countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more scflyout Home All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
64
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$29.98+ $3.49 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 21-30 of 39 reviews(5 star). Show all reviews
on June 21, 2000
A stylish blend of mystery, romance and light humor, "The 39 Steps" is one of Alfred Hitchcock's finest achievements. Unfortunately, the public-domain status of this 1935 classic has resulted in plenty of inferior video copies at cheap prices. Avoid them! You're better off purchasing the Criterion release, which features a stunning 35mm print and some nice bonuses. "The 39 Steps" represents the highpoint of Hitchcock's British period and should be seen in the best possible quality. In terms of value for money, the Criterion version remains second to none. Accept no substitutes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2002
Don't miss this jewel.
Orson Welles might have made this one, comical and somewhat risque as it is. Welles wouldn't have made LADY VANISHES, however: cute little old ladies weren't his cinematic forte. Both, however, are among the top half-dozen comical thrillers of all time.
Parts of this film are truly chilling. I kid you not. Hitch didn't skimp here. The double-agent spywoman Donat meets is excellent: "he can have a hundred names, and look like a thousand people...these men stop at nothing." The brief segments including this woman are among the best in popular film. For heaven's sake, don't miss them.
Donat's encounter with the corrupt, established-in-a-small-town spy who has the chief of police wrapped round one of his little fingers, is great. The pursuit of Donat by corrupt police is thrilling and hilarious. And the worthless airhead Donat "persuades" to his assistance doubles the fun.
....and if you don't thrill to Donat getting up in the theatre shouting, "What are the Thirty-nine Steps?"...well, you must have lost your nervous system long ago. . .
It's interesting how such a long-ago, forgotten 'comic' flick is still capable of nearly inducing heart attacks in 21st century moderns who have "seen it all."
Don't miss it. It belongs on your shelf next to LADY VANISHES. You'll go back to them more often than you believe right now.
-moosbrugger
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2001
I first saw 39 Steps a few years back on AMC with my son, who was 7 at the time. We missed the ending, and ever since we've both been wanting a chance to see the rest. Since then I've bought two copies on VHS that were so bad they were unwatchable. Finally, thanks to Criterion, we were able to watch it all the way through. This print is nearly pristine, which makes watching this great movie that much more enjoyable. Like each of the Criterion discs I've bought so far, this is a must-have for your collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 1999
Wow! Criterion has done it again with another great restoration of a great movie. Plenty of extras to please even the most insatiable DVD collecter. I'm undecided if Criterion should have restored the Vintage Hitchcock documentary--I may just be too restoration happy after the screening. Anyway, the documentary made me appreciate the transfer more. If they can do this, imagine how The Third Man will look when it comes out later this month. I can't wait.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2001
This is one of Hitchcock's early films, although time has been kind to this classic, it is not at all dated. There is a sense of mystery lasting throughout this movie; only at the very end is the final clue to a logical explanation provided. Later Hitchcock classics focus not on "who dunnit", but rather on "how's he gonna get caught?". Still the signature of the master is all over this beautiful piece of film-making. In 1935 this was the biggest grossing US cinema release ever, breaking all previous box office records, a remarkable feat for a British production. This is a must-see for Hitchcock fans. The DVD version has many extra perks which add to the enjoyment of this gem.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2001
I don't consider myself the biggest Hitchcock fan, though i did enjoy vertigo, this has to be favourate. Beuatifully filmed (look out for that helicopter) with some great twists and turns, this is probably one of the best chase films in quite some tome. Despite its age its very fast paced and also very funny, something of a rariety in most of Hitchcock's flicks. Extremely brittish, and extremely well written and acted, it has to be one of the best brittish films ever made (definitely topping the third man in my list) along side an ending to die for, what more needs to be said. Buy, watch and enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2001
The beginning of the Hitchcock legend. A black and white classic that contains many of the elements that Hitch later used in such films as Saboteur and North by Northwest. The blonde goddess heroine, the innocent man on the run and the mysterious McGuffin; in this case it's secret airplane plans that the spy ring must get out of the country. Robert Donat and Madeleine Carroll are the first of the great Hitchcock romantic teams. A film that has suspense, comedy and romance blended together in a way that today's movies can only dream of. Altogether, an early masterpiece!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2004
I was of the belief that helicopters wern't invented until WW2 or later, but after seeing this excellent movie, and the moors scene where one is chasing our hero, I realise that I was mistaken. What an excellent film, and the best thing about it was that there were lots more to come from Hitchcock. Robert Donat's character is very likable, completley unflappable. He never seemed to take his situation seriously at all, no matter how dire things seemed. Reminded me of Simon Templar of the SAINT. A BIG BIG reccomendation from me. See it, and see it again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2001
Robert Donat is excellent as the innocent man on the run.
Hitchcock produced a masterpiece of suspense and tension.
Of course "The 39 Steps" of the movie are not at all the
same as "The 39 Steps" of the book, but that is OK.
The movie stands on its own merit and it is rightly
recognized as a classic.
The chemistry between Madeleine Carroll and Robert Donat
is great and modern film makers should note that the only
clothing removed are her stockings.
Highly recommended, even after all these years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2001
Robert Donat is excellent as the innocent man on the run.
Hithcock produced a masterpiece of suspense and tension.
Of course "The 39 Steps" of the movie are not at all the
same as "The 39 Steps" of the book, but that is OK.
The movie stands on its own merit and it is rightly
recognized as a classic. The chemistry between Madeleine
and Robert Donat is great and modern film makers should note
that the only clothing removed are her stockings.
Highly recommended, even after all these years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse