countdown boutiques-francophones Beauty Furniture Kindle sports Tools



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 4, 2017
good item, fast shipping. A+++++
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2017
merci
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2004
The two best horror movies ever are Evil Dead and Evil Dead 2, nuff said!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 17, 2011
I wasn't sure what to expect with the Blu-ray quality of this movie. Some older movies don't translate so well to the new format. Especially the lower budget movies like this one. But I am happy to say that the video quality on this movie is far beyond what I had hoped. Only a few shots have much grain in them. Most of the movie is very sharp. Looks great.
I haven't got into the special features yet, but it looks like there is a lot there. I am very happy with this blu-ray. If you like this movie, it is worth adding to you collection.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Sam Raimi's "The Evil Dead" became a massive cult hit almost immediately -- but not entirely for the reasons he had hoped. Yes, some parts of it are scary, but it's also hilariously over-the-top.

So when it was time to give the world "Evil Dead 2: Dead By Dawn," Raimi decided to embrace the joke. Sure, it still has some horrific moments (possessed lady in the basement! Ash stuck down there with her!), but the movie is now being deliberately over-the-top for the sheer joy of it -- fountains of gore, quotable lines, chainsaw hands and laughing deer heads. And of course, Bruce Campbell has completely graduated into his memelike status here, as a demon-slaying mass of manly awesomeness.

It begins with a heavily abridged retelling of the first movie, where Ash (Campbell) and his girlfriend Linda (Denise Bixler) take a romantic vacation in a rickety old cabin, but stumble across a weird old tape recorder and the Necronomicon Ex-Mortis (aka, Book of the Dead). An evil force possesses Linda, and Ash is forced to behead her with a shovel. Got it? Onto the story!

After being possessed for a grand total of six seconds, Ash finds himself trapped in the haunted cabin, with no way of getting back to civilization. He's slowly driven insane by demonic hallucinations, and the undead Linda reassembles her very-rapidly-decayed body so she can attack Ash once more. This time, she bites his hand and possesses it, forcing Ash to take very extreme measures to protect himself. Think a chainsaw. Used for amputation.

Meanwhile, ANOTHER quartet of disposable individuals are approaching the cabin, led by Annie (Sarah Berry), whose father left behind the tapes on the Necronomicon. Not only did he leave the Necronomicon and the tapes in the cabin, but his possessed wife Henrietta (Lou Hancock and Ted Raimi) is buried in the basement -- and she wants out. More horrible killings, possessions and demonic evil ensue.

Despite having a few million dollars more, "Evil Dead 2" retains the same low-budget charm as the original. The story takes place in the same weird little cabin, there's a cast of about five or six people, and demonic possession is represented by some charming stop-motion and clever makeup. Sam Raimi has definitely polished his special effects with all that extra money (Ash talking to himself in the mirror), and has added a few for comedic effect (the laughing deer head, geysers of blood!), but hasn't lost the rough edges that made the first so delightful.

He's also dialed his directing up a few notches. It's still a horror movie with a sense of creeping dread, especially as we discover more about the Necronomicon and the undead horrors that come from it ("We are the things that were and shall be again!")

But Raimi fully embraces the over-the-top ("I'll swallow your soul! I'LL SWALLOW YOUR SOUL!" "Swallow this!") and in-jokes (Ash pins down his hand... with "A Farewell to Arms"), with plenty of delightfully quotable lines (... groovy"). There's also a lot more weaponry in it, since Ash swaggers through the film with a sawed-off shotgun (which he fires into demon faces) and a chainsaw that he ends up attaching to his arm. It is almost as awesome as it sounds.

This is also the movie where Bruce Campbell blossoms into the one-liner-slinging, larger-than-life, gun-and-chainsaw-swinging cult icon he is today -- he plays Ash as the kind of cool yet frenetic guy that every guy would like to imagine he would be in a supernatural crisis, and he is utterly delightful. The other actors do serviceable jobs as characters you don't know very well, but Bruce simply expands to fit the movie with no room for anyone else to steal (or chew) the scenery with such aplomb and charm.

"Evil Dead 2: Dead By Dawn" is one of those rare sequels that has more money and polished special effects, but doesn't lose what made the first movie so much fun. Instead, it takes everything that was fun... and amps it up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2013
First off, I have bought this movie twice on DVD before (the reissue with the 'UK' cover and The Book of The Dead Edition) so obviously I was VERY reluctant to pick up another version! The main reason I waited for a reissue on Blu-ray was that the picture quality of the original Blu-ray release wasn't considered great. The only bad thing I can say about this release is apparently it's not the correct aspect ratio (it's been cropped a bit to fit the screen for 16x9) and one of the much more notable improvements they digitally removed the stick that was attached to the 'flying eyeball' scene. That's a thumbs up from me and maybe a thumbs down from hardcore purists. But hey, Spielberg took out the reflection from the glass pane separating Indy from the snake in Raiders on the recent Blu-Ray release and most people didn't seem to care!

Aside from a bunch of lengthy special feature footage in HD (interviews and film clips are HD but all the other behind the scenes stuff is transferred from VHS tape) my one requirement for purchasing this movie again was that it had to have the commentary with Bruce Campbell, Sam Raimi, Scott Spiegel and Greg Nicotero. This commentary is probably my all-time favourite commentary of any film ever because it takes the MST3K riffing approach to making fun of it's own movie and it's HILARIOUS. I should also add that the picture quality is impressive and the sound is great too. An excellent package for Evil Dead heads.

Now bring on a director's cut of Army of Darkness akin to what MGM released in China only in HD and I'll die happy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2017
They are the perfect size, and look spectacular. Love them and get compliments all the time. Exactly what was promised earlier than expected Good design in a pretty box. I'm very satisfied with this purchase They worked and are beautiful!!! My daughter will love it! Very nicely packaged.Bought a lot of things are very satisfied.Very good seller!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2004
Immediately, when you pop in this DVD, it gives you the choice of Widescreen or Full-Screen, Followed by the statement, "Warning: This Film Contains Scenes Which May Be Too Intense For Persons Under The Age Of Seventeen". Bruce Campbell (NBC serial, "Generations", in 1989) returns four years later in this sequel to the 1983 film EVIL DEAD. Ashley brings a girlfriend up to the cabin where he was terrorized before. Something happens. Ashley plays the reel to reel player with spell on it. The evil force is released. Girl taken through window. Ashley finds her possessed. Girl killed and buried. Then the evil spirit gets a hold of Ashley, temporarily. He gets back into the yellow car only to find the Dangerous Bridge has been totally destroyed. The evil spirit won't allow him to leave and chases him back into the cabin and into the cellar. meanwhile, there are other people who have flown in just to get to the cabin. The tow truck man knows another road. Ashley is now fighting with the evil spirit and with his own possessed right hand. Plays like a "drive-in" film and uses special effects we have seen in "7th Voyage of Sinbad" and "Basket Case" Studio must have been given him an extra $100 for the budget this time. Followed by the third sequel, Army of Darkness (1993).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2000
I didn't enjoy this. I will admit the film has elaborate and original direction tho. But the story is bad and too much hokum doesn't entertain me. There is NO plot and many events and details just do NOT make any sense whatsoever. It is all so confusing and annoying.
There is only one good part of this film. The scene where the moose's head starts to laugh is pretty cool but everything else is just so dull and [bad]. I didn't have a clue what the [heck] was going on. There was hardly any blood, hardly any gore and a very low body count. How can this be a cult horror film?
Some of you may defend it and say that it is a celebration of low-budget schlock. But there is another movie out there that is the exact same. It's called Evil Dead. I know this is NOT a remake, but a sequel, but why did it have to be THE EXACT SAME THING all over again?
I think Bruce Campbell is a teriffic physical actor. As good as Jim Carrey. He was also the only actor in the film I recognised. If this film is so great how come none of them had a career afterwards? I think Sam Ramai is a very imaginative director and he did a better job with Army of Darkness and Spiderman. Okay they had bigger budgets, but that isn't affecting my opinion. Just forget this one. Learn from me.
The DVD comes in a great package, is in Dolby 5.1 and is anamorphically enhanced at 1.85:1.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2002
Little do people know that this movie is the sequal. Most think it's a redo of the first. But if you notice it takes place on the second night and not the first and might have a similar begining but the real story begins on the second night. This movie is amazing creative and filled with fun and scary plus comedy on a very dark level. This should be on everyon'e top ten list
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse