countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more scflyout Home All-New Kindle sports tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$56.41+ $3.49 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 1, 2002
I will restrict my review here to The Fly and not The Fly II simply because these two films do not belong together in terms of quality. And I CERTAINLY will not mention this film in the same breath as the original film The Fly, which was garbage.
The reason that The Fly is a masterpiece is because although it is focused in the world of science fiction, it never loses its grip on the human element. You can feel Seth Brundle's anguish at finally finding love in his life and having it slowly taken from him through his alienating transformation. Geena Davis' pain is equally evident in finally finding the man of her life and watching him slowly dissolve into something increasingly not human. The final scene where he puts the gun to his own head is gut-wrenching. Tears inevitably fall every time I see it.
The musical score is also excellent, bringing the anguish and pain of the drama forward with its recurring theme.
Yes, it's gory. But the special effects are irrelevant in contrast to the tragic drama being played.
See this movie and forget about the others. P.S. be sure to have a lot of Kleenex ready.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2003
David Cronenberg directed the remake of "The Fly". Actually, it bears little resemblance to the original. Cronenberg is the master of over-the-top gross-outs that nevertheless seem to fit the story. He has crafted a poignant love story, smeared with goo and ooze! Jeff Goldblum and Geena Davis fell in love for real making this movie, and it shows! They are totally believable as tragic lovers, caught in hideous circumstances beyond their control. Their bond is deeper / stronger than the horrors that befall them. Yes, there's lots of gore and mega-violence. Especially stuff like the infamous arm-wrestling scene or the finale. However, this is NOT your typical splattery monster movie! Goldblum and Davis go from passion and mutual lust, to true, agonizing love in a way that's unheard of in most, if not all movies of this type. As for "The Fly 2", well, it's not as good as "The Fly", but it's not a complete abomination either. There's no Jeff Goldblum or Geena Davis here. Eric Stolz isn't bad as the son of Brundle. The gore is ratcheted up, without Cronenberg around to give it purpose. I still highly recommend this double bill! ...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2004
The Fly must have been one of the single greatest films of the 1980's because it left us with quotes, parodies, and astounding visuals that would change special FX in moviemaking forever. Besides the makeup effects, It had terrific acting especially from Jeff Goldblum whose performance as Seth Brundle sparked my interest in theater. People ask me when i'm interviewd "What got you into acting and production?" my usual response is "The Fly". Sometimes I say Jeff Goldblum but this is the one that made me realize I had to become an actor. The humanism is astonishing in the screenplay by Charles Edward Pogue whom I would hire to write for a project any day. It takes a modern turn from the 1958 version in which the teleportation booths are now Telepods. The names and locations have been changed. The forging of the characters is also different and there is a better conflict between Seth and Stathis Borans. Seth and reporter Veronica meet at the Bartok industries party where new inventions for that year are being unveiled. The first shot of the film besides that terrific title sequence with the cell like colors and the beautiful main title begins with a shot of Seth saying "What am I working on? Uh I'm working on something that will change the world and human life as we know it." Then we cut to Veronica asking if it will change it a lot or just a bit. They then go back to Seth's lab for a demonstration with her stocking as the subject of teleportation. She is clearly astonished and starts to get quotes when he gets excited and says she can't write a story. Luckily for him, her boss doesn't buy it. Seth then propositions for her to live with him and record his process. They fall in love and make love like 3 times in which once after merging with the fly he gets her pregnant leading up to part 2. One night she leaves to confront Stathis for printing a story after he said he wouldn't and Seth assumes that she's running out on him and gets drunk. He feels that the pod's imperfections are worked out and decides to use the ultimate subject- himself. But a stowaway fly wants to join in on it too and the computer (one of my favorite pieces of the system) splices their DNA patterns together and soon Seth finds he is turning into a freakish, irritable 185 pound fly with one ill temper and dangerous enzymes that can melt through anything. So he directs his anger to Stathis who suggests an abortion and the murder of Brundle. But the newly formed Brundlefly won't go down without a fight. He sets out to find a cure for himself even if it takes killing Borans and sacrificing the life of his one true love to do it. This film struck me hard when i viewed it on the sci fi channel for the first time. I loved it. I loved the telepod system especially because of the construction of the computer, pods, prototype pod 3, and the backup generator (you see that in the background sometimes). I loved the computer's visuals on the screen and i wish more computers were made that way. But most of all I loved the stages of the brundlefly transformation. There needs to be a seperate dvd of this film with lots of bonus features, photos and the infamous deleted monkeycat/leg amputation scene. If i'm not mistaken, there is an online petition fot the special edition dvd release. That was the first film on the disk. Lets move on to the inferior sequel. The Fly 2 was pretty good to be so low budget and low in plot. Martin played by Eric Stoltz is pretty good for a kid raised to speak properly and in scientific terminology. He turns into a bigger, meaner, faster and more fake looking fly than his dad. He undergoes a catterpillar to butterfly like transformation but when he merges, he comes to get revenge on those who lied to him for so long with deadly results. I liked it pretty good. It had dramatic music and sequences and i liked the "I'll show you a magic trick you'll never forget." line. The idea of a bulletproof, acid shooting monster roaming around killing everything in an unescapeable complex is great. And he actually finds the cure. There were some pretty unbelieveable parts. Such as injecting water into the blood stream (...) I grew up with them. They got me to where I am today. I owe it all to a small stowaway fly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2004
Cronenberg's masterful remake of "The Fly" is, simply put, one of the very best sci-fi movies in recent memory. Much like his "The Dead Zone," it mixes a character's terrifying journey with a powerful love story, and manages to do so successfully. Poor Seth Brundle's transformation is disturbing, suspenseful, and gory indeed, but Jeff Goldblum and Geena Davis bring such conviction and sadness to their roles, your heart is pulled along for the ride. The metaphor of watching someone you love succumb to a disease which changes them utterly, is just as shocking as the mutations Brundle's body undergoes. Enough said. This is a great and powerful, albeit sad, movie experience.
"The Fly 2" is far less successful. It's always good to see Eric Stoltz, who is a strong actor with lots of appeal, and although his career has proven that he's not exactly leading man material, he comes close to pulling it off here. But the movie takes the formula from the first movie and screws it up: the gore is heaped on while the love story takes a back seat to it. Daphne Zuniga and Stoltz just don't generate the kind of chemistry and compassion that Goldblum and Davis did. Instead, the movie is basically an F/X vehicle. Once the two pretty young people hit the sack, it's pretty much downhill into head-smashing, face-peeling splatter movie territory. Too bad.
But Cronenberg's movie will live on forever; this two-movie disc is well worth the price for anyone interested in a frightening, suspense-filled human drama which doubles as a pretty darn cool horror show, even if its sequel is vastly inferior.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2003
This DVD is a double feature. The Fly (1986) is on one side of the disc and its sequel The Fly II (1989) is on the other side. Both films are in Widescreen. The Fly (1986) is a remake of the classic The Fly (1958), which two sequels were made, RETURN OF THE FLY (1959) and CURSE OF THE FLY (1965). Twenty-eight years later after the classic THE FLY (1958), this 1986 version stars Jeff Goldblum and his lady interest, Geena Davis. These two in real-life were a couple at the time. They have since been long divorced. This version is very different from the classic, more gore, heavy on the special effects. The teleporting is still there with just two machines with lots of smoke. It's a cool movie. Teenagers will like this, but I still think the 1958 classic is the best. The Fly II (1989) is a sequel, but is more like the son of The Fly. The son is played by Eric Stoltz (Mask [1985], Naked In New York [1994]). The movie begins with the baby being born. (Geena Davis is not in this one) Her worst nightmare, a mutant thing is delivered, however inside this mutant coccoon is a live baby. Stathis (played by John Getz as in the first film continues his role) watches on. They raise the boy in a clinical lab who by the way is a genius. Normal in every way, except he has a disease. The same one his father had. He ages more rapidly than the norm. He will be a teenager soon. As a boy, he sneaks in to Zone 4. He sees the lab people are continuing the same teleporting exercises his father did (as he will understand later). Now he is five years old, but his body and mind are of the age of eighteen. After viewing videos of his father (Jeff Goldblum returns in cameo appearances) he decides to continue his father's legacy and performs his own teleportation experiments. Beth, played by Daphne Zuniga (Stone Pillow [1985 TVM]), is his new friend. K.D. Lang tune, "Lock, Stock and Teardrops" can be heard here. This double feature DVD does not contain any special features.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2002
While I was growing up, I heard, in other movies I watched, references to the first movie. When I was old enough to watch horror movies, I decided to give these movies a try. It took me a while to get used to them, but now I'm addicted to them as, sort of, a fan of horror. I rented these all the time until my father got me them for Christmas. Some Christmas present, huh ? But I have made two important rules:
1. ) Don't watch these movies unless you really, really want to, because they're scary and kinda gross, especially with their amount of blood and gore, especially the second one.
2. ) Don't eat when you watch them.
For the first one, I will give 3 stars. For the second one, I will give 4 stars. And for this double-feature DVD, I will give 4 stars. This double-feature DVD works beautifully, although it doesn't have a behind-the-scenes or a commentary on both movies, which is a real bummer. I don't know what all the fuss is about on most of the other reviews of these movies that I've read saying the second one is no better than the first. I only watch the first one for when he turns into the creature at the end. That's my favorite sequence. The reason I like the second one a lot more is because, as, sort of, an action fan, it has action. The first one doesn't have any action at all. It's just romantic and dramatic. While the second one is not as romantic and dramatic as the first and while it also ups the gore factor quite a bit, it has action, which makes it a little more interesting than the first, even if it's not as imaginative as the first.
Howard Shore's music score in the first one is ingenious, but I like Christopher Young's score in the second one a lot more. The fly creature in the first one is cool, but I think the one in the second one is, like the movie is, an improvement of the first one. And the second one has other cool creatures, like the dog. I think my favorite sequence in the second one is when Martin comes out of his cocoon and goes on a rampage, killing anyone he runs into or who tried to use him and to get his revenge on Bartok, the man who tried to use him for study so he could make more fly creatures.
I think director David Cronenberg ( The director of the first one ) and Chris Walas ( The make-up effects whiz of both movies and director of the second one ) are some of the best of the best. And I think they did their very best with both these movies. If you liked them, I recommend the originals with Vincent Price: THE FLY and RETURN OF THE FLY. Look for them on another double-feature DVD. They're just as much fun as these are. All four of these movies are cool !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2001
I won't bore you with the explainations of these two classic 1980's horror films, we all know that the first remake of The Fly starring Jeff Goldblum was a classic to all of us who grew up in the movie theatres at that time. And sure, it's sequel starring Eric Stoltz wasn't as good as the first, but it did continue that great storyline started in that classic. So why buy this DVD? Simple, you get BOTH full-length movies on one disc for just the price of one! If you collect horror DVD's like I do, you gotta have that Fly! Do you remember when Seth's ear fell off? Of course you do. Or how about when the baboon came out on the other side inside-out? Ewww! And even the sequel has it's moments too, if you saw the dog scene, you'll remember. Now I must warn you, this disc doesn't have alot of extra features like a David Cronenberg/Cast commentary or a behind-the-scenes documentary, but it makes up for that with both films in a remastered visual as well as a 5.1 audio which really sounds incredible! So, if you want to see when horror movies had class with a great storyline AND you want the best bang for your buck, this collection of the Fly movies is buzzin' around just for you. So don't be afraid, be VERY afraid if you miss this one (or two, when you count it as two movies!)!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2002
the only reason i gave this 4 stars and not 5 is the terrible sequel included in this set. i give the first film 5, and the second bomb.
The Fy: This film is an extremly powerful story of an border line mad scientist, played by Jeff Goldbloom and a beatiful journalist, played by Gena Davis, and the hell they go through. Jeff Goldbloom plays Seth Brudel. A scientist working on a new invetion of telepoting objects from one place to another. once he begins to have success with his experiment, he takes the next step by testing himself in the machine. but as luck would have it, just before he is teleported, a tiny fly flies into the transporter pod and mixes genes with Goldbum. at first, nothing seems wrong. after Davis and Goldbum fool around for a while, Goldbum starts noticing changes. yup...hes becomming an 185 pound human/fly. and to make tings even more dramatic, davis gets preeganst DUM DUM DUM... great special effects and music. incredibly emotional when goldbum has to tell davis "you have to leave and never come back because...i'll hurt you if you stay" it sends chills up my spine every time. well, this movie isnt really for people who are squrmish from gore and bodily trasformations. still, in my option a wondeful love/horror/dramma. worth the dvd pack on its own.
The Fly II: well well well. here we have the obvious sequel to the orignal (since the first ends with a cliffhanger). this flick is about goldbloom's kid who is half fly and starts to change just like in the first. [bad] sets, [bad] acting, [bad] music, but i guess they had to make this just to make fans of the first shut up. i guess you'll have to watch just to see how it ends, (could it be a happy ending for once?) no where near as good as the first but see it for the hell of it. you might like it. :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2004
Let's start with the bad side ~ Part 2. Saw this one in the theatre with high expectations - but what a let down, even down to the Geena Davis lookalike birthing in the first reel. BUT like the Cronenberg re-make of the 1958 classis - only the Originals hold substance - the sequels to both the classic and the Cronenberg are somewhat insulting .... to everybody.
Cronenberg's 'obsession' with the disfurement of the human shape ["The Brood", "Scanners", "Crash"] has never been more brilliantly flung into the audience's face as with THE FLY, and the casting, acting and most of the rest of the movie is really superior. The love between Davis and Goldblum forms the backdrop to this tale of terror and metamorphosis - and the auditotrium squirmed many a time and looked the other way during the eating, and conversion sequences .... not even mentioning those who just left their seats for a few moments - then returned - shall we say 'lighter'?
NO, stick to Cronenberg's remake - this one goes way beyond five stars .... a classic in our time.
[And the 1958 original] the rest?
Get some imagination guys and write something worthy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2001
Okay, so another movie comes with it, a sequel I haven't bothered to see. So what? It's worth the cost just to have this, a film from the inimitable David Cronenberg.
To paraphrase the great Stephen King, on one level, "The Fly" is about how you'd like to see someone very close to you slowly and inexorably deteriorate. On another level, it's about how you'd like to see a disgusting creature use acidic vomit to turn your body parts to easily digestible glop. Yes, it's gory, although the real stomach-lurcher in the movie is about halfway through. But the gore is crucial to the story; this isn't a death we can discreetly turn away from, where the doctor comes out and tells us that despite all possible efforts, your friend, your uncle, your father, your son didn't make it. The climax is the equivalent of cancer coming out of someone's chest and working the room; something civilized society could use more of, in my humble opinion.
Denying death is a spectacularly bad idea.
I like Cronenberg because he's one of the few who can genuinely unnerve and be intellectual at the same time. He can really engage the old intellect...right before he nails the instincts. In a lot of ways, he's a master of misdirection. This is a deal, even if you don't like the sequel saddled with it. Snap it up!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse