countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Home All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
1,161
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: VHS Tape|Change
Price:$19.27+ $6.49 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 8, 2014
Had it at home in VHS format, many years ago. Bought it to replace that aging media.

Title of the review says: One of the best wwII movies. I'd add a realistic war movie. Realistic as far as D Day can be depicted. Realistic as far as any war is horrible and conveyes undescribable harm and suffering to those involved and to family far away.

Consider BLACK HAWK DOWN (Somalia) more of a documentary, yet depicting war like psychology and resilient leadership.

How to avoid such destructive events? I don't know. Would you want Hitler, or Boko Haram, to have their ways?
And would they want our destructive megalopolists industrials to have theirs ?

Robert
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2015
This movie is guaranteed to stir your emotions. Saving Private Ryan is one of the best war movies ever made and it is one movie that should have won Best Picture. Amazing film. Astounding. This movie is a masterpiece. Brilliant film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon January 16, 2014
Not much to say, epic movie even better on blu ray (sound effects are ridiculous in a 7.2 setup). Product arrived exactly as illustrated. Only gripe I have is with Hollywood, after watching the first amazing scene, I learned that bullets only travel a couple feet through water (the higher velocity the shorter the travel!), yet in the scene men are being pierced by random high caliber lead deep in water and judging by angle a few meters horizontal. That scene is no longer as exciting now, liars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2013
Great war movie and story. Blu ray enhances the sound and picture quality. It have some very graphic scenes which can be disturbing to some but show the reality of war. Makes me think of what out Canadian and US vets have been through.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2011
The first and last time I watched Saving Private Ryan was in the theatre when it was released. I remember it being quite the experience. But the passage of time had dulled some of the finer points of why this movie is so spectacular. Thankfully, Saving Private Ryan on Blu Ray does a fine point of recreating the movie experience of some years ago. Though the colours are meant to be somewhat muted to create the realism, this film looks superb. However, what really stands out in this Blu Ray is the sound. On my 5.1 surround system, in the battle scenes, the battles were brought right into my living room -- or rather -- my living room was taken out to battle. I could feel the explosions rocking the floor and bullets flying by my head. Battles aside (and they are some of the best ever put on film), this is an emotionally involving story that left a lump in my throat and tears in my eyes as the credits rolled at the end. Saving Private Ryan, along with The Deer Hunter, Platoon, and Apocalypse Now, is one of the great war films. Speilberg created a great piece of cinema and this blu ray showcases it in its full glory.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2013
For a recognition that war is hell, this film shows it. The dilemmas faced by men where no matter which way is chosen, it can be argued that the decision is both right in some ways and equally wrong in its other effects, and sometimes there is no totally right answer, no matter how serious the dilemma.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2013
One outstanding and affecting war movie, with incredible realism and showing the many personal losses and tragedies that take place in such settings, many of which aren't talked about but make up the complete fabric of these men's lives, and those who knew them. Great action; great pain; great moviemaking.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2013
The 25 minutes of storming the beach in France, is one of the most spectacular scenes in cinema history. If you have invested in a surround sound system for your home, this is an essential purchase. The film’s key sonic signatures are absolute realism – as just one example, every gunshot is generated from a recording of an authentic weapon firing live ammunition – and thunderous, hitherto-unparalleled levels of volume. Enjoy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2004
Beautifully shot, especially the opening sequence on D-Day, but ultimately, there's one glaring flaw in this movie. Steven Spielberg just doesn't understand the army. If the Chief of Staff wanted to pull a private out of a line unit in another theater of operations, he wouldn't dispatch a squad of rangers to go traipsing around the French countryside to find him. The C-of-S would contact the theater commander, who would then contact the corps commander, who would contact the division commander, the brigade commander, the battalion commander and finally, the company commander, who would send his first sergeant to find the soldier and get him out of the Area of Operations, or AO. In fact, this is how it happened to the real private Ryan (it's documented in the book, "Band of Brothers"). Why does this matter? Because the rangers spend most of the movie complaining about how the army clearly values this Private Ryan's life over theirs, and if a commander ordered them on a mission like this, they'd be right, but no commander with half a brain would do it.
It's important to remember that when he was first promoting it, Spielberg tried to sell Private Ryan as an antiwar movie, and in antiwar epics, American officers do blown-brain things like wasting lives for no reason. The reality is that most commanders won't send their men out on pointless missions, but don't try to sell that in Hollywood.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2010
This blu ray edition makes a great movie even greater. The film is supposed to maintain the directors intended wash out look but I find it slighlty more colorful than previous dvd editions ( this is not a bad thing). The picture is crisp and detailed and the audio is superb. Definitely worth the upgrade if you are a fan.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here