countdown boutiques-francophones Beauty Furniture Kindle sports Tools



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 35 reviews(5 star). See all 51 reviews
on June 28, 2017
Terry takes a book or two to settle into, but then you don't want to put them down. and you never give them away!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2017
Really great series. Only a few dozen more to go!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2017
Bought for my friend she loves it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2017
Fantastic book! I've never been disappointed by Mr. Pratchett. I've read almost everything he has out and they are all great books!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2000
"The Light Fantastic" is the second book in Terry Pratchett's popular Discworld Series. In this book we continue on Rincewind and Twoflower's journey around the Disc. Rincewind is the only person who can save the Disc from total destruction, which wouldn't be so bad except for the fact that he's the world's worst wizard ever since he can only keep one spell in his head. Every wizard from the Unseen University is trying to capture Rincewind, or at least Rincewind's spell, but Rincewind just doesn't know it. Accompanied by Cohen the Barbarian and an ex-Druid virgin sacrifice, and of course, the Luggage, Rincewind and Twoflower make their way back to Ankh-Morpork.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2000
The Light Fantastic is a great book to read and definitely VERY funny. It will help you get to know one of the main characters, Rincewind, of the Discworld series much better. Also, if you love Twoflower and his lighthearted and optimistic lifestyle, you will definitely love this book. Oh, and not to mention the ever-loyal Luggage makes some witty appearances too! If you've never read any Terry Pratchett books, this might be a start, it's the second book in the Discworld series. If you're a Terry Pratchett fan, you will definitely enjoy this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2001
The Light Fantastic is the second Discworld book, and fits quite well with the first one, The Colour of Magic. It almost seems like Terry Pratchett was just planning on writing a two part series, but if you look at the many Discworld books out there, that surely isn't true.
In The Light Fantastic, we once again team up with our old buddies Rincewind (or is it Dr. Rjinswand?!) and Twoflower, who were last thought to have fallen off of the edge of the world, but are now running from a high council of wizards, who want all eight spells from the Octavo to be recited to save the world, but alas, one of the spells left the book and jumped into Rincewind's head, kicking out any other spells Rincewind tries or tried to learn. We have here the first appearance of Cohen the Barbarian, one of the greatest thought out characters of all time, who, in my favorite part, teaches a deadly soldier how to hold a sword by telling him to, "Put your one hand here... yes, thats it, then put your other hand here, yes... and now gently thrust the sword into your leg!" Utterly hilarous. I laughed harder at this Discworld book than any other, and you will too.
If you loved the Colour of Magic and want to keep reading Discworld, this should be the next one. However, it may be a bit confusing reading this one without having read The Colour of Magic. In that case, read that one first. Either way, though, Pratchett does a good job at helping new readers understand the Discworld, no matter what book you read, he always starts out explaining everything you need to know so you don't get too confused.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2002
This is the second book in Terry Pratchett's series on the Discworld--a flat world, supported on the back of four massive elephants riding on the back of a planet-sized turtle; anything hilarious can happen here, and eventually does. Rincewind, failed wizard and reluctant bearer of one of the eight great spells of the Octavo, finds himself the center of attention at the end of the world. With a party of misfits converging on him, he must keep himself and Twoflower (the Disc's first tourist) alive--and save the world, if he finds the time.
It was on great books like this that Mr. Pratchett built his reputation! Terry's strength is the ability to run several stories simultaneously without losing the reader. Couple that with a hilarious storyline, and you've got a winner. This is a great book, one that I recommend to everyone!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2001
The Light Fantastic is the sequel to Pratchett's first Discworld book (The Color of Magic), and I definitely think it's better. The plot is (unlike in The Color of Magic) concentrated on one thing, and the thing is a bright red star that's approaching the disc. The two main characters are Rincewind and Twoflower, the two fellas that fell off the Disc in the previous book, and Twoflower's luggage, a box with weird temper. They experience many things that can only happen on the Disc, and some regular things, like meeting the Disc's greatest hero, the 70 year-old, Cohen the Barbarian, but the main idea of the book is them saving the Discworld from the red star.
Rincewind, an UU (Unseen University) dropout, has one of the 8 great spells the Creator left. The only problem with the spell is, it seems to have a mind of its own, and it tries to talk to him. And whenever Rincewind is in trouble, or a near-death situation (believe me, there's lots of them) the spell tries to say itself. He spends most of his time to save Twoflower from himself and the other part of the time running from people who want to get their hands on the eighth spell.
Twoflower is the Disc's first, and probably last tourist. He used to be an insurance (in-sewer-ants) agent back in his continent. He has quite a lot of money with him, and he keeps them in a box called the luggage. The one thing Rincewind hates about him the most is the fact that Twoflower believes that he can buy anything from anybody, even Death's living room clock.
Another thing pretty much everybody asks is "Should I read The Color of Magic first?" Well, I myself read The Light Fantastic first and still understood everything and got all the jokes. Pratchett does a great job explaining what happened in CoM. But no matter whether you read it first or even last, you're gonna have a great time reading THE LIGHT FANTASTIC, by Terry Pratchett.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2001
"The Light Fantastic"---actually a continuation of the saga begun in "The Color of Magic"---improves upon the original, abandoning the wandering storylines of the first book and hitting the stride that is to become familiar to fans of Pratchett's later work. And while this book, in terms of its focus and writing, in many ways stands apart from its predecessor, as another reviewer has stated, it is impossible to read the one without the other, the setup for "The Light Fantastic" being established in the first book, and picking up where that work left off.
Mike Stone has done an admirable job of encapsulating the action below, so I will not trod where others have gone before, except to add that we here discover the natural history of trolls, how new solar systems are born, and observe while Twoflowers instructs Death, Pestilence, Famine and War in the finer points of "a thing you put across a river," where time allows for the play of "Another Fondle," also known as a "Rubber." In addition, a perverse---and dangerously intriguing---variation of a pogrom is carried out, and we learn all about neck romance.
As with Pratchett's best work, the author once again here shows why he remains one of the most original voices in fantasy fiction. If you don't enjoy this book you'd best look over your shoulder: a black-robed figure is likely waiting to lighten you of your misery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$13.85
$13.85
$13.85

Need customer service? Click here