countdown boutiques-francophones Beauty Home Kindle Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
88
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$22.25+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 12, 2014
Remember Guns N' Roses smashing debut, Appetite for Destruction? Remember the less impressive Use Your Illusion LPs released afterwards? Well, although the genres of GNR and WTC are almost entirely different the situation is the same here. Both groups achieved success with their first phenomenal official releases, but they seemed to had hit a sophomore slump with their double LPs that could have been just as great had they been cut down to one album. Like the Use Your Illusion LPs, there are quality songs present on Wu-Tang Forever, but there are also a lot of songs that are just plain mediocre. My preferred top cuts off this album based on both beats and lyricism are: Triumph, Projects (International Remix), Reunited, Cash Still Rulez, Visions, and High as Wu Tang Get. The laughably bad tracks are Black Shampoo (a song about the misogynist ODB bathing and manicuring his lady), Wu Revolution (a self-righteous audio clip about choosing Islam as the way to enlightenment), and Second Coming (An out of place R&B song especially since the track Intro claims the rappers should specifically exclude R&B from being implemented into Hip-Hop). Furthermore, RZA seemed to have rushed the beat production so most of the album's beats just don't compare to those on 36 chambers. On Wu-Tang Forever, much of the lyrical input seems almost as uninspired as the beat production. I'm not entirely discrediting the lyricism, but it's quite obvious on this album which MCs have a better flow. In addition, there appears to be a lack of strong unity the MCs once had most likely due to putting more energy and effort on their solo works released before this one. Regardless of the mediocrity, don't pass on this album,but rather give it a listen and make a playlist from your preferred tracks.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2016
I use to own this album when it originally came out. I remember that it came with a wu tang coin. I still own that coin. Very pleased with the shipping and condition of the double disc. I ain't going to let it go this time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2016
How can hip hop be dead if Wu Tang is forever?!
I've looked everywhere for this record!
We have an extensive record collection and I cannot wait for my husband to open this on Christmas!
I reviewed it in less than a week and the packaging was very secure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2004
This album was pretty good; it didn't seem to me that they were falling off at all. But I do know why this album was kinda considered as a sophomore-jinxed album. First, it's very hard to top 36 Chambers, as it was their breakthrough album. So once you broke through, what more is there to do? Either keep doing you or experiment with some different sounds, which is what RZA was doing with more soulful samples and singers like Tekitha (remember her?). Fans expected more of the kung-fu samples to dominate the album. Second, can someone say the word, "OVERKILL"? I don't care how much of a Wu fanatic you are, there are nine members in the group, plus CappaDonna and their other Wu extended family like Poppa Wu, all on over two hours of material. It's too much of a good thing, like having Burger King for seven days straight. Last, only Disc 2 is the most memorable with songs like "Triumph", "Heaterz" and "M.G.M.". Disc 1 is okay, not wack, but okay. To tell you the truth, I only played this album for much of 1997, but when newer albums came out, this one got lost in the shuffle.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2004
This double CD was met with some criticism, from fans and critics alike. But the Wu-Tang Clan dropped a serious fem in 97 with this album. Wu-Tang Forever is one of the best double albums ever released, along with the double albums from 2-Pac and Biggie. The Wu was still in their prime with this one, and what resulted was one EXCELLENT album. Here's the review:
Disc One
Album Highlights: The entire album EXCEPT the intro, and Maria.
Production: Thumbs up
Lyrics and Subject Matter: Thumbs up
Originality: Thumbs up.
Disc Two
Album Highlights: Triumph, Impossible, Deadly Melody, Projects, Bells of War, The M.G.M., Duck Seazon, and Hellz Wind Staff
Lyrics, Subject Matter, and Originality: The same as above
The Last Word: This album is AWESOME. ALthough some of the songs should have been left off, this is still a tight effort from the Wu. Strongly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2002
I wasn't at all impressed with this album(s). Enter the Wu-Tang was a milestone in the hip-hop era with one great track after another and this is just... weak. There are a few decent songs here, including "Reunited," "The City," & "It's Yours," but this double album could easily be pared down into one. The only real gem here is "A Better Tomorrow." It's easily one of the best rap songs I've heard in a long time. The single, "Triumph" in my humble opinion, just plain ... The Clan could use not only a real dj, but a producer who can tell good songs from filler garbage.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2004
I lost didc 2 of the set 5 years ago @ a rave,but I like the first one just as much(the hits don't mean nothin when you're talkin wu cause anything them boys touch turns platinum!)get their 1st,3rd,and 4th cds too as well as the new ghostface,meth,rza,and reakwon albums -it'll only dissapoint the stupid(to quote a song"...the dumb are mostly intruiged by the sound...")the lyrics make or break a cut and it's all very intelligible here!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 1999
one good album and then this long winded mess.all of the way overrated rza beats sound the exact same.odb is the only thing that they have going for them aside from there clothes and wu wear.Pe and N.w.A they ain't.it's more marketing than it is good music coming from this crew.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2002
Wu Tang had a lot to live up to with this second album. The 36 Chambers has gone down as a classic, and like most rappers, having incredible debut albums seems to curse the sequels. "Wu-Tang Forever", though, makes a great effort at living up to its older brother. Unfortunately, it still falls short.
Spanning 2 discs and a total of 27 tracks, all 9 (excluding Cappadonna) members gets a nice big bite out of the pie, my personal favorite being RZA. What really makes this album stick out is the fact that it came out at a time when rap was starting to lose its street credentials and gaining more popularity in the mainstream. "Wu-Tang Forever" put some of the streets back into it, especially with songs like "Severe Punishment", "The City", and of course "Triumph". Every rapper stays on top of their game as they lay down the lyrics. Where it starts to get sloppy though is the beats. As compared to the first, instrumentals have lost their rugged edge and have been replaced with more...how should I say...average rap beats. Kung-Fu flick quotes still run abundant, but maybe if they added more of those into the songs themselves (like they did in "Severe Punishment" and "Hellz Wind Staff") it would sound a lot better. What I REALLY hate about this album though is track 15 of the second CD, "Second Coming". I just don't get it. Nobody raps in it... its just some female voice singing an R&B song. I mean, the other flaw isn't so bad, but this...to me it really hurts "Wu-Tang Forever"'s overall score. I don't know what RZA was thinking when he decided to put this track in the final cut. Bad mistake my friend.
"The 36 Chambers" is something hard to surpass, but unlike most follow-ups, this one has much to be proud of. Maybe the beats aren't exactly there, and "Second Coming" was totally uncalled for, but in the end it is a awesome album. For those of you who are really into the Wu, you shouldn't be dissapointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2002
This album personofies the Wu as we know them, they came to their own on this album and showed the world what their visions were and recorded one of the deepest hip hop albums to date, most of the songs have a deep message to them but it's quite clear. The 1st Disc is by far and away the best of the two, so I can't agree with the one in Spotlight review who said Disc two is the better. The first disc is 11 straight Wu bangers and not the wack Black Shampoo and Maria songs you will find on disc two, it is the hard side. Songs like For Heavens Sake, A Better Tomorrow, Visionz, Severe Punishment, MGM, Reunited, It Yours and a few others bang so hard on the first disc you won't want to switch it. Disc two has it's spotlights too with Triumph, The City and a few other bangers to keep it from being a wash, the falloff is it is too long 16 as compared to 11 on side one and has too many filler songs, luckily it is saved by the songs I mentioned and a straight heater in the song Heaterz (A classic Wu sampled song with so much energy to it it's crazy). The seond disc however falls short and could have been merged with the first one to make a classic 15 or 16 song single CD that would have gotten a straight 5 mics in magazines and reviewers alike. I recommend this one to people who love hip hop with meaning and love lyrics and beats that hit hard as nails, if you are into hip pop and new age stuff you should stay away from this one however because it's over your head, you might find Method Man and the beats entertaining though (Everyones favorite member). Rza says on the beginning it will take folks till 2000 just to get this, and it seems some still haven't gotten their message or deciphered the importance of this album to date in 02. I think they should listen again after a few years and feel how much hip hop has fallen off in the last few years and has no purpose anymore, then realize how special this album is. Pick this up like Rza said and get all the Summer school you need this summer from the 2 disc LP Wu Tang Forever, you won't be dissapointed or have another coaster to put under your beers. Wu Tang Forever........
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$9.97

Need customer service? Click here