countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more scflyout Pets All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
87
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$17.46+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 27, 2016
How can hip hop be dead if Wu Tang is forever?!
I've looked everywhere for this record!
We have an extensive record collection and I cannot wait for my husband to open this on Christmas!
I reviewed it in less than a week and the packaging was very secure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2016
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2016
Great album - definitely different, and, certainly, timeless.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2014
for the children
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2014
Remember Guns N' Roses smashing debut, Appetite for Destruction? Remember the less impressive Use Your Illusion LPs released afterwards? Well, although the genres of GNR and WTC are almost entirely different the situation is the same here. Both groups achieved success with their first phenomenal official releases, but they seemed to had hit a sophomore slump with their double LPs that could have been just as great had they been cut down to one album. Like the Use Your Illusion LPs, there are quality songs present on Wu-Tang Forever, but there are also a lot of songs that are just plain mediocre. My preferred top cuts off this album based on both beats and lyricism are: Triumph, Projects (International Remix), Reunited, Cash Still Rulez, Visions, and High as Wu Tang Get. The laughably bad tracks are Black Shampoo (a song about the misogynist ODB bathing and manicuring his lady), Wu Revolution (a self-righteous audio clip about choosing Islam as the way to enlightenment), and Second Coming (An out of place R&B song especially since the track Intro claims the rappers should specifically exclude R&B from being implemented into Hip-Hop). Furthermore, RZA seemed to have rushed the beat production so most of the album's beats just don't compare to those on 36 chambers. On Wu-Tang Forever, much of the lyrical input seems almost as uninspired as the beat production. I'm not entirely discrediting the lyricism, but it's quite obvious on this album which MCs have a better flow. In addition, there appears to be a lack of strong unity the MCs once had most likely due to putting more energy and effort on their solo works released before this one. Regardless of the mediocrity, don't pass on this album,but rather give it a listen and make a playlist from your preferred tracks.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2006
Best Album of the Wu-Tang Collection, Its a must Buy. You'll Be Amazed!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2004
This double CD compliation, will never just be "shuffled" into any kind of pile. If you were to sit down, focus and actually listen to the album you would understand what i mean. This double CD complilation is TIMELESS. No matter what comes out it can never reach the poetic balance that Wu tang have. This compilation could be listened to from beginning to end dozens of time, and each time would be a brand new experience. My ears have never heard such a masterpiece, except for 36 chambers which was the building blocks for "FOREVER". Both cds flatter each other, neither is "weaker" then the other. Disc 2 may be longer then Disc 1, however with tracks Triumph, MGM, and Projects, it is hardly "overdone". Listening to the compliation is like eating Burger King for the first time over and over again. A definate buy for anyone who wants to hear what real, calculated Hip-Hop sounds like, stories from the real, genuine artists. A timeless classic, an everyday enjoyment.
GO OUT AND BUY IT, YOU WILL APRECIATE ITS PERFECTION.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2004
This album was pretty good; it didn't seem to me that they were falling off at all. But I do know why this album was kinda considered as a sophomore-jinxed album. First, it's very hard to top 36 Chambers, as it was their breakthrough album. So once you broke through, what more is there to do? Either keep doing you or experiment with some different sounds, which is what RZA was doing with more soulful samples and singers like Tekitha (remember her?). Fans expected more of the kung-fu samples to dominate the album. Second, can someone say the word, "OVERKILL"? I don't care how much of a Wu fanatic you are, there are nine members in the group, plus CappaDonna and their other Wu extended family like Poppa Wu, all on over two hours of material. It's too much of a good thing, like having Burger King for seven days straight. Last, only Disc 2 is the most memorable with songs like "Triumph", "Heaterz" and "M.G.M.". Disc 1 is okay, not wack, but okay. To tell you the truth, I only played this album for much of 1997, but when newer albums came out, this one got lost in the shuffle.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2004
Amazing lyrics over incredible beats. If you buy one hip-hop album, it should be this one, and not just cuz it's two discs. :D This is a far cry from the bull on the radio and TV these days. Real hip-hop, powerful subject matter delivered with expert lyricism. What are you still reading this review for? GET IT!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2004
I lost didc 2 of the set 5 years ago @ a rave,but I like the first one just as much(the hits don't mean nothin when you're talkin wu cause anything them boys touch turns platinum!)get their 1st,3rd,and 4th cds too as well as the new ghostface,meth,rza,and reakwon albums -it'll only dissapoint the stupid(to quote a song"...the dumb are mostly intruiged by the sound...")the lyrics make or break a cut and it's all very intelligible here!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$10.33