution across various aspects of one's daily life. It is about empowering individuals that can individually do a decent job but as a group do a great job.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 31, 2011
Clay Shirky is one of, if not the smartest mind on what has happened since the birth of the internet. It's not the easiest book to get through, many of the examples are long winded and very thorough. Clay ensures you really understand why the internet will change how we communicate and organize as a civilization from this point forward.

The major message he has is that we can form groups much, much easier now. Because of instant communication, it really has displaced much of the power that was kept by hoarding information and/or technology. When everyone has access to the same knowledge as everyone else peculiar things begin to happen in society. Weird groups form, collective action becomes easier because the cost to form the group to perform the collective action is next to nothing.

Here Comes Everybody is an intelligent read and it will give you a different insight into the social media fan fare everyone talks about.

Jeph
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 3, 2011
Excellent service and would order from here again..!!Rapid delivery and product was in excellent condition. Thank you for great service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 29, 2009
Honestly, I had heard a good things about this book, I heard an interview with him, and was looking forward to reading this book.

I was pretty disappointed, it was more a collection of anecdotes and stories than a strongly argued book.

It was a collection of "Wow, look what someone did with social networking!" anecdotes. These kind of stories don't take a lot of effort and the end result is a muddy and unclear book, with few real lessons about the power of social networking.

Given that, it also will become dated quickly because things are moving fast in this area, so unless you read it really soon, it'll probably be out date.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 18, 2008
This is a book I could hardly put down. Shirky's style is easy to read ' you feel like you are listening more than reading. The content is fascinating to those of us interested in how technology transforms our behaviour and our society ' and if you are not already interested in such topics, you especially need to read it. Your world is changing and a lot of it is for the better and Shirky makes it very understandable. The book is full of well researched and relevant examples.

I found especially useful his discussion of the formation of networks and online communities. His description of the actual social capital thus created is compelling.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Change Masters
$27.62

Need customer service? Click here