boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout countdown home All-New Kindle sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 14 reviews(4 star). Show all reviews
on September 6, 2003
First off, glamcabbit, Manga or books are not DUBBED, they are TRANSLATED!
Ok. Now that that is straight, this manga was really good. Ther artwork is great. The story is good, but it could be better. It just isn't as good as it used to be. Even Naoko herself said that she was sorry she was so kept up with the anime that she didn't really try to make the StarS series interesting (I think)
Anyone who can't have the Sailor Moon StarS anime should get this manga. It's not SO different from the anime, accept the Villians are SOOO much smarter.
This manga starts out with Sailor Moon fighting Kitty and the Sailor Starlights finally finding Princess Kakyu. Later on in the manga, Sailor Moon is left without Mars, Mercury, Venus, Jupiter, Pluto, Saturn, Neptune, or Uranus to help her. She then finds out the shocking truth. She is the target of Sailor Galaxia, the scout of destruction. Set upon rescuing her fellow Sailor Scout's Sailor Crystals, Eternal Sailor Moon goes to find Sailor Galaxia with Sailor Chibi Chibi (NOT SAILOR CHIBI CHIBI MOON! THAT'S ONLY IN THE ANIME!), Princess Kakyuu, and the Starlights. But Galaxia won't let Sailor Moon win that easily! Will Sailor Moon be able to get through all the obstacles in her path?
Unfortunately, this description might not be that good, considering I lost my StarS 2 manga in the Seattle Airport ! :'-(
Oh well. Hope I helped you!
PS Would actually be 4 1/2 stars, but I couldn't figure out how to do that! Anyone know?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2001
A'ight.. Rai is here to recap her reading time! Stars Vol2 was, I think, better than Vol1 because there weren't as many confusing *FLASH!* and *WOOSH!*'es, don't get me wrong.. there were plenty to go around.. ^^; just not as many in Vol1. Vol1 seemed to be forever leading up to Usagi and the main enemy(not gonna be a spoiler ^^)'s battle, and they finally start their way there in Vol2. So I'm glad to see some progress other than *FLASH!*, *WHOOSH!*, *KABOOM!* and *...WHAT JUST HAPPENED?* ^^;; I was terribly aggravated at the end of STars Vol2 because the ending is the only ending that has made me mad with desire to want to see what happens next! ARRGGHH! Now I have to wait for Vol3 to come out! WAI! I would suggest waiting to buy this until Vol3 is out.. ^^;; don't purposely drive yourself mad w/anticipation. ^^;;;; Okay, once again, I say, GET IT! The Stars series is GREAT! Certain peoples *ahem!* deaths.. turn out different than in the anime.. which I liked better.. ^^; but not that big a downside. ^^; Just less-dramatic, 'das all. ^^; My overall comment on Stars is get it, and make sure you get the SuperS Vol.'s!!!!! They ROCKED sooooo much! WAII!!!! ~Rai
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2001
The Sailormoon manga can't get any better than this... If you can't read Japanese, that is... Aside from the few mishaps (i.e. the name translations from "Usagi" to "Bunny", "Minako" to "Mina" (etc), and "Sailor Soldiers" to "Sailor Scouts") the Sailormoon Stars saga is Tokyo Pop's (or whatever they are now) best translation of the series yet. They aren't as censored as the anime has been; considering they kept Michiru and Haruka's relationship intact, the Starlights are still both man and woman in appearance, and the story is kept ENTIRELY as-is. Although I still prefer the overall appearance of the Japanese manga (i.e. the 'right-to-left' reading and clearer print, instead of Tokyo Pop's somewhat blackish images); since I can't read japanese, and also since the original manga is REALLY hard to find now-a-days, I am more than satisfied with the Tokyo Pop english translation. If you like Sailormoon and really want to read the original story, you can't go wrong with this version... As long as you can handle the few mishaps *be happy they're translating it at all, because this is actually made for a Japanese audience you know* ^_^
In this Volume: Bunny (Usagi) must deal with Tin Nyanko, another Senshi sent by Galaxia. Now that all of her friends are gone, all she has left to stand by her are the Three Lights, Chibi Chibi (who is revealed to be a Sailor Senshi herself), and a recently discovered Princess. Luna and Artemis are turned into ordinary house cats! In the future Chibi-usa is having her own problems! Bunny must deal with conflicting emotions of love and pain; and unfortunately through all this, the final battle in on the horizon. How will Bunny ever handle it all?!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2001
I absolutely loved Sailor Moon Stars book! It's the best one so far (I like Stars and Super S best) but something's... JUST NOT RIGHT! Who went to Borders, the actual store and bought this manga?? I did. And the cover is TOTALLY DIFFERENT, but the plot is the same. WHY is this? As a sailor moon fanatic, I LOVE SAILOR MOON ANYTHING, and I know a little Japanese, but I have no clue why the same store sells different books online and offline! Anyways, I agree with true fans--this book rocks! Not to give anything away but... DID MAMORU (Darien) REALLY PROPOSE TO HER, OR WAS THE RING JUST FOR FUN? It's weird, like I've kinda know Usagi all along and I'm seeing her grow and mature. In fics, they cut strait to the chase and marry her as a teen, but It's like after all she's been through, she's older and ready... Anyways I love this book--buy it!...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2001
This book is so good. Speacially the pics. Ok any way, this book is about the three lights, sailor Galaxia, sailor chibi chibi, and fake sailor scouts. And no, in this version Seiya dosen't have a thing for Serena. He only kisses her on the cheek;) The other sailor scouts, and I mean ALL THE OTHER SAILOR SCOUTS are quickly defeated. Sailor Moon is very lonely and concerned about Darien and the scouts because they're gone. She cries but is comforted by a misterious girl(I think is sailor moon grand daughter. They look to much alike not to be.)chibi chibi. Chibi chibi also saves the three lights' princess, but hides her from danger in an incense burner. I've been trying to figure how she does her hair. Well of course I'm not going to try it though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2001
well i have to say that i'm a little disappointed at the people who changed a few of the words in this book!!well i a little mad because they changed the theme of the star lights, why it was fine the way it was?? and also they changed the attack of sailor star maker from "star gentle illusion" to star gentle--well it was stupid but i cant remember right now, and, and they changed sailor lead crow (a cool name i think) to sailor red crow!! why RED isn't a mineral? i mean iorn, aluminum, tin,and gold? why change lead?? well at that point i put the book down, sad hu!?! but over all i say it was an ok, well good book and it should belong in a sailor moon collection with the others(unless you have all the japanese manga like me, hehe)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2001
I have read the manga and watched the show, but none fo the manga OR the dubbed episodes have come close to this one. I have read all the manga out so far of Sailor Moon, but this one is the best. I love seeing the original drawings, and in this roughly translated manga by Mixx and ChicksComix, it is the closest translation to the real thing. Of course, the names are changed from Usagi, Ami, Rei, Makoto, and Minako to Bunny, Amy, Raye, Lita, and Mina. But of couse, everything that ever was aime is Americanized now. This manga is a very nice intro to the Sailor Stars series, and I can only wait for the next to come out. If you have liked all the other manga, this next series keeps the series alive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2001
Sailor Moon StarS. A great book, but like someone else said I had to read it a couple of times to fully understand what was going on. Of course if your just starting out - read sailor moon series at the begining. This book is great - sadly it begins on a piteful note Darien leaves for Harvard (wow) and Rini leaves to return home to the 30th century. Then a little girl appears and Bunny is told the girl is her sister. A boy band comes to town and Mina goes wild - and to top it all off a bunch of wacked out sailor scouts show up - Sailor Iron Mouse?... Its a great book and Naoko keeps putting out great Sailor Moon stories -Keep it up!! Buy this book!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2001
Darien is planning on going to Harvard in the United States, but when Darien is about to get on the plane, Galaxia steals his star seed and has Bunny under the impression that Darien is safe on the plane. Then things begin to get weird, a famous music group enrolls in Juuban High, the school that Bunny, Amy, Raye, Lita, Mina, and the disguised Haruka and Michiru go to. Then, when Sailor Aluminum Siren and Sailor Red Crow have taken all 4 inner senshi star seeds, and it looks like all is lost for Sailor Moon, three new mysterious senshi arrive. Who are these senshi? Read it to find out!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2001
Just when things finally settled down in their messed up world,Usagi and the rest find themselves face-to-face with another enemy and Usagi is hit the hardest. Most of the senshi (minus three) die right before her eyes. She constantly tries to block out the memories and basically goes insane when she realizes that her friends are dead. I had to read it a couple of times to get just about everything that happens in this book and I would suggest everyone else doing the same. It really helps you to spot out things that you missed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here