countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout home All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
29
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 21, 2004
633 Squadron is a great war movie to see. I read the back of my DVD version of this epic drama and I saw at the beginning of the story that the movie was based on a true story in WWII.
The Allies learn that the Nazis are building launch pads for their new V-1 rockets to launch againist the Normandy invasion, but the one thing that keeps them from launching is a special rocket fuel that they need from fuel factory located underneath a mountain inside a Norwegian fjord. The only way to stop the threat is send a group of Mosquito bombers to bomb the mountain because it has a earth fissure inside of it. If the bombers succeed, the mountain will bury the factory forever. Can Roy Grant and 633 Squadron pull it off? You'll find out in this exciting epic war drama. I recemend it for war movie buffs and model buffs too. Give this movie a try, those who liked Battle of Britain, will love this movie.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2015
Excellent movie. My only regret is that our young people today know nothing about these events, including the Battle of Britain, the Dam Busters, The Longest Day, etc. So I ask them what school did you go to?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2004
Okay, I admit it - I excuse all the obvious failings of this forty-year-old film already noted by other reviewers because of the airplanes. DeHavilland's experience building high-performance airplanes from the original naturally-occurring composite material (wood) conserved strategic materials and produced the fastest airplane in the world for at least two years running during World War II. One of the few successful airplanes designed after the beginning of the war to be produced in quantity (over 7700 in dozens of versions in six factories on three continents), the Mossie is truly the star of this film. We may not think much of most of the scenes on the ground, but losses were a grim reality. The determination of the crews to defend their homeland and fight to liberate others while coping with their own fear and mortality shows us the best qualities of that great generation. Even if some of the acting was as wooden as the airplanes.
My biggest complaint about the show was the actual destruction of two or three precious Mossies (Robertson's two prangs and another plowing into a fuel bowser). I second the craving for better sound - for those of you who can't get enough of the sound of a Merlin or two singing that most beautiful and alluring of mechanical siren songs, visit [...] and go to "Donated Files." Scroll down to "Sounds," and get an earful. I turned up the computer speakers and played the "fly-past" clip, and my wife (upstairs in the bedroom) thought we had been buzzed!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2003
Well I am an American, but I love the British planes and movies. This cast I think is mostly British and do a splendid job of acting. A group of international pilots in the RAF band together to bomb a factory that the silly Germans stuck under a large rock overhang just aching to be avalanched. Even though that would not have happened they at least have plenty of Anti-Aircraft guns and thats factual. Perhaps a slightly exaggerated story premise, but very entertaining and it certainly gives an idea of the heroism of the RAF pilots during WWII. Anyway this is a fine film especially for anyone that enjoys movies like "The Battle of Britain" or "Memphis Belle". As pointed out one benefit is the opportunity to see the magnificent "Mosquito" planes and the beautiful scenery they fly over. Did I mention that the sound of a Merlin engine not only arouses WWII pilots. With the great musical theme of the movie and the acting of cliff Robertson you have a winner. Good point about the models used in the bombing sequences. After all we are talking 40 year old F/X. Star Wars is almost 30 years old and we can certainly see how those special effects are now dated. George Lucas even went back and changed the Death Star explosion to improve it for the re-release. It might be nice to see an updated version of the models in this movie but then we couldn't poke a little fun at them and our age since most of us saw this as kids. Great movie and I have pre-ordered my DVD copy. For you fans of WWII movies, "Sink the Bismack" will also be out on DVD this month. Another great Brit movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2004
Loved this film when I first saw it as a 9-yo ww2 airplane-crazy kid at a neigbors house, none of the limited special-effects taint it then, anymore than they did 'The Battle of Britain'. This movie is based on a book of the same name, I've never read the book, cant name the author, but the mission itself is an imaginary-one, but does reflect bits and pieces of actual Mosquito-bomber exploits in ww2: the mid-film raid on the Oslo Gestapo building to kill their own captured Norwegian-resistance friend before he can give it up under torture was resembling a job Mosquitos did in both Oslo and Copenhagen Denmark-tragically also hitting a school and killing many Danish school-children in that otherwise successful raid. One other famous Mosquito exploit was the aptly-named 'Jericho' raid on Amiens medieval prison in the French countryside, to blow -down the walls and release French resistance fighters held by the Nazis.This raid is imitated in the later film 'Mosquito Squadron', with David McCallum, which is a perhaps inferior film to this one, and re-uses some of 633's canned Mosquito flying footage.
The film is a fair-classic of the genre and like the even more atmospheric and heady (and true-fact) 'Dambusters', has a memorable and rousing score, this one by Ron Goodwin, who wrote many scores for war-films-this would be the best one, and is worth checking-out on your legal pay music download site, frankly(winks)
The comments by people here concerning the special-effects are true,as Ive attacked to some degree the special-effects of 'the Battle of Britain', 633 has more excuse, would have been far less ambitious lower budget. But the twin-merlin Mosquitos are as gloriously acoustically and visually British as Dambusters Lancs and 'Battle of Brits' Spits and Hurricanes.
And '12 Oclock High's Fortresses, one might add.
George Shakira's casting as a Norwegian Resistance fighter(or any Norwegian!)goes down as one of the casting oddities of celluloid history.
If you havent seen it before, youll like it, if you love good airplanes, airplane footage and sounds, it'll probably actually get you high.
The remarks I saw here about the rationale of the Mosquitos wooden construction being about shortage of aluminium, well, cant rule it out totally,without loking into it first, but would point out that the specially glued plywood skin obviated the need for 100s of flush-rivets as metal-skin planes have, resulting in drag,and loss of speed, and this aircraft was conceived to be fast enough to evade enemy fighters by speed alone, without the need for defensive or offensive guns, which the bomber and recon glass-nosed Mosquitos actually were unarmed, and Luftwaffe found it almost impossible at first and always difficult to intercept them, even when they could see them comiing. Despite being wooden, they were also regarded as a remarkably sturdy aircraft that frequently returned with major battle damage. The Mosquito was also one of the few twin-engined planes which was claimed could not merely fly on one engine, but even climb comfortably with one engine stopped and 'feathered'.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2003
The last time I watched this movie, it suddenly occurred to me that its climax can be best explained in Freudian terms. Perhaps the power of these underlying sexual connotations, along with the unforgettable music, is the reason why this part of the movie -- despite its Airfix special effects -- is so impressive.
The lead-up -- the usual subplots about love in wartime and angst over the possibility of making the ultimate sacrifice-- is mediocre to say the least, but once the squadron skims off across the North Sea to destroy Hitler's heavy water producing plant in Norway, you can't help getting swept along.
Those familiar with the basic concepts of Freudianism will observe that to get to the target they have to fly up a fjiord -- a deep, wet inlet with obvious feminine connotations -- and, once they get there, they have to franticly 'fumble around,' bombing a mountain until they hit the equivalent of a seismic G-spot. When this is done the 'earth' truly moves as an avalanche of rock thunders down on the Nazis. The only thing to do for the few survivors is return to base and have that post-coital cigarette!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2003
I was always under the impression that since many of the pre-war airframes had been built by furniture manufacturers; and that from the very beginning of aircraft specialist joinery firms had been involved. It seemed logical to use the capacity of the furniture and piano manufacturing industry to fabricate an aircraft from plywood.
This aircraft also used the renowned Merlin engine designed by Henry Royce as PV-12; and was a very fast, lightly-armed fighter-bomber which later became an aerial reconnaissance and pathfinder aircraft to guide in heavy bombers to target..."It was said that the 2 man twin engined Mosquito could carry the same bomb load to Berlin as the 4 engined Flying Fortress with its crew of 11. It also did it quicker and used less fuel... the Mosquitoes in the film were photo-reconnaissance models built late in the war. I suppose it would have been quite unique to have an American commanding an RAF Squadron too; especially as those Americans who did fly with the RAF as volunteers came through Canada as the USA was officially 'neutral' until Hitler declared war on the US on 11th December, 1941.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2003
This film seems to have attracted a number of interesting, positive reviews--there is little for me to add except to say that is is a fine World War II thriller, featuring Cliff Robertson, George Chakiris and a solid British cast in support.
Of course, the real "stars" of the movie are the Mosquitos--seeing them fly is a feast for aviation fans. Some scenes really seem to put you in the cockpit with our heroes as they train for their "mission impossible". There is also a fair bit of model work involved, and this is perhaps the only area of the movie that is dated. Special effects have made huge strides since the sixties--when these planes crash or blow up, it is not done in a convincing way for modern audiences.
Cliff Robertson is fine in the lead--later in the decade, he was to win an Oscar for "Charly", yet he has always been under-rated. His career certainly had it's "ups and downs"--in the seventies, he blew the whistle on a Hollywood executive who was embezzling money, and good movie roles seemed to "elude" him for a while. Clearly, he is a man of great integrity. It was nice to see him, after so many years, have an important role in the monster hit, "Spiderman".
George Chakiris aquits himself well as a Norwegian resistance leader. British character actors, Harry Andrews and Donald Houston, provide the mandatory "stiff upper lips" ! When the movie is over though, it is those fabulous planes that you remember most.
The DVD is widescreen, with decent colour for its age--the sound is mono ( imagine those Mosquitos in surround ? ! ). The packaging is very rudimentary, but I suppose this is in keeping with the low price ?
If you like war films with the accent on aviation, this one is for you. Try it !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2001
World War II adventure film about a Royal Air Force fighter-bomber squadron assigned to destroy a Nazi nuclear weapons research facility in Norway. Cliff Robertson headlines the movie as a former Eagle Squadron pilot in command of 633 Squadron with a colorful assembly of international pilots. They embark on the hazardous assignment with the target located inside a Norwegian fjord, guarded by an immense array of anti-aircraft artillery. Worth noting is the story was probably inspired by the real-life exploits of RAF Mosquito squadrons that conducted such dangerous missions, hunting down Nazi ship convoys along Norway's rugged coastline.
The real attraction of this film is abundant footage of authentic World War II-era De Havilland Mosquito bombers used for the movie production. The scenes of these rare aircraft in flight are a delight, especially since there the are no airworthy examples left in the entire world today (the last one was lost with its crew in a tragic crash in 1996). The model airplane special effects are too obvious, especially when compared to the quality of "The Bridges of Toko Ri" starring William Holden. Nonetheless, it's still pretty exciting and viewers can't help but compare the squadron's climatic attack in the treacherous fjord with "Star War's" Jedi attack on the Empire's Death Star.
The script and several scenes could have been better, but the authentic aircraft are worth watching. Overall a decent adventure, dated, but enjoyable if you're a fan of the famous De Havilland Mosquito fighter-bomber built of wood, and flown by pilots in daring missions that helped win World War II.
For those interested, there's a nice De Havilland aircraft museum north of London, England, on the actual grounds where these impressive aircraft were built. The original prototype Mosquito airplane, and another production model used in the later movie "Mosquito," are on display.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2000
Several reviewers are right-on-target here about the virtue of this film is its use of actual Mosquito bombers. The point is that by sacrificing weight by going to all wood, the mosquito could fly very fast like a fighter (self-defense against enemy fighters) yet BOMB targets. Its was the world's first fighter-bomber by design. The rarity of flying footage is that the aircraft was DISPOSABLE by design and the glue that held these planes together has fallen apart over the years leaving us only one plane left in flying condition!
What I derive is that today we could today build in war-winning large quantities (can't do this with expensive F/A-18s, Harriers) an inexpensive disposible "Mosquito" attack plane using composites like Burt Rutan's ARES "mudfighter" and have it as either manned or unmanned to perform attack missions flying from dirt strips or grassy fields like the 633 Squadron does for better response to our ground troops.
We should re-edit this movie with 21st century Mosquito model effects and see if it stands up to its copy-cat Star Wars "death star" fighter-bomber sequence?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here