countdown boutiques-francophones Beauty Furniture Kindle sports Tools

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
24
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$18.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 22, 2016
Rohr writes well and his concordances between scripture and the steps are useful to understand the spiritual power of the 12-step journey. Left at that, this would have been a great book. Unfortunately, Rohr seems unable or unwilling to constantly remind the reader that he knows better than other Christians, especially the church he is a member of. He also makes some serious errors interpreting scripture at times, preferring his own 'enlightened' interpretations. A little less hubris on the writer's part would have made this book a lot better. Perhaps Father Rohr needs to do the 12 steps himself to deal with that little resentment that keeps popping up in the book? After all, humility is the bottom line in 12-step work.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2014
The world population ( not just those in recovery) would benefit from reading this book. The message is one of love, kindness, compassion, empathy, service, and how incorporating benefiting others into who we are, expands and blesses our own soul. This book is spiritual in nature and exercises itself from religious dogma that so often sees through narrow self promoting sanctimonious blinders, while missing its original inclusive messages in the process.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2013
I really like this book. I am fairly familiar with the 12 step process but found Fr. Rohr's explanations and commentary most insightful. He has given me much to think on and I enjoy his writing style. I have also read "Immortal Diamond" which I would also recommend to those seeking food for thought and a different way of looking at one's spiritual life. Yes, he has taught me quite a bit.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2014
This is such a gift ... to those embracing12-step recovery AND to people seeking to follow the way of Christ. It out to be mandatory reading for every seminarian and theology professor alike.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2013
Purchased on the recommendation of my spiritual director. Read it on Lenten retreat and it engaged me with the Spirit in a whole new way. You have to read, meditate and do a bit of work. The result was literally life changing. A new sense of the closeness and love of God and a whole new perspective on the addictive nature of our western society. Recommended for people in and out of 12 Step programs.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2015
This book is disappointing because the story moves too slowly. The author takes a few too many liberties with details of the characters lives. She adds her own ideas about why the characters acted the way they did. I did not finish this book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2014
One of the best books on spirituality I have ever read. It also comes with a study guide [ free] for individual or better yet group study.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"Rebekah" is a wonderful addition to the "Wives of the Patriarchs" series, a book written with rich detail and heart-stirring emotion. I love the way that Jill Eileen Smith has brought Rebekah and Isaac to life, staying faithful to the Biblical account and yet forming them into characters with depth and uniqueness. These characters and their stories in the Bible have always fascinated me, and looking through their eyes as portrayed in this story has given me even more to think about. Never before have I considered that in the cultural context of the day, it would have been very difficult for Isaac to accept that God spoke to and through Rebekah and that he would be asked to trust a vision a woman had been given from the Lord. The author has succeeded in unfolding the story in a natural manner that would help explain why Rebekah played the role she did in helping Jacob deceive Isaac into giving Jacob the blessing instead of Esau.

Despite being very familiar with this story, I can say that this book is filled with compelling drama, and it held my interest from the first page to the stirring conclusion. As with the first book in the series, "Sarai", the author has put her skilled pen to good use, resulting in a book that is a pleasure to read. I strongly recommend this book, especially to readers who enjoy excellent Biblical fiction, and I award it 4.5 out of 5 stars.

Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2014
RORH HAS GIVEN US A WONDERFUL AND FULFILLING INSIGHT INTO THE SPIRITUALITY OF THE 12 STEPS AND
RELATED THOSE INSIGHTS TO THE CHRISTIAN SCRIPTURES. THIS BOOK IS MOST HELPFUL FOR THOSE WHO
ARE WORKING THE 12 STEPS AND FOR THOSE WHO COUNSEL THE SAME.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2016
Life changing insight for those willing to challenge their own assumptions of moral superiority. This is a treasure trove of revealed wisdom, that can only be accessed by fierce determination to accept one's own limited perspective and be moved to a position of humility and compassion. We are all made richer in this transaction. As Joan Baez so eloquently stated "Each new day is a chance to get it right, and let my little light rage against the night."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse