countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more scflyout Pets All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
215
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$10.33+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 14, 2015
This record is a five-star classic, a masterpiece, that was destroyed by the 1997 remastering. Loud, compressed and unlistenable. The person responsible for this remastering should hang their head in shame. After buying this awful sounding CD I headed to the bay to find an original Anthem issue or Mercury re-issue circa 1989. I got the Mercury re-issue and it sounds bleeping fantastic!! There was absolutely no reason to remaster this record, except to generate more sales.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2016
The sound and the music is very god.

I don't give it a five because of the packaging.

No protection on top of the box set cover.

Received the main box set and album with a dent in it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2004
Canadian power trio Rush's ninth(and eighth studio overall) album entitled Moving Pictures was released in February of 1981 to fans whom were heavily anticipating a strong follow-up to the previous year's Permanent Waves, which was Rush's first Top 5 album here in the US thanks to songs like Freewill and The Spirit of Radio. When fans first went to the stores to buy MP, the artwork must have caught some eyes. The title of the disc Moving Pictures had monumental multiple meanings. First, there is workers actually "moving pictures". Then, there are people crying because the pictures are so moving. Finally, there was a film crew making a moving picture of the whole scene on the back cover. Plus, actual moving pictures of the band at their respective instruments(on the original CD, drummer Neil Peart's photo was missing, luckily on this remaster, his photo was restored). Also, Bob Ludwig(whom originally mastered the album), did a superb job on the remastering of this remastered version. All of the songs on Moving Pictures were written by all three Rush members except*(with Pye Dubois) and +(by Geddy Lee/Peart). The album starts at full throttle with Tom Sawyer*, which was talking about modern-day heroes and using one of Mark Twain's character as a metaphor and featured rapid playing by Peart, guitarist Alex Lifeson and bassist/vocalist/keyboardist Lee, whom was singing more and more in a lower octave on this album than previous albums. The song Red Barchetta follows, and is about a person who goes to his uncle's farm and discovers a car. The music picks you up then accelerates as the song goes on and then ends as it began by dropping you off at the next location. Next is YYZ+, an instrumental named after the luggage tag code at Toronto airport. That track was used as the focal point for Neil's drum solo in concert off and on for the next nine years after this track came out. The first half ends with Limelight, which was more of Neil's song about his problems dealing with fame and was more sensitive than Alex or Geddy were in dealing with autograph hounds and stalkers and was a Top 100 hit in 1981. The second half kicks off with the 11 minute epic The Camera Eye, which was the last 10 plus minute suite Rush ever recorded and is a classic and is split in two parts. First, we're in modern day New York and then we go back to ancient times London and featured excellent guitar work by Alex and synth and bass work by Geddy. Next is Witch Hunt, which was the third part of a four-part saga called Fear and is about dealing with prejudices and injustices in the world. Interesting fact, the mob rants at the start of the track was actually multi-tracked rants and raves of the three Rush members whom were acting hyper after drinking bottles of Scotch outside of the studio(Le Studio in Morin Heights, Quebec, Canada) and it was cold outside(below freezing) and the band were drinking and bellowing to create that rant effect. Plus, the song had album Rush album cover guru Hugh Syme on synthesizers and two drum tracks by Neil to create a synth drum sound years ahead of its time. The album concludes with Vital Signs, which would not have sounded out of place on a Police album and is a great track. Moving Pictures was an instant smash peaking at #3 on the Billboard album charts and selling over 4 million copies in the US alone making it Rush's biggest seller. Today, this album still sounds fresh and hasn't aged at all. This album belongs up there with The Dark Side of the Moon, Who's Next, Hotel California, Back in Black, Appetite For Destruction, A Night at the Opera and Sgt. Pepper. A classic!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
You can't go wrong here. If your a rush fan you know how great the cd is. I like Rush but I don't love Rush. In fact most of their 80's output i would be happy to never hear again. But when Rush is good they are Great. And this (along with 2112. Wow could you imagine 2112 in 5.1. talk about a record made for the format) is Rush at their best. This CD is solid from start ti finish. The 5.1 mix on the Blu Ray is great. Clearest you have ever heard rush. I really hope that this is the begining of a re-issue program which would be amazing. Snakes and Arrows came in 5.1 and it wqs great. Now we get the amazing Moving Pictures. Keep the 5.1 coming!! It really is like a whole new way of listening to music and with 5.1 or 7.1 systems getting so cheap you don't have a reason not to.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The great musical academic Tom Morwood once called this the greatest album of the 80's. I think he's right. Aside from "Tom Sawyer" (fer Christ's sake even Barenaked Ladies did a tribute to this song) you get such classics as "Red Barchetta", "YYZ", "Limelight", and of course "Vital Signs". This is back in the day when 7 or 8 songs made an album, and Moving Pictures' 7 songs are a hell of a collection.

Although the Rush catalogue was remastered back in '97 (or there 'bouts) this is the first Rush deluxe edition to hit the shelves. Unlike most deluxe editions, this one contains no bonus tracks. Disc one is Moving Pictures, remastered, and disc two is the entire album in hi-def 5.1 plus three music videos. Disc 1 has been remastered (yet again!), but don't fret -- unless you're an audiophile, you don't need to worry about that. The 1997 CD edition sounded fine, as does this. You're buying this for the 5.1, and if you can't play 5.1 just stick with the original CD which sounds pretty much the same to the average Joe Listener.

If you don't own this album yet, what are you waiting for? Any rocker with a sense of integrity owns at least one Rush album, and it may as well be this one. Although Geddy had brought the keyboards out, this album still represents the perfect mix of Alex's guitar and Ged's keys -- not fighting for space in the mix, but sharing it equally and powerfully.

The 5.1 mix, done by Toronto's own Richard Chycki (he's been doing Rush and Triumph remixes for years now) is pretty damn good. It's different. Listen to "Vital Signs" for example. It's different, the balance of instruments and vocals. Considering the origial stereo mix was perfect, and you can't fairly compare to perfection, I will just say the mix is different. It's definitely a great listen on a good system, I liked what Chycki did. Again, listen to "Vital Signs". What he did there just creates this amazing field of sound. There's a great separation of instruments. Rush were a great band to mix in 5.1, you can really hear the individual playing.

The music videos are old and don't look so hot, but here they are. I have always loved watching the "Tom Sawyer" video, Neil bashing his kit in Le Studio with that big glass window behind him in the dead of winter. The "Vital Signs" video is unreleased.

Liner notes are by David Fricke and are quite different from previous deluxe editions. They don't go into great detail regarding the making of the album nor the 5.1 mix, as previous deluxe editions did. However, it's David Fricke, and therefore a good read.

5 stars.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2004
This album is seen as one of, if not RUsh's best album and also as the transition between their first few CDs (which were more hard/prog rockish) and their more experimental future albums. Much of the praise that this album gets is well deserved as many of Rush's classics come from this album.
Since this is a Rush album, the excellent musicianship is obviously present. Neil Peart's drumming is amazing on this album as he creates complex rhythms and navigates the band's irregular time signatures with ease. Peart's lyrics are also interesting and thought provoking in some cases. Alex Lifeson's guitar playing is also top notch. He lays down some great solos and some classic riffs like the one in "Limelight". The final member of the group, Geddy Lee is also amazing on bass. He creates many great basslines (as usual) like the one in the instrumental "YYZ". He lays out some nice synthesizer parts too. His high pitched acquired taste vocals could take away from the album for some but I think they fit the music fine. They are more tolerable than those on some previoius albums which were even more high pitched.
1. Tom Sawyer: This is the most popular song off this album. It deals with independence and individuality. I really like the bass parts and the drums in this song. The song is quite catchy. Definitely one of my favorites off this album. Classic Rush. 10/10
2. Red Barchetta: This 6 minute song is also one of my favorites. The lyrics are about a future society/govt. that bans the use of cars. The character in the story is going joy riding in his Uncle's hidden car. The music is very good as are the lyrics. I like the vocal melodies as well. Great song 9.5/10
3. YYZ: This instrumental starts out with Peart tapping out morse code on his cymbal. The song then moves into a dissonant section before transitioning into its main melody. The extremely cathcy bass lines are really superb in this song. They pretty much dominate the much of song before the guitar solo. There are many mini bass and drum solos throughout the songs as well. Extremely catchy. Another favorite and Rush classic. 10/10
4. Limelight: Another amazing song. The lyrics are about fame. The opening guitar riff is superb and is extremely catchy. Probably the best on the album. I like the vocal melodies a lot too. ANother one of the big hits from this album. 10/10
5. The Camera Eye: This song is the first not so good song on the album. It is about 11 minutes long. I definitely did not give this song much of a chance and I should listen to it again. I just don't care for really long epics so much unless i find them really interesting. I think some of the guitar parts were catchy. The lyrics are about New York and London possibly. 7/10
6.Witch Hunt: Pretty good song. There is a sample of some sort of mob. Next is a nice synthesizer part that I think they got a guest to do. The music is dark as are the lyrics. The song is part of the "Fear" trilogy. Neil Peart said in an interview that it was about how fear leads to mob mentality. The lyrics are quite cautionary. It is semi political and seems left leaning. Not one of the best songs but still pretty good. Good lyrics. 8/10
Vital Signs: I didn't like this one. Sounds a bit reggaeish. I didn't really appreciate this one. It's OK. 5/10
Overall, I reccomend this album. The first half is really top notch but the last three songs were a bit less compelling. I give this five stars more or less because the first 4 songs were so good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2003
After composong bombastic, long and compicated progressive rock masterpieces ("hemispheres","farewell to kings" ,"2112")Rush slowly started to join the mainstrem ("permanent waves")
"Moving pictures" is another part of groups evolution.
"Moving pictures" also became one of bestselling and popular album by rush, and tere is still no explanation for it. in the beginning of eighties where new wave and synth-pop were on the highlights Rush shown that there is still a place for original, fresh and ambitious piece of Music.it's like they shouted ot everyone - "HEY! WE'RE STILL HERE AND WE ROCK!"
there are 7 songs here - about 40 minutes of music.
And what about music???
Rush made a new quality in rock.on this one they were still on their top - while members of the band Geddy, Alex and Neill were all genoius musicians and also talented composers they mixed radio-friendly melodies with progressive structures and really VERY HARD to play bridges and parts.
BEst example : listen to their hit single "Tom Sawyer" - after catchy main motive and verse we got a wierd keyboard and guitar solos along with angry bass guitar accompaniament, then chorus and verse and later also we have that strange keyboard thing...
what kind of a band would do that in pop hit??? even today???
or "YYZ" - the really complicated and rocking instrumental with NO-ONE-CAN-PLAY-LIKE-THAT bass,drums and guitar solos, without any really catchy parts, without any verses even, but it is still so interesting and "magic" that is really staying long in your head... all songs from here has got a "Soul" in it....
Classic rockers like "Red Barchetta" or "Limelight" with powerfull guitar riffs are great to listen at full volume and to listen it in your car while being on a road trip.I tell you that they can give you such a big kick of power that you will surely be singing and banging your head in rhe rhythm of the [songs!!!]
Rush is also creating very dark and intensive atmosphere in "Witch hunt" (about inquisition era) and "Camera eye" (long 11 minutes long epic tale about the people living in New york and london).
But in the end Rush is showing more smiling face with "Vital Signs" - synth-driven and new-wave influenced tune with very interesting and fun lyrics.
"Moving pictures" is still impresuive piece of Rock music.
The another fact about how great Rush is, is that this album is still sounding like it was recorded few years ago. i tested it on my friend - after listening to "Tom sawyer" (he did not knew this song before) he thought that it is from middle nineties or something close to [it!!!]
the fact is that it was recorded 22 years [ago!!!]
this is a great thing to record an album that is sounding so fresh and vibrant after so many [years...]
If you never heard of rush "Moving Pictures" may be the best introduction to their wonderfull music.
But be carefull not to listen it too much - once you will put it to your cd player it will be hard to turn it [off...]
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2003
Moving Pictures is considered by many to be Rush's masterpiece. I can't argue that statement. The sound they achieved on this record is pure. All instruments sound relentless in capturing sonic perfection.Rush had just finished touring for their last album Permenant Waves, and without taking much of a break headed into Le Studio to record. As a band I believe they were peaking creatively.Expanding upon a newer sound they had developed from PW.More synthesizers are being used.Neil's drumming is the most powerful, technical, creative,wicked, compositions to date.Geddy's bass playing is precise and heavy. Alex has perfected his signature sound.Wow!!! Awesome record!!!
1. Tom Sawyer- The most identifiable rush song ever.If I here this song on the radio I still get pumped up, turn volume to 36, and speed away. Classic raw energy rush. Neil's drum rolls during instumental section knock your socks off.Lyrics are cool too. 10/10
2. Red Barchetta-Awesome song about the beauty of joyriding in a classic car in the future. Song takes you away to the fuutuuure!!Band plays flawlesly. 10/10
3. Limelight-Song continues at classic rush pace. Trials of being in the spotlight and having to give up freedom for dreams of expressing yourself publiclly. The guitar solo is one of alex's best ever. 10/10
4. YYZ-Instumental that Jams. YOu listen to it you gotta move your body(preferably with a female rush fan) 10/10
5. The Camera Eye-Side 2- Their last long song jam. About the differences of london and new york. But both share a common beauty.The song flows nicely. 8/10
6. Witch Hunt(part 3 of fear)-Scary intro leads to keyboard heavy ending. About fear leading to mob mentality.Their scariest song ever. 8/10
7. Vital Signs-It's all about deviating from the norm. Step in a different direction more so like next album Signals. Snthesizer looped into song is rockin. 10/10
This album is flawless,and don't fear it definatley will have you headbangin. The definitive Rush album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2003
Moving Pictures(1981). Rush's 8th studio album.
Although many fans followed Rush through their wildly progressive 70s era, the early 80s era was the time in which Rush hit a gold mine of success. With Permanent Waves(1980), they condensed their songs without losing their intelligent complexity. It was simply Rush stylizing the mainstream, not vice versa. That being said, the follow up, Moving Pictures, turned out to be the perfect synthesis between the Rush of yesterday and the direction Rush would take soon after. It is their most accessible album to date, and so it helped Rush to gain many, many legions of new fans, including myself.
Most of the songs in Moving Pictures revolve around either social status, observation, or human emotion. The feel to the album is more melodic, sporting a kind of a "dark-warmth" to it. I know that many people can interpret what each song means far better than I can, but I will provide a brief explanation of the tracks, so please bear with me. Here's the breakdown track-by-track:
1) Tom Sawyer- Excellent moody opener, although quite possibly the most overrated Rush song ever. This song is about a modern day rebel who lives for the moment, but cares nothing about what the world thinks of him. Outstanding drumming and vocals. 10/10
2) Red Barchetta- Another masterpiece song, and my favorite off the whole album. As many have stated, the story revolves around a future where a certain vehicle is outlawed from operation, yet the boy still takes it out for a ride in order to feel truly alive. Alex's guitar playing really shines here. 10/10
3) YYZ (instrumental)- A short, yet consistent jam where Geddy, Alex, and Neil get to really show off their skills. The whole idea behind the song is that YYZ is actually the transmitter code for Toronto's Lester B airport. Great instrumental, yet it doesn't quite measure up to La Villa Strangiato from Hemispheres(1978). 9/10
4) Limelight- The other popular track off of here. Lyrically, it is about living in the spotlight of popularity, and how it affects people. Like Red Barchetta, Alex once again shows how incredible of a guitarist he is. 10/10
5) The Camera Eye- The last of the great long 10-minute epic songs. This one is about how an urban environment seems very busy up close, but far away it appears relatively calm. Camera Eye is quite a bit different from the previous epics, in that the whole song has a constant flow to it, not containing sudden time-signature changes. Not the best one I've heard, but certainly worthy of Rush's legacy. 9/10
6) Witch Hunt (part III of fear)- This incredible haunting slow-paced track starts out guitar driven, and then bursts with a wall of synthesizers, building up the song quite nicely. The subject touches on the fear of the "mob", whose energy burns with prejudice and hatred. For some reason, Rush decided to start with part 3, leaving fans to be curious, until their questions were answered in the next two albums with parts 2 and 1. 10/10
7) Vital Signs- A reggae-influenced closer, which is about our ability to accept change. It has an interesting combination of guitar and synths, although I've heard better by the band. 8/10
Overall, Moving Pictures is an outstanding Rush album, and quite possibly one of the best ones to be put together. So needless to say, it gets 5 stars. Despite the praise, however, I believe that MP is extremely overrated by the fans. Many of them will praise this album alone and bash any other albums coming before and after that Rush has made. MP is great, but there are certainly other equally phenomenal efforts spread out over the course of their entire career. That being said, MP is still one of my favorites. EVERY RUSH FAN SHOULD ALREADY HAVE THIS ONE, BUT IF YOU'RE JUST GETTING INTO THEM, MP IS THE FIRST ONE TO PICK UP. NO COLLECTION IS COMPLETE WITHOUT IT.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2003
Yeah, Rush made great music before 1981, and they would continue to do so after, but that year was THE year for Rush, the much-maligned Canadian prog-rock trio. They managed to create an album that was both truly progressive and truly listenable. With Moving Pictures, they hooked the mainstream, and suddenly the band had fans all over the place.
You can thank, firstly, great songs. The quirky musicians, known for their ability to play circles around anyone else in rock and doing so over super-complex arrangements, wrote some interesting, compelling tunes for this album. Tom Sawyer, Limelight, and Red Barchetta were all hits of varying degree and they showcase a cohesive melding of prog-rock leanings with mainstream rock sensibility; they knew when to pull in the reins, and when to cut loose. Tom Sawyer features a memorable synth line (provided by vocalist/bassist Geddy Lee) and mindblowing drumwork (by Neil Peart). Limelight is guitarist Alex Lifeson's showcase. The main riff is great, and so is Lifeson's sublime solo, played with power and finesse.
The instrumental, YYZ, swings like mad, slowing down only once for listener's to catch their breath before slinging right back into the track. Lee's bass playing is phenomenal, but not overwhelming.
Of course, being a prog-rock band, they have an 'epic' piece here, in the form of The Camera Eye. The track is interesting, but ultimately unsatisfying when stacked against the rest of the disc. Witch Hunt (subtitled 'part 3 of FEAR' -- fans would have to wait to figure that out later) is a strong track with a sort of cinematic sweep to its execution. The album closes with Vital Signs, which sounds more like a song by The Police than Rush. The techno-reggae vibe was (at the time) cutting edge and was a hint at things to come from this impressive band.
Secondly, you can thank the production. The sound of this disc is still amazing. It has to be heard on a good sound system to fully appreciate the nuances of each composition.
Rush had come a long way from those sweaty bars in Toronto playing Led-Zeppelin-esque hard rock. With Moving Pictures, Rush had cemented their own place in rock and roll, with their own distinctive style. If you thought Permanent Waves was good, check this out. This one is a keeper.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse