Echo Dot bfdw boutiques-francophones Introducing Fire TV Stick Basic Edition WFM home Kindle sports Tools

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
35
Nutcracker Complete
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$9.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on February 15, 2002
I refer to the recod label as 'Telarc' in the review I just wrote of the Nutcracker. That's a mistake. Could you please replace 'Telarc' with 'Phillips'. Thanks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2004
When I saw this CD, I bought it within 1 second because this is the one I am looking for a long time - The Nutcracker - Complete Ballet in ONE CD!!!!
After I bought it, I listen twice a day for 3 continous weeks. I love it. This is the best one I bought!
The performance is good. The record is good. The quality of CD is good. The graphic of the CD box is good! You don't need to change to second CD. That is very good!!
If you like ballet or you like classic music, you should buy it.
Dick Tang from Hong Kong
aka Dunndeejones
...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2003
Tchaikovsky wrote "The Nutcracker" for the Kirov Orchestra and so I was really pleased to find this CD of "The Nutcracker" by...the Kirov Orchestra.
At first, I was a little shocked when I listened to the CD. The orchestra does a magnificent job but they play the music quite a bit faster than you're probably accustomed to hearing it played. After I got used to it (and it only took a few minutes), this became my very favorite recording of a cherished Christmas tradition in my house.
So many of us has seen performances of "The Nutcracker" yet how many of us really know the story? Better yet, how many of us have read (and remember) the original story by E.T.A. Hoffmann? Let's face it, when it comes to "The Nutcracker" it's not the choreography or the story we remember...it's the score. This CD, and the Kirov, give us "The Nutcracker" filled with life and energy. This is definitely a "listener's" "Nutcracker" and in my opinion, it's also "The Nutcracker" performed as it was meant to be performed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2001
There are many fine complete Nutcracker recordings available, and I own a few of them. This recording by The Kirov Orchestra conducted by Valery Gergiev is simply the best, no contest. Why? For starters, the orchestral playing is outstanding. Every detail is heard, you hear nuances never revealed before. The woodwinds bubble,... the brass are assertive yet smooth,... the strings are lovely and lush;... in all, first-rate playing from a superb Russian orchestra that has this music in their blood and plays it with spirit and total enjoyment. Tempi are brisk, but never feel rushed. The sound is in the demonstration class. The whole ballet is contained on one CD which is quite remarkable. I judge an outstanding performance and recording by several factors, which include tears of joy welling up in my eyes along with goosebumps. This Nutcracker provided me an ample supply of both. If you must only own one Nutcracker, this is it. Superlative recommendation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2002
I have always been a devotee of Tchaikovsky, and The Nutcracker is one of my favorite pieces. Having owned or listened to many different recordings of this work, I feel I can make the following statement: Valery Gergiev and the Kirov Orchestra love The Nutcracker. It is necessary only to hear the first few notes of the opening overture to come to this conclusion. Listening to gifted musicians play beautiful music is a wonderful experience. Listening to the Kirov Orchestra perform this work with such love and reverence transcends any experience of the senses- you feel the performance. I found this performance to be profoundly moving, but not because of the music itself, although the music is gloriously imaginative- I was moved by the obvious devotion of the orchestra members to the work and to the composer. The Kirov obviously feel an ownership of this piece, and a responsibility to perform it as no other orchestra can. They succeed brilliantly here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2002
The performance is excellent - sweet and sentimemtal where it's supposed to be yet firey and passionate where you expect it to be. What blows me away, though, is the technical quality of the recording. Telarc likes to get the mikes in there close so you can hear every nuance. They do that here with great success. Also, the mixing is exceptional. Every instrument right down to the lonely little triangle stands out in high relief. I'll go so far as to say that, using headphones, what we have here is better than sitting front row center. I've bought and heard quite a number of Nutcrackers over the years. The best thing I could ever say would be, 'That's very nice, but...'.Well, I can now say joyfully that I've probably bought my last.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2002
What a wonderful performance: The Kirov under Valery Gergiev did their magic tricks again, bringing the old E.T.A. Hoffmann story to life. The children, the toys, Mr. Drosselmeyer, the nutcracker (with qualifications), the mouse king, Clara (the heroine), the Christmas tree, dancing flowers, fairies and everybody and everything else are alive and well in this performance--except of course the mouse king. The orchestra, as expected, is great, better than in any other recording, and the sound of the CD is warm and magical. Now you can enjoy this nostalgic music over and over again in an incredible performance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2015
Splendid! The quality is excellent until it reaches the last track. At this point, there is an audible "tick" which repeats initially about every second, but which gains in intensity and frequency until the track abruptly ends halfway. Normally, I would have exchanged the cd. As it was, my youngest and I didn't want to part with it during the Christmas season. We still enjoy the cd. We just hurry to the player as soon as the last track is on. From now on, I will be sure to purchase seasonal music in an off-season :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2001
First of all to manage to fit all the the ballet on one CD is something of an engineering marvel. Second the performers have this music in their blood and it shows it the performance. It is a curiousity that Phillips released this as a single CD, they could also do it with the recording done by Antal Dorati and the
Concertgebouw Orchestra, which clocks in at just under 80 minutes. I think that the Gergiev recording is the most exciting
recording of the work yet released. A must for any Nutcracker fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2003
I was very excited to buy this cd, since it was the complete Nutcracker Suite and only on one cd. The orchestra does a very fine job and they may play a little faster than at a ballet, but that's probably just to fit it onto one cd. This is my favorite version of the Nutcracker and I play it year-round. I think my only problem is the cd's cover has a mechanical dog toy on it instead of a Nutcracker.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here