countdown boutiques-francophones Beauty home Kindle Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 9, 2001
In this video they are more grown up. They walk down the runway and model in different clothes and have a large audience. I know I would be freaken if I did that. They have really cool clothes and go to the FIDM (Fashion Institute of Design and Merchandise) They take you through a little about fashion and how it works. Its not all that accurate but it tells you a little. The songs are, Look at Me, Junior High, Gonna Start Something New, and Its Not Me but it Sure is You.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2003
The other reviewer for this item announced that they prance around in bikinis and give each other wedgies! They SO do not! This video invovles them being shown around FIDM by a friend's college-age sister. Fashion victims can find out more about clothes and M-K and A fans can watch and enjoy. It's really fun but their redhead friend and their tour guide are very strange! At the end, the twins have a very quick, FULLY DRESSED (!) fashion show and the whole thing is just fun.
Songs: I'm Still Me, Fashion Jr. High, Gonna Start Somethin' New and It's Not Me, It's You (in a clothes sense, as in 'It doesn't suit me, it suits you, you know.)
Mary-Kate and Ashley sing very well in this, they seem to have grown up with their voices!
Probably the best party video (I've seen six, the ones on Favorite Parties -which includes this- and Vacation Parties)!
By R, aged 12, England, UK
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2000
My little girl loves the Olsen twins. I myself have enjoyed watching them since they played on the television show Full House. We have about 8 Olsen twin videos, some older videos and some more recent videos. I have found most of them appropriate for my daughter to watch -- both fun and educational. However, this video I do not feel is appropriate for little girls (my daughter is 6 years old). I feel that in this video the Olsen twins have been "sexualized". The message and/or image they portray in this video is very different than what they have portrayed in the past. Yes the twins are older, but they are still girls/young women and are marketing their videos to young girls. If they continue to make products of this nature, we will no longer be customers or fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2000
The twins have always been cute and appealing. Now that they have outgrown the cutsie-poo, "Don't call me squirt!/No way, Jose!/You're in big trouble, mister!" stage, they are quite attractive young women.
Typical Olsen fare is a formulaic plot and a predictable happy ending. I agree with another viewer that this is really not for "little girls," as the twins are portrayed in a sexy light. This is not the fault or doing of the girls -- it is the money making machine/industry that the girls have been enslaved to since infancy. Due to their rapid maturation, the money makers have to craft yet another way to market the girls for their adoring public. However, I agree with that other viewer -- this movie is not 100% "family friendly."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2001
This video was totally inappropriate! I didn't like this video, especially the part that shows the twins dancing around in their dressing room wearing only skimpy little string bikini panties and bras! They're only 13 or 14! I didn't even know they made string bikini underwear in a size that small! They're obviously trying to be grown up, but this borders on child pornography. Why would anyone want to see a couple of adolescent girls running around in skimpy underwear giving each other "wedgies" (that means pulling each others panties up each other's rear ends really tight)?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2000
Mary-Kate and Ashley have been making videos forever.This movie was ok and they had neet clothes,I just hope that someday they will make a viedio without makeup or hairdressers just like regular kids,America and other countries need to see the real peole that they are ,just like you and me.I know that would be even better!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2000
I watched this video and I think it was great. I liked all the different outfits and clothes and the singing was fantastic. Personally, I think these songs are great and original. The acting was OK and if you're an Olsen fan then you should get this video.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2000
This movie was great, especially if you are into fashion. The twins clothes were awesome and the songs were great. I would recommend this video to all!I would definately have to say that this is one of the twins best videos yet. Buy it and then see what you think of it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2000
I recently rewatched this video with my now 4 year old, and realize that my prior 2 star pan (below) was unfair. The editing is a bit hyperactive, but the Olsen twins are very appealing, there is plenty of NYC atmosphere, and there are some not-bad songs and dance numbers. There are three speaking parts by real NYC Ballet dancers (playing NYC Ballet dancers). They won't win any Oscars, but they add a tone of legitimacy to this ballet party. The video is not bad as these things go, but it is too much for toddlers. Step up a year or two, and it is fine.
Here's my earlier review:
My 2 1/2 year old daughter loves both ballet and the Olsen twins, so this seemed like a natural for her. Unfortunately, the overactive editing of the sequences (cribbing, alternately, from the Monkees TV show and the movie Flashdance) make watching the video a real chore. It's a great idea for a video and the Olsens are appealing personalities -- but the editing sinks it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2002
My four year old daughter LOVES this video. She puts on her leotard and ballet shoes and acts out the entire thing while it is on and even when it isn't. A lot of people talk about how videos are destructive "babysitters" but the imagination I see my daughter using as a result of this video makes me disagree. Also, it is "only" 30 minutes long, so if you want to curb your little one's appetite for TV, you can pop this one in and it's over before it gets to be "too much." Order it and have fun!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse