Echo Dot countdown boutiques-francophones Introducing Fire 7 tablet, starting at $59.99 WFM Furniture Kindle Paperwhite The 2018 Canadian Music Awards sports Tools

Showing 1-10 of 17 reviews(2 star). See all 450 reviews
on December 7, 2002
I want to thank the reviewers who warned against this version on the grounds that it offers nothing over the VHS version. If you are an adult who loves the beauty of Miyazaki's films, you'll be disappointed by the unnatural English sound track of poorly translated Japanese dialogue and cutsified kiddie voices that sound like an amateur version of Saturday morning Smurfs. (the ONLY Miyazaki movie that recieved professional treatment in the English version was Princess Mononoke - 5 STARS!!)
For those of you that have REGION CODE FREE decks (or computers with software like "region free" that kills the code), I recommend buying the films from the Japan Amazon site.... Although slightly more expensive, ALL DVDs contain English subtitles and often they have the goofy soundtracks as well. They are also widescreen- not letterbox. Another plus is you don't have to wait - They're all available Now - even the newest Sento Chihiro no Kamikakushi-"spirited away", which includes English Subtitles)
Make no mistake. Miyazaki's movies are NOT DISNEY. Miyazaki does not paint his villains and heroes in black and white. Just as in real life, he shows that there is no such thing as pure good- or pure evil. Often the scariest character in his story becomes a subtle hero.
In short, I would recommend Miyazaki's movies 100 percent. However, for some reason, his best work is not being presented to the foreign consumers in its full glory.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 23, 2003
Ok, I'm a Miyazaki fan, we all know this movie is a masterpiece so there's no reason to bring that up. The movie easily gets 5 stars. The main concern here is the DVD. 20th Century Fox had very little to work with when they did this DVD. For those who don't already know, Disney has owned all of Studio Ghibli's movies since 1996. This includes My Neighbor Totoro in widescreen, Japanese, and anything they could hope to call an extra. That's why Disney is redubbing the movie and that's why this DVD has almost nothing on it and why they couldn't even remaster it. They worked with what they had and did the best they could. Of course, when Disney releases their version, it will have many more features(thought I don't think they will ever top this flawless dub unless they work their magic like they did with Spirited Away.)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 2, 2003
The movie wasn't meant for 4:3. If you want to buy a[n inexpensive] DVD for your kids, and if you only have a 4:3 analog TV set, this US region 1 release is absolutely fine. (The English dub is excellent.) Otherwise, stay away from it. Anamorphic widescreen versions, with English dub and/or sub, are available in other regions.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 16, 2003
I love this film, and the english dub is actually quite good. If you have not seen the film, watch it! BUT.. I believe Fox has misjudged its audience and created a DVD that I find lacking. Sure, its animated and made for children but I'm in my mid 20's and do not have any children and could not wait to get this DVD. I was EXTREMELY disappointed to find that there was no original Japanese language track on this DVD.
I know this sounds like previous reviews but I was so disappointed about the missing Japanese track that I had to add my voice here.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 5, 2017
Fun movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 13, 2015
Not one i could watch again. Perhaps it's just not my cup of tea.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 28, 2002
It's obvious that Fox rushed this DVD out to capitalize on the acclaim for "Spirited Away" (and to cash in before their video rights lapse), as this is the shoddiest treatment imaginable, a disgrace considering that "Totoro" is one of the greatest animated films ever made. The pan-and-scan transfer is the exact same one as on the VHS edition (released nine years ago!), and there are no improvements in image quality-- this is one of the fuzziest-looking DVD's I've seen, and it doesn't begin to do justice to the detail of Miyazaki's art. The lack of a widescreen transfer hurts the film greatly-- notice how, in the scene where Mei first meets Totoro, most of his head disappears off the left side of the screen when he yawns, or how the scene where Mei runs around picking flowers loses almost half the original image. The dubbing is perfectly adequate (though nowhere near as good as the job John Lasseter did on "Spirited Away"), but really, all anime DVD's ought to be dual-language-- those of us who prefer the original Japanese audio track should have the choice available.
The only reason I'm giving this disc more than one star is because any edition of "Totoro" is better than not having "Totoro" available at all. But if you have a player capable of playing Region 2 discs, get the Studio Ghibli import instead; it includes both the English and Japanese audio tracks (the subtitles are really dubtitles, but that's a minor inconvenience), a beautiful widescreen transfer, and a second disc filled with extras. Until Disney gets the rights and issues a comparable Region 1 edition, the Japanese release is the only way to truly experience this wonderful film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 21, 2003
My Neighbor Totoro is one of the greatest animated films ever produced (for children or otherwise). It is a film that devoted fans such as myself love sharing with children and friends (I even teach it in my Children's Literature class.)
----The delicacy of Hayao Miyazaki's tale of two young girls who must cope with the stresses of moving to a new house, neighborhood and school--while their mother is kept in a hospital for a problem they do not understand!--is extraordinarily well-told through delightful and surprising events and beautiful animation. That the girls need the friendship and support of their father, the neighbors and the Totoros (friendly nature spirits) is subtly presented and then heroically answered through Miyazaki's unforgettable imagery.
---But you'll have to trust me on that because a good portion of that imagery has been butchered away through the pan-and-scan process. Not only have the producers of this DVD version cut away much of the visuals but they have also left off the Japanese language track and given us a rather pale transfer.
----English speaking kids deserve to see this better-than-Disney film. They deserve to view the widescreen version and they deserve the option of hearing the dubbed version (if they cannot yet read) OR hearing it in it's original language while reading subtitles. A quality production would offer these things and more.
----This DVD offers a Masterpiece, but a badly Mistreated one----
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 24, 2003
This film is one of my personal favorites. It is far above being an average kids movie. It is wonderful as a children's movie; it is a charming and clever work of art enjoyed by adults as well. It is also a favorite among the many fans of its creator, Academy Award winner Hayao Miyazaki.
Such a shame, then, to see the DVD presented so poorly, in TV aspect ratio and in English only. The Region 2 version of this DVD is much nicer, offering widescreen format, multiple language selections, subtitles, and extras including a map to the Ghibli Museum in Tokyo. Why, then, must we in Region 1 settle for such a lazy, lousy package? Why bother with the DVD? This is like having a videocassette.
If you just want something to pop in to keep the young kids out of trouble, you can't go wrong with this fascinating, magical yarn. If you are a film lover, DVD collector, or if you are looking to pad your experiences with the art of Hayao Miyazaki, I reccomend considering the fact that there are alternatives to this poor treatment, such as the Region 2 version.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 17, 2003
I recently watched My Neighbor Totoro in its original Japanese language, in widescreen, with nearly perfect subtitles. It was a great movie, possibly Miyazaki's best in my opinion. Unfortunately, it was a bootleg copy and the respective studios got no money from my purchase.
20th Century Fox lost my money to bootleggers by issuing a substandard DVD aimed at kids. While I don't have an issue with them targeting children rather than older anime fans, they needn't have made a dumbed down release to do so. The only explanation for making a fullscreen-only version is that they meant for this to be viewed by kids, who are customarily distracted by the black bars. This could easily have been a two-sided disc at little extra cost, and they would have sold probably twice as many copies. The dubbing/subbing debate is less crucial, but since the Japanese language track already exists and the script has already been translated into English, it would have been a negligible amount of work to add subtitles, and would have satisfied picky anime fans like myself.
I will buy this movie from Fox when they decide to release the real version.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse